We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the hype”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rays on the Bay

Rays on the Bay
Reserve with OpenTable
Rays on the Bay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 285 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Hawaiian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Rays on the Bay Restaurant is known for its fresh seafood, farm-to-table cooking, handmade artisan pizzas,local island favorites and the coldest beer on the Big Island. Guests will enjoy warm and welcoming service, ocean front views, live entertainment 7 days a week and of course the chance to see live Manta Rays feeding in the ocean directly infront of the restaurant. Rays is also the best spot to see a brilliant and romantic sunset while you gather with friends to enjoy hand crafted cocktails, pupus or dinner.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth the hype”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is one of the more hyped restaurants in the Keauhou area of Kona, but it is worth it in my opinion. The service we had was outstanding, and the views of the bay at sunset were spectacular. And the food was great too. A very enjoyable evening.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank The_Mystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    314
    209
    89
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing views of the Manta Rays...after 8:30”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Everyone comes to see the mantas, on land and in big boats with snorkel ears wearing lights. The latterly leaves around 8:30. And the Mantas can be well seen from The aptly named Ray's on the Bay. Do make a reservation, do ask for one of the "front" fire pit tables, and do plan to sit awhile to enjoy the ambiance. We also had fantastic service, from Kathleen. She was attentive without be too much so, and took an undressed salad off of our bill , with out our having to ask ( we had just asked her to tell the chef). They have a nice wine list, pretty good (not great) food, and an unbeatable view, after 8:30... Probably later in the summer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leapsandbounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Nice Ambiance, Food Just OK and Pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We often vacation in Hawaii and this was our first trip to the Big Island. Read some reviews for Rays and thought we would give it a try to see the Mantas at night. Here's the scoop on Rays.

Ambiance: Grade - A
Nice combination of inside - outside dining and viewing atmosphere. Nice place for couples to have a drink. Nice lighting with a number of 2-person tables near the water. Sometimes you can see the manta rays after the tour boats leave the area; sometimes not. We didn't see them on our night.

Service: Grade - C
We had made reservations for 2 at and requested a table near the water 3 days prior. The manager Cary took our reservation. When we got there we found that Cary had made reservations for 3 at 6 pm and we missed our table. However, Cary was great in making it up to us with drinks and pupus on the house. Nice work, Cary! Table service was not so hot, however, so be prepared for that if you eat here.

Food: Grade - C+
We selected the wrapped shrimp which were excellent. Before the entree we selected a appetizer platter of vegge rolls, ahi poke and ahi puff pastries which were very good. However, the entree of Catch of the Day ono was a disappointment. Mediocre presentation of somewhat dry fish fillet on top of a bed of white rice with some unknown veggies tossed to the side and ...plastic packets of soy sauce. What?! Come on chef. We're paying BIG bucks here. You gotta be kidding me.

Price compared to food and experience: C
Overall we had a nice time at Rays. I would certainly go here for a drink and watch the sunset. However, be prepared to shell out some serious coin for a dinner + drinks experience.

Summary: Have sunset drinks here, or a drink while watching the manta rays later in the evening after dinner, but there are much better dinner places with more reasonable prices to be had in the area. The manager Cary is a keeper, but you gotta work on your servers.

Please take a moment and rate my review because I took the time to help you. Aloha!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrRon1854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go for the atmosphere and service... NOT for the food or a good value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Went there for my 50 th birthday. So glad we did. My husband is a self taught chef and his cooking skills could come in handy here... in other words food was not great and VERY overpriced, especially considering the portions. My husbands tenderloin was good, chicken was disappointing. BUT... both the service and atmosphere were outstanding!!! The manta rays are magical... I will NEVER forget my amazing 50th birthday at this special place on the planet!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stay far far away from this tourist trap!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Made a reservation for 2 for dinner. First problem: Called and left several messages last week for the reservation and no return calls. So we made the reservation on line. We got there about 5 minutes prior to our reservation. Our table was not ready. It seems they gave it to walk in customers. So we waited for nearly 15 minutes to be seated. When seated we were told they would put us away from the entertainment so we would not be annoyed. WE reserved to see Kehele. Then we had to wait agin for a new table. They sat us behind a post away from everything!! The menu is limited tosay th eleast. Waht they charge is twice the cost in town. It is overpriced and really not thast appealing. $25 for Huli Huli CHicken is a ripoff. The server came and and said that he would be right back. 20 Minutes passed and nothing. We left without drink orders being taken or even given a glass of water. If you go here you ar einsane. We are locals and used to being treated like garbage. This place treated us worse than garbage. Go to Humpy's, Sam Choi's Hugo's all are better values and treat a person with respect not like this place. We will never go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank konabill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rays on the Bay also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Rays on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing