We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food!”

The Frisky Seal Surf Pub & Beach BBQ
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
221 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

LuLu's is a great place to get something quickly, that is not fast food. It's right on the main tourist strip, Alii Drive, and we were able to get lunch and a coke for $21 - not bad for downtown Kona.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hartimage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    98
    55
    24
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
bloomingdale
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average service, great view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Slow service, as in after someone comes to take your drink order, and you ask what beer is on tap, they disappear for 5 minutes. Great view of the water and people. Had to wait too long for the bill, and after we got it, had to wait too long again for server to pick up. I am a patient person, and the bar was pretty empty. They did announce "exciting changes coming soon" so perhaps new name/ facelift , etc and staff is dragging due to that.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Crazy Lulu's - a fun place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We ate at Lulu's twice during our week in Kona. It is on the second floor open to the street with a wonderful ocean view. The food was very good....nachos, sandwiches, fries were some of the best we've ever eaten. I had a chicken salad one night that was soooo good. If you go to Kona, you MUST eat at Lulu's.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank WRBoiseTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad Attitude Staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Lot's of great places in Kailua-Kona. They survive on tourist dollars. At LuLu's we walked in and sat quite a while...... finally had a server walk over. We were two couples with different taste in eating and drinking. We were trying to avoid the split bill, you pay I pay confusion, All other places we had been during the week had no problem with separate checks. We ask and the waiter looked at us like we were crazy. They said "NO separate checks". Then they let us sit and sit and sit while the place was basically empty. We decided we were being punished for asking about separate checks. So we walked next door, were treated great and had a great meal. Oh yeah separate checks were no problem.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good-”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

If you are from the Miami/Ft.Laud are this is not LuLu's on the Ft.Laud beach area, looks like it but not same owners. Anyways went for a drink at the bar, took forever to get the bartender over because he was chatting with a friend and not paying attention but when he finally relized he had to get back to work he was very nice. I would say they drinks are ok and could have a bigger menu of tropical drinks I mean we are in Hawaii right? Saw the food looked like bar food nothing to jump over a cliff for... I would say a nice place to go in the area if you don't want to explore Big Island or want to stay close to your hotel.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robele4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Frisky Seal Surf Pub & Beach BBQ also viewed

 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing