We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Tourists Only !”
Review of Anthony's By the Sea - CLOSED

Anthony's By the Sea
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“For Tourists Only !”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had dinner last night at this way overpriced excuse for a restaurant. Firstly,the view of surfers and the sunset is great.But,that is it..
The actual decor is slightly better than a coffee shop and if the owners updated the old Jameson's,one can imagine what a dump the old place evolved into before closing.
The food was so overpriced,that they must be counting on patrons from the Midwest or one time only guests.
I am a vegetarian and the waitress advised that they could do a pasta without the seafood.Great ! ,but to be charged the same price as the seafood pasta @'$ 27 ?. My wife ordered the Mahi Mahi at $ 42 and the portion size was disgraceful.you could have read the menu thru the fish,it was that thin.It appeared as if they took a typical portion and then put it thru a meat slicer to get two servings !
Be forewarned...you do not always get what you pay for ! there are too many other dining venues to patronize that cater to the diner and present a fine dining experience.
Other reviews might rave about this location,but being overcharged for mediocre and uninspired entrees is a recipe for disaster.
An early demise for this excuse of a quality restaurant will be deserved.

Helpful?
1 Thank sareldlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    38
    16
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad food in a great setting”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Six of us had dinner and every person was disappointed in their meal. There were 3 or 4 different menu items ordered, and between the badly overcooked pork chops and steaks, and the tiny portions on the steak and lobster plates, and the cold rice, and the cold and crusted over mashed potatoes, it was a bad experience. Atmosphere and service were excellent, but hey - we went for the food and it disappointed everybody. Prices charged were on the high side, but these can be justified with a good overall experience - which we did not have because of the food. I was cautious about asking my friends to join me for this first time visit, so I checked the reviews in advance on trip advisor. The reviews made it look quite good, but sadly, the reviews and our experience did not match up at all. I suppose a restaurant can have good days and bad days, but what I learned is that the best reviews are directly from your friends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kona_Guy702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Convenient to Magic Sands”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Found Anthony's while renting a condo at Magic Sands. Cannot beat walking distance!! The food was good, my husband really liked the Kalua Pork Quesadilla and flat breads. We met Casey who was tending bar the first night we arrived. She was truly a delight and helped direct us to places we wouldn't have found on our own. The restaurant is open for lunch and dinner with seating available outside with a beautiful view.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyJerseyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Worth the experience. Good foot and amazing view.”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Tried Anthony's for drinks and appy's to see if we liked it. We ordered Flat Bread and it was by far the best we have ever tasted. Wow!!!
Immediately made a reservation for Feb 14th Valentine's Day.
Arrived at 6pm and were seated right on the water. Waiter was amazing. Had several tables but we never had a moment he was not attentive. Ordered Onionlisous Rib Eye and it was absolutely amazing. View was super with the waves rolling in. Valentine's day was the best ever. Good restaurant and good food.
We ate at Huggo's on the Rocks a few days later and the price is the same but Anthony's food is far better. We were blown away by Anthony's!!!
We will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Postie307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, great view, service ok”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We just got back from a week on the Big Island and two visits to Anthony's. We have eaten here before when it was Jameson's and quit going there because the food and service got so bad. The new owners (I assume) have spiffed it up a little, cleaned it up a lot, and have done a good job of getting the food right. The French Onion soup is excellent and everything we had from appetizers to fresh sea food was fresh, cooked just right, presented very nicely and in good portions. We were seated on the patio which has incredible views of the sunset and a little bay where the local surfers were having fun. They could do some upgrades on the tables and chairs on the patio, and some stings of lights above the eating areas would add a lot to the atmosphere. Really, the view dominates so these are not serious deficiencies, just some constructive suggestions.
The service was our greatest concern, mostly because the servers seemed too casual and laid back for the quality and price of the food. More training and oversight would take this place to a higher level experience which it deserves. The neighborhood around this location is not "resorty" and does not add any class to the restaurant so a 5 star experience would overcome any resistance by potential customers.
Overall a great place with a lot of good things going on. Step it up just a little and people will line up at the door.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stanland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anthony's By the Sea also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing