We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of Royal Thai Cafe

Royal Thai Cafe
Ranked #47 of 288 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We really enjoyed eating at this restaurant. I am a celiac and have been having a hard time finding places to eat on the Big Island. The Royal Thai was very accommodating and could make almost any dish gluten free. The food was delicious and no reaction - yay!!! Service was exceptional - the staff really try to cater to a gluten free diet.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    95
    37
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
202 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Our Go-To Thai in Kona!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The Royal Thai in Keauhou Shopping Center is our Go-To Thai place in Kona! Since we've been back on the Island, we've already been there twice. No doubt, we'll hit it several more times before we head back to cold Minnesota in February.

The service here is always fast and friendly, and the atmosphere is comfortable casual. It appears to be family-owned and operated, with Grandpa frequently tending the baby behind the bar while the rest of the family are providing outstanding service to their customers.

The menu is definitely worth exploring here. Everything we've tried has been expertly prepared and precisely spiced with interesting hot & sweet or hot & sour or sweet & sour combinations with fantastic textural components and beautiful presentations. And while the standards of Spring Rolls, Chicken Satay, Pad Thai, and Pineapple Fried Rice are outstanding, give the Crispy Duck in Garlic or the Whole Fried Fish or one of their more exotic curries a try. You won't be disappointed!

Lastly, the Royal Thai is a great value! Appetizers run $6 to $10, Entrees $10 to $15 and are large enough to split. Four 4 people, sharing an Appetizer and splitting 3 Entrees, you are out of there for less than $50 (before beverages) and somebody is still taking food home. Hard to beat that kind of value in this part of the world!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikie376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very fresh and delicious”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I had some of the best Thai food I've every had here. The food was very fresh and delicious. I recommend the pineapple curry. I wish I lived clise by, I'd be here all the time.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank weezlikestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
331 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Good but..”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Nice choice with a great menu full of choices. Spotless premises with smart service. Food was great, fresh and tasty offering really good value. But the Pad Thai, nothing like what the national dish should taste like. The chef needs to take a trip home !

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MauiBuilt2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Before some night snorkeling we stopped at this recommended restaurant, mostly for convenience. What a delightful find! It's definitely worth going out of your way. We were immediately greeted by the host and service was excellent. The basil spring rolls were elegant and delicious. I had the pineapple fried rice, others the Pad Thai, and Pineapple Curry. All were wonderful . But the best was the Tom Kah soup remarkable. I can't wait to have this item again. None of our party could eat light as we had planned before the night swim, but we all survived to eat again.
Also, this is great value. And the decor is calm and lovely.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Thai Cafe also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Royal Thai Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing