We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good quality”

Quinn's Almost By The Sea
Ranked #25 of 288 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Fukuoka, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good quality”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

From the outside, I was expecting either a touristy generic restaurant, or a dive bar. But this really was a good restaurant. First, it helps that they take orders until 10:30pm, for people like me who like to use up as much of the day on the actual sight seeing as possible. I ordered the fish and chips, and my wife ordered the battered shrimp. The fish was surprisingly good, because rather than a typical soft Atlantic fish, they used Hawaiian ono, so it was firm and flavorful. My wife's shrimp was tasty as well, though less unusual. Both plates were huge and filling (along with the always good Kona Brewing Company beer), especially for the price. Even though the waitress was busy, covering a good 5-6 tables herself, she was very friendly and joking with us and other guests.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    429
    180
    61
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peculiar, MO
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great value”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great Place to sit relax & eat at a reasonable place. Friendly & Helpful service very family oriented. great menu try the onion rings

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RayPecGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“warning: LARGE portions (of good food!)”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We all enjoyed the Captain's Platter with fish-of-the-day (ono), shrimp and calamari strips, all breaded & deep-fried. Service was friendly and very good. The veggies (green beans swimming in bacon & fried onions) were yummy & still squeaky (we like that) & the other sides were also good. If there was a tiny flaw, it was that the breading was a little heavier than our usual taste, but that didn't prevent us enjoying it. Portions LARGE & we brought some leftovers home for tomorrow's lunch. Thumbs up for having Makena Red Beer, as well as a hard cider for our non-beer-drinking friend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ajs4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Across from the Marriott Courtyard.”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

They are only open for breakfast on Sunday's. Ordered my eggs over medium but the whites were still runny. They offered to redo them so I picked scrambled but they weren't good either. Service was slow even though they weren't busy.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very good food.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We at dinner here twice (my wife wanted to try the fish and chips that I got the first night). I liked the backyard garden area for seating. Wait staff was very busy. Never felt ignored.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Camcolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quinn's Almost By The Sea also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Quinn's Almost By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing