We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Thai Food”
Review of Kona Taeng On Thai

Kona Taeng On Thai
Ranked #174 of 287 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Thai Food”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I was looking for Thai food in Kona and happened to walk by this restaurant. I ate here twice during my stay, so the food was good enough to bring me back. The food was good but not extraordinary; however, the service was good. It felt like it was family owned.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank SingleTraveler98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    12
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“There are better Thai places Kona”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We were looking for a quick late lunch and stopped here. I'm a pretty easy sell on Thai food and am rarely disappointed. The Thai people are just usually just great cooks. However...the Pad Thai tasted like the entire contents of a sugar bowl had been spilled in it. So cloyingly sweet that I couldn't finish it. Hard to ruin Pad Thai. My husband did like his Yellow curry. Service was fast. My husband said the men's bathroom was awful and he isn't finicky about restrooms. There are 8 other Thai restaurants in Kona. I'd recommend you try any of them first.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Awaygrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai Food”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

The pineapple fried rice is so fabulous & served up in a carved out pineapple! We eat here every year when we go & we are never disappointed in any of the food we have ordered.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marsyrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My favorite resturant in kona”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Try the coconut milk with shrimp curry. This is the dish, hands downs

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lovelytie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Taeng on Thai II”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Arrived first night starving and looking for a Thai so chose this in a shopping center next to grocery store we used. Pad thai was not horrible but I've gotten better at a stand at a concert. It was 8:00 and server asked us to pay our bill right away so she could go home, leaving us eating outside with the restaurant closed.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank minnesotajul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Taeng On Thai also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kona Taeng On Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing