We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ulu is Awesome”

Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 290 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Queen Ka'ahumanu Hwy
Description: ‘ULU Ocean Grill & Sushi Lounge is the breathtaking new oceanfront fish and seafood restaurant at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, where Executive Chef James Babian’s acclaimed “R.S.A. - Regional, Seasonal and Artisanal” cuisine is served in Hawaii’s most beautiful setting - alongside the surf and under the stars. The restaurant showcases a stylish blend of Hawaiian architecture and modern flair - a lively, informal setting where guests are inspired, surprised and delighted by the Hawaii’s beauty and the flavors of the Pacific, through an innovative menu with playful tableside presentation. Cuisine is prepared oven roasted, flame grilled and wok fired, while an extensive wine list, with a special selection of boutique wines is presented via iPad. The modern sushi lounge and ocean view bar feature the Island's freshest sushi, as well as craft cocktails, sake and Japanese beers. Casual, friendly and knowledgeable servers guide guests through a social dining experience not to be forgotten.
AZ
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Ulu is Awesome”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Located at the Four SEASONS Resort this restaurant is simply Fabulous! From the moment we got there the staff and our wonderful server ,Donna and her assistant Robert were friendly and helpful. I had the snapper and it was delicious.My husband had the Special 5 course meal from produce from local farmers which he enjoyed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AZretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    90
    38
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pleasant Atmosphere”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Considering that we were competing with a large wedding party for the waitstaff's attention, the service wasn't too bad. Husband had the lemongrass chicken with curry sauce, which he loved. I tried the fish special, which was a bit disappointing. Dry mahi mahi that wasn't too flavorful. We found the frenetic hyper-fawning of the waitress a little offputting. The view is lovely, the food only fairly good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Best Restaurant on the West Side of Hawaii”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Blue Book rates Ulu as their best restaurant on the big island, and we were curious to try it out. We were not disappointed! Chef Ricardo Jarquin's cooking is subtle and elegant. If Michelin was ranking restaurants in Hawaii, they would definitely deserve a star rating. A bit pricey,yes but worth it. When you visit, I recommend that you call Ulu to make sure that Ricardo is cooking that night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joseph d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Luxurious ocean front dining.”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

A real treat. Great staff. Not overly ambitious menu. Can't go wrong. Very accommodating. Pricey. Corporate wine list.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cirenrets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley, CA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good food, Overpriced, and a bit "snooty"”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Came for a Saturday night dinner on a whim. Even though a popular reservation app showed availability at all times they did not have a table for us when we arrived. They suggest that the bar was first come first served with a full menu. Great...we don't mind sitting at the bar or counter. Neither the Hostess nor the bar tender had the guts to suggest a couple with a seat on either side of them (and only starting to look at the wine list) slide over. We got lucky that another couple had finished before I said anything. Those seats, however, stared at a 2-top that was empty for the better part of our meal.

Good wine selection, but sparse by the glass. The food was tasty, well presented, good portion and not too heavy. The bread is fabulous.

It was dark when we arrived, but lights show off the surf. I'll bet the sunset is great.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shocking-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing