We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meets the Jameson's standard”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Anthony's By the Sea - CLOSED

Anthony's By the Sea
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Paradise Valley, Arizona
2 reviews
“Meets the Jameson's standard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience at this refurbished restaurant. Jameson's was always a favorite and Anthony's will be as well. Our service was excellent. The menu is very basic but the 5 dishes we ordered were well presented and flavorful.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JustStayHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    38
    16
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Finally we found the best restaurant in Kailua Kona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We've been living here in Kona for three years and tried almost all of the restaurants in town. Sooner or later all of them failed because of the food quality or poor service. Recently we visited Anthony's four times in a raw and we have to admit, that the over all experience was amazing!
First of all the location is almost unbeatable and gorgeous. The service gives you always the feeling of being a special guest and is very attentive. Food wise we tried the fish and meat dishes which were all excellent. The appetizers and salads were always fresh and very tasteful. The Kona lobster, the fish platter were fresh from the market and excellent. The filet mignon was cooked to perfection weather it was ordered medium or medium rare and the chef always varied the side dishes slightly, which was a pleasant modification.
We really hope that this restaurant keeps its high level in any matter. Thanks to all for making us a few unforgettable stays.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ohiaparkestate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best restaurant last year- not as great 2014.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

I reviewed this last year and gave it the highest of marks. The location will always get an A+ and the wait staff is nice but the menu this time was very average.
Now the food...my friend ordered seafood pasta and it came with 1 shrimp, 2 scallops and 9 pieces of some unknown white fish. Very bland and no spices. my husband and I both ordered chicken parmesan. his was good and had a nice chicken breast which it should have. Mine was dark meat and still had the skin on with some maranara tomato sauce thrown over the top. Firstly, I ordered it because I like white meat and not dark and I don't like skin. I was not very impressed.
This used to be our favorite restaurant on the island and we have visited it many times. This time was disappointing.
It is a beautiful location and we would hate to see it fail because they can't get a decent chef.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Postie307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Greatest location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

OK, I reviewed this last year and gave it the highest of marks. The location will always get an A+ and the wait staff is nice but the menu this time was very average. We were told they were on their 4th chef in a year! Not good. The one they had last year was extra ordinary. Now the food is good, average, nothing special.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carmeljill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunlap IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wedding Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We visited Anthony's for my daughter's wedding dinner in September. We planned ahead and the staff was ready and attentive to what we had requested. We were seated in a special area which was somewhat secluded from the rest of the room and quite adequate for our needs. The food was good, service was fine, and the special desserts made by the restaurant were outstanding. We have very happy memories of the evening!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anthony's By the Sea also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing