We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Island Grill bring Big Island Appetite”
Review of Big Island Grill

Big Island Grill
Ranked #14 of 288 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Klickitat, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Big Island Grill bring Big Island Appetite”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Great place for Island food. Generous portions at a very fair price. Filling and tasty after a hard days playing. Have eaten there several times in the past and it never disappoints. Atmosphere is very family oriented with local families and friends often sharing large tables. Definitely a locals place with casual attire - we were the only anglos in the place this last trip but felt very welcome as always. Aloha is abundant here! Had the managers plate - choice of two out of 12 entrees to share the plate. I went with Kalua Pork and a beef with vegies dish. My son had Katsu Chicken and Kalua Pork. Will go again nice trip.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimScubaDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    415
    111
    40
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service, average food”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The Big Island Grill had plenty of seating so there was no wait. My husband and I both got the fish and chips. When they brought out the food, our fish was hot and tasty but the sides of fries and mashed potatoes were brought out cold. My husband got a bowl of Saimin which he enjoyed, but I didn't really like. Food was brought out fast and the waiter was very friendly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great local fare at a reasonable price.”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Got home from a day of hiking and decided to try out Big Island Grill's loco moco. Wow! Very local place. I'm not sure about the loco moco, though. We shared the super(?) with 3 scoops rice, a hamburger pattie, fried shrimp, and chicken katsu. Brown gravy all over the too and two over easy eggs on top. I ordered a side of their potato mac salad. The whole thing was just too much and too rich for our taste. We plan to go back for the mud pie dessert after we eat our usual dinner of fish and salad at home. My guess is, though, as far as loco moco goes, this is some of the best and we're glad we tried it. Great service and friendly folks all around.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Big Island Grill Big Island Flavor”
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Truly great restaurant experience. One of two great Island dining experiences in Kailua Kona. Friendly service, great Island food and plenty of it at a reasonable price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank molsenmotorsport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious Island Food”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Converted ex-McDonalds?

Once we got ourselves oriented to Kailua-Kona, Big Island Grill seemed to be located in the middle of everything. We would pass it on the way to and from our hotel. It's even close to the water where Scandinavian Shave Ice is located. So we took a gamble and checked this place out.

From the pictures, it was obvious I had to order the SUPER LOCO MOCO! Loco Moco with your choice of 3 items to put in it. AMAZING. Bad for your heart and body if you eat it everyday but perfect for indulging once in a while.

We also tried the chicken katsu and beef teriyaki. DELICIOUS

We also found ourselves staring at the colossus Mud Pie another couple ordered for dessert. We were too full to attempt eating that, but if you have room, it's definitely something to consider.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dlee16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Island Grill also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Big Island Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing