We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's been a year -- and the food's still great!”
Review of Big Island Grill

Big Island Grill
Ranked #14 of 288 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Honolulu
Level Contributor
253 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“It's been a year -- and the food's still great!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Haven't been back to Kailua-Kona for a year but after our quick flight from Honolulu -- we were famished. Instead of heading out to the resort for an overpriced mediocre breakfast -- we drove into Kailua-Kona to the Big Island Grill. What a great place for breakfast (served till 10:30 am); Pork chops and eggs or try the chicken katsu locotra moco. Chicken katsu is a deep fried chicken thigh breaded in panko -- crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. Take that, plop it over a bed of rice (I had brown rice) and their fabulous brown gravy and a perfectly cooked fried egg and you're halfway to heaven. You can choose your loco moco protein at the Big Island Grill -- traditional hamburger patty, spam, Portuguese sausage, other stuff. Can't make up your mind? Get the BIG loco -- and choose three. My wife ordered the pork chops and eggs -- two perfectly cooked porkchops, eggs, hashbrowns. And the server, kindly asked if she'd like some gravy too!. Good service, lots of locals, kid friendly, just a great place to eat whether you're visiting Kona for the first time or a repeat traveler like me. It's one my go to places on the Big Island.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heybrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    406
    110
    40
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hearty portions and everything so tasty”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Location is popular with the locals and for good reason. Food was very affordable. Portions were huge and everything was finger-licking good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shai_Gyul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klickitat, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Big Island Grill bring Big Island Appetite”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Great place for Island food. Generous portions at a very fair price. Filling and tasty after a hard days playing. Have eaten there several times in the past and it never disappoints. Atmosphere is very family oriented with local families and friends often sharing large tables. Definitely a locals place with casual attire - we were the only anglos in the place this last trip but felt very welcome as always. Aloha is abundant here! Had the managers plate - choice of two out of 12 entrees to share the plate. I went with Kalua Pork and a beef with vegies dish. My son had Katsu Chicken and Kalua Pork. Will go again nice trip.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimScubaDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service, average food”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The Big Island Grill had plenty of seating so there was no wait. My husband and I both got the fish and chips. When they brought out the food, our fish was hot and tasty but the sides of fries and mashed potatoes were brought out cold. My husband got a bowl of Saimin which he enjoyed, but I didn't really like. Food was brought out fast and the waiter was very friendly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great local fare at a reasonable price.”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Got home from a day of hiking and decided to try out Big Island Grill's loco moco. Wow! Very local place. I'm not sure about the loco moco, though. We shared the super(?) with 3 scoops rice, a hamburger pattie, fried shrimp, and chicken katsu. Brown gravy all over the too and two over easy eggs on top. I ordered a side of their potato mac salad. The whole thing was just too much and too rich for our taste. We plan to go back for the mud pie dessert after we eat our usual dinner of fish and salad at home. My guess is, though, as far as loco moco goes, this is some of the best and we're glad we tried it. Great service and friendly folks all around.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Island Grill also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Big Island Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing