We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view, good food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pancho & Lefty's Cantina

Pancho & Lefty's Cantina
Ranked #89 of 283 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ventura
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice view, good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I went to this restaurant because a friend used to work there and I had never eaten there, so I decided to try it. It was very nice. The view, the decor, the wait staff were all very good. My dinner was excellent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaroneeBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    135
    89
    43
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellaire, Michigan
Level Contributor
132 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great for eating and people watching”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

The food is good, especially the chips. The location allows a view of the bay as well as the street and people walking along. Usually there is a coupon in the local paper sometime during the week for "buy one, get one" but the timing varies. We enjoy going to the Big Island every year and stop at least once on all our visits.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Saluki66686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Post Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
632 reviews
403 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Poncho'S in Hawaii?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

My wife and I first found Poncho's 8 years ago on our first visit to the island. The food was great then and it's great now. A couple of the guide books give it a thumb down, but ignore them. The food is really good, the drinks cool and pleasing. Service is excellent and the entertainment was a Hawaiian singer named Poncho Man. We loved him and it was the perfect touch. We ended up eating here a couple pf times over our two week stay, and enjoyed it evry time. when you need a taste of the mainland it's a good place to get it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wdlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Loved the views of the ocean and the feeling of being outdoors. We enjoyed our tacos and enchiladas with shredded beef. The beans and rice were very good also. I would not get the ono tacos as they were very fishy tasting. Otherwise I would return again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank lodigirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cordova, California
1 review
“Always go to Pancho & Lefty's when we go to Kona!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Location, location, location! We always have had very good experiences! Love watching the birds in the bannyon tree.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pancho & Lefty's Cantina also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Pancho & Lefty's Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing