We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Any Other Denny's”
Review of Denny's

Denny's
Ranked #186 of 290 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Henderson, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Like Any Other Denny's”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

It was late in the evening on Sunday so we were looking for a place that was opened. We ended up at Denny's. As soon as we sat down, we all mentioned how cold it was. We were freezing. I joked that pretty soon we'd have to chip the ice off our eyebrows and eyelashes. One person asked the waitress if the air conditioner could be turned down. The waitress said she didn't notice the cold cause she guessed it was because she was working and moving around a lot. The next thing said by one of our friends was, "I guess we'll have to leave cause it's just too cold in here." There were nine of us so I would think that's a good sale lost if we left. To her credit, the waitress then turned down the air conditioner and we all warmed up.

The food was the usual Denny's fare. It was simple, good food. The usual stuff. Good, filling and tasty.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KalihiKid65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    38
    30
    15
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Its Denny's - dependable mainland style dining”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

One thing I can say is they are DEPENDABLE, I have been going here for probably 10-11 years, same food, good, dependable, but don't go if your in a hurry, because fast they are not - nothing wrong with that, as long as you know it up front.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank KonaLance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Positive experience”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Visited this location on March 28 late evening. It wasn't crowded- we got seated right away. The server was friendly and efficient. Food quality was good, and we had breakfast there the next morning, which was good as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slynnholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Denny's coffee ever!”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

This is a standard Denny's but the coffee was amazing!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travellingwithsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kailua-kona
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better service is needed”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

food is Denny's just as you remember from every other denny's. But the service at this Denny's leaves alot to be desired. Your lucky to get a second order of coffee. And rearely does anyone ever ask about your meal.
My food was also cold in the center.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank christine_B_1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denny's also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Denny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing