We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very long wait, we left”
Review of Denny's

Denny's
Ranked #202 of 287 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
220 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A very long wait, we left”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We liked to have breakfast. In the restaurant there were very few people. As we entered the person in charge told us they have problems in the kitchen and the wait is at least half an hour. We decided that she put us on the waiting list and went for some shopping. As we returned little less than half an hour later we were told that they still had problems and the wait is another half an hour. We left because we didn’t want to use up our time by waiting the whole morning for food. Besides this person was not very polite and rather stupid.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pika_candid_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    36
    30
    15
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simply Awful”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Having eaten in many Denny's across the US and Mexico, this one is simply dreadful.
We waited nearly 15 minutes to be seated, despite a virtually empty restaurant and servers a plenty.
Once seated, yet another wait of around 10mins to place our order, we then waited a staggering 45 mins for our food to arrive, what should have been breakfast was more like brunch !
Complaints to the staff were met with a reason that the normal chef wasn't in today so the manger and a trainee were working in the kitchen but there was no apology.
On arrival the food was adequate but by then we had all gone past the need to eat, so left most of our order, despite complaining the management deemed that we did not qualify for any adjustment to our bill.
In addition to the lack lustre service and food, the place was unkempt and tired, the only saving grace in part was the view.
In short avoid this place completely.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Batty1Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Won't go back”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My husband and I have been to a lot of Denny's through the U.S.A. and I have to say this one was extremely poor. We have eaten here several times over the years and it was at least OK but this time was very bad. I find the other reviews interesting since they seem to be all over the place.
To start with our hostess was extremely timid and seemed clueless. They might be understaffed or management is poor but whatever the issue is this young lady was not the best choice as a hostess. We waited over fifteen minutes to get seated even though there were plenty of empty tables available. One of the waitresses had to tell the hostess to clear some tables. After being seated we waited over twenty minutes for a waitress. When we were finally served we had to hear about how tired our server was. Our food was a little mixed up and we were told that it was a new cook and don't worry we were not going to be charged for that one item that we did not want. For the bill another long wait ensued. Rarely are we so happy to leave a place. What is even sadder is the people that were seated after us had to wait even longer than we did. We won't go back since there are many more options in Kona.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RosebudMapleRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dobbs Ferry
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Denny's is vastly under-rated: it has great, tasty selections & very affordable!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Aug. 2013. We have been using Denny's recently for our restaurant of choice (when they are available), maybe one out of every four times we go to a restaurant while on vacation. Denny's in Kailua-Kona is no exception. Our 14-year old daughter -- a very picky eater -- loves the children's food choices there, and so do we like the regular menu. My partner first wanted to shun Denny's, because it's not commonly thought to be a "Yuppie" restaurant. But that's the big surprise. Breakfasts have all kinds of choices in the range of $4 to $8, and filling and nutritious lunches and dinners are commonly in the range of $8-$13, all very well prepared and delicious. I don't give a five rating, but only because sometimes service can be on the slow side. As an aside, the ocean view from the Denny's in Kailua-Kona is spectacular!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
886 reviews
429 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 669 helpful votes
“Food we recognize.”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had Denny's 3 times during our 12 day stay. Our family loves Denny's. The food and service was great. The prices are higher than the main land, but still cheap for Hawaii prices.What we didn't expect was the beautiful view we had. Nice atmosphere. Loved it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denny's also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Denny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing