We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste Good, Priced Right”

Killer Tacos Incorporated
Ranked #48 of 290 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Taste Good, Priced Right”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Kalua pork shortboards are the best, and reasonably priced. The rest of the family had the fish tacos, really fresh and tasty. Killer Taco is a hole-in-the-wall surrounded by commercial building. I'll take taste over atmosphere any time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RonL2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    96
    29
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed given the reviews”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I searched out this place while in Kona because of the other reviews. It was not all I had hoped. I had the fish tacos. The chips were a tad stale & the guacamole was nothing exceptional. The fish tacos I ordered did not blow my hair back either.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kjrouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“GREAT, Fresh Mexican Food... and KILLER Tacos!!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife & I wanted to try this place after seeing the good TA reviews. Being from California, we enjoy good mexican food, both at home and eating out. We ended up having a late lunch here as our first meal after getting off the plane. We found the place easily, tucked away in an industrial-commercial area of town. In fact, we found it on our way to the Discount Fabric store (just south and across the street), one of my wife's Must Stop & Shop places when we visit the islands; she wanted hawaiian print fabrics for sewing projects when we get home.

Anyway, we arrived at Killer Tacos around 1:30 p.m. very hungry after our 5 hour flight. I scanned the menu board on the back wall, and settled on the $5.99 Lunch Special (available 11am-2pm), a choice of two tacos, and a soft drink. I chose shredded chicken for both my tacos' meat. My wife had a kalua pork taco, also shredded; it was $2.99, a la cart. She said it was the Best taco she'd ever had! The taco shells were chrisp, chrunchy and tasty... not greasy; I think they're made with wheat flour rather than corn meal. They were filled up about half-way with lots of meat, moist and savory, and topped with shredded lettuce, cheese and salsa. The "medium (heat)" salsa was thick with fine diced tomatos and just a hint of "heat" from onion & peppers... delicious! The meat was flavorful and all the ingrediants were fresh tasting. Overall, we agreed the tacos are KILLER, And the prices, very reasonable!

We ended up coming back for lunch two more times during our vacation and always had a great meal. I even branched out and tried a "Longboard" burrito (Bigger, with More Meat than their "Shortboard" version) on my last visit, made with mexican rice, lots of meat, cheese & salsa wrapped up in a large steamed whole wheat torttilla (other torttillas available, like plain, tomato, etc.). It was delicious and filling, as well. This locally owned and managed restaurant is a great choice for good fresh mexican fast food in Kailua Kona. It's a simple place with great food served with aloha spirit. Check it out... but bring CA$H; no Credit Cards accepted!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank brown93614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Tasty and cheap!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Love taco's and was lucky enough to stumble into this place... in an industrial area...$2.50 Tasty taco.. wanted more but stopped at one.. if i have time will need to try the hawaiin pork. Fresh and good meat.... yum!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gloriossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kona
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Killer. Says it all.”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

You'll be super stoked with these killer deals. You get your burrito or taco made to order while you wait and it's always just good filling, tasty food for a reasonable price. Can't ever go wrong here. Perfect surfing fuel.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank konastephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Killer Tacos Incorporated also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Killer Tacos Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing