We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, fun and friendly”
Review of Kona Eco Adventures - CLOSED

Kona Eco Adventures
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: On the misty slopes of Mauna Loa at Ka'awaloa Hawaiian Forest, Kona Eco Adventures features Ziplining, ATV rides and Nature Hiking. In a rare forest you'll experience towering untouched Koa & Ohia trees, native plants and native birds you may see and hear only on Hawaii Island. Accompanied by well trained tour guides, you will soar from tree to tree platforms and see the birds eye view of majestic South Kona.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, USA
1 review
“Safe, fun and friendly”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

From customer service, to safety, to downright friendliness, these guys have it all. We booked a last minute reservation - their website said there were none available but we called in as they suggested, and they were able to find us a time slot that day. From the moment we were greeted by our guides, Nathan and Kyle, and driver Ehu, we knew we were in for a great time. They were fun and friendly, and they engaged us in conversation for the entire trip, filling us with knowledge about the places we were in and the things we were seeing. Once at Halekea (the "White House" which is the starting point for the zip line), they filled my safety-conscious family with a great deal of confidence. They were extermely conscientious and took great attention to detail with the gear and lines, all the while keeping the nervous ones calm with their good humour. The zip-lines themselves were so much fun, and the Ohi'a forest we were in was beautiful! Nathan and Kyle encouraged us to try fun things while zipping - swinging, flailing our arms, or going "dead-man", and even giving us a good-natured bounce to the line to add to the fun - but NEVER in a way that made anyone feel uncomforable - they new each persons limits and boundaries and respected them greatly. All in all, this family of four had a super fun time and are looking forward to coming back some day to do it again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JimmyTrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    10
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful family experience with friendly and fun staff”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We really enjoyed our experience with Jodee and Ola on June 27. It was a safe fun activity that enthused our teenage boys and created some great family memories. From the van ride to the zipline, the staff were friendly, helpful, knowledgeable, and we would highly recommend Kona Eco Adventures to our friends and family!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank doubletroubleBoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great zipline in Kona”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My family was looking for a zipline tour convenient to Kona as most of the zipline tours on the Big Island are in North Kohala or the Hilo side of the island. As it was our last day on the island, we did not want to spend the time on a long drive. Kona Eco Adventures has several zipline tours around the island, including one on a private ranch high above Kona. The scenery in the forest we ziplined through was amazing. The zipline course itself was rather tame, but still fun. It's a great course if this is your first time ziplining. The best thing about the trip was our tour guides, Nathan and Nadine. They were very entertaining and made everyone feel safe. I would highly recommend this tour if you want to stay close to Kona or you are a first timer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JDBytheSeaBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
1 review
“Rich & Chiye A”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our experience with Kona Eco Adventures Zipline was excellent. From the very start, our driver, Ulaula or Red was great explaining a little History of the Island as he drove us to zipline area. Our guides, Ola and Nadine were so patient and professional and really put us to ease at the same time explaining in detail all the do's and don'ts. We were especially blessed with personal attention since we were the only two on that particular trip. Thank you both for showing us a fabulous time!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chiye A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Zipline for first timers”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Wanted to experience a Zip line for the first time when we were in Kona, July 2013. My 13-yr old daughter was hesitant to try but I persuaded her to give it a try. The guides at Kona Eco Adventures were fantastic, fun, knowledgeable and made our experience so much more. Jodee, is a delight and made us feel very secure. The area for the zip line is a working ranch on the sloping hillside of Mauna Loa, just beautiful. The zip line itself is well built and not too high off the ground for beginners. My daughter loved it so much, we went back for a second tour the very next day. Highly recommend Kona Eco Adventures.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PoeticRebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Eco Adventures also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing