We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, ocean view”

The Frisky Seal Surf Pub & Beach BBQ
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Rijnsaterwoude
Level Contributor
201 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice place, ocean view”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Good atmosphere, good service, good food - why not. Two storey, lot of place. Ahi (Hawaii tuna) salad recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joeri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    98
    55
    24
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gilroy, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Where's the $5.00 special?”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We first started going here on our previous trip to Kona and discovered their $5.00 breakfast special. They don't seem to be serving that anymore which was a real surprise, but we had a good meal there this time and it didn't break our wallet. The service was not very good. The server was more involved in using her cell phone than on the customers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richardr13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauila Kona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Low key break from your busy day!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We always stop at Lulu's!!! Great drinks and friendly staff and visitors! Yes, yes, yes! Be ready to slow it down and take in the street sights--always interesting to see who else is visiting Kona!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank WilsonlovesKona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
126 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great "Blue Collar" restaurant”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Hey, this ain't a five star restaurant but it had everything a regular family could want. The food choice was very good, the wait staff was pleasant and inviting, and the shrimp kicked butt! Beer was cold, food was warm, and the views were teriffic. If you're a regular person from a regular life this place was absolutely wonderful. There was no pretentiousness about this restaurant. You got what you came for, good food, for a good price (considering it's Hawai'i), cold drinks, and a wait staff with personality. Also, the restrooms were very well kept. And what I've learned through my lifetime is if they care enough to keep the bathrooms clean then they care enough to keep the kitchen clean. And afterall, isn't that what really matters?

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer, Colorado
Level Contributor
117 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We went to Lulu's twice for Happy Hour. Nice people waiting tables. Liked both of the waitresses. View was nice except for the power lines but it wasn't that big of a deal. The pork wings are excellent. The schooner of beer during Happy Hour was terrific ~ the beer was cold and the shrimp on the appetizer menu was very good. Had a good experience during both of our visits. I would definitely visit Lulu's again while in Kona.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Frisky Seal Surf Pub & Beach BBQ also viewed

 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing