We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best Fish abd chips”

Quinn's Almost By The Sea
Ranked #25 of 288 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Still the best Fish abd chips”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

it has about anything one might want, it is bgest known for it's Ono fish and chips which are a 9.50 The service is good and staff is very friendly. A local favorite get crowed early, well wortht the wait, the reason for not giving it a 10 is the parking if you are lucky their are 10 spots to park. You can walk about 2 blocks to park in a public lot.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tazman1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    429
    180
    61
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amberley, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A Popular Restaurant”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The menu was varied and with plenty of fresh seafood offerings. Servings were substantial and after the sashimi I should have had a second appetiser ! There is a choice of seating; inside with air-conditioning or in the quite attractive, covered, courtyard area. Prices were above average and service was fast. So fast that my main course was deliverd to our table while I was still eating the sashimi appetiser !
This also happened to us in another place. I suggest you order your appetiser and ask the waiter not to place your main course order until your first course plates are removed !

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank WorldWideKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food at a Packer Bar on the Big Island!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was the first restaurant we went to after arriving and what grabbed us was the Packer banner outside. We were all hungry and since we are Packer fans, we figured it was a sign. We were not disappointed. The food was good and we were seated right away. Definitely a nice place for fish on the Island. Not a lot of seating, so we went at the right time, which was mid-afternoon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unfortunately, I didn't get the fish!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We went to Quinn's for dinner in June of 2013. We had a party of seven, the place was not busy. The staff was friendly and attentive. The owner was friendly. Nobody in our group had fish or ribs, which are apparently the things to get. We all had different things. We sat on the patio, which was the only part open. The flies were pretty bad and it made it hard to eat. The burgers were simply frozen patties, not made fresh. The onion rings were really good! I guess I should have tried the fish! I would not go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnnySalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benbrook, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great fish (Ono) and chips”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband loves the fried Ono from Quinn's. We ate there twice on a recent trip. Husband had fried Ono with rice both times. I had the steak sandwich and the BLT with avocado. Both were very good. They have an outside dining area as well as an indoor air conditioned area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crramsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quinn's Almost By The Sea also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Quinn's Almost By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing