We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food & Service”

Billfish Poolside Bar & Grille
Ranked #138 of 285 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Enjoy refreshing libations and alfresco all-day dining at the Billfish Poolside Bar and Grille. Whether you come for a juicy burger, fresh salad or island style ahi poke, we have a selection for you! Check out our daily drink specials and happy hour with 20% off on all appetizers from 5pm to 6pm. Offering views of Kamakahonu Bay, the Billfish Poolside Bar and Grille the perfect spot for a 'pau hana' drink, a light lunch or a casual dinner after an adventurous day exploring the island.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Good Food & Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Whilst staying at King Kamehameha's we decided to eat once at the Billfish Bar & Grill. The setting is good - poolside, we chose our table and quickly were attended to by our waitress.
We were offered the cocktail special of the day which was very nice. I ordered fish & chips which was well presented and portion size was good I thoroughly enjoyed my meal. Music playing from speakers was quite loud, I would recommend choosing a table which was not too close to a speaker. The Bar also had live music on other nights which was lovely.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AarondQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    31
    17
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Hills
Level Contributor
587 reviews
478 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“Good Lunch.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Decided to watch the NFL playoff game and grab a bite at the Bill Fish Bar at the Courtyard King Kamehameha hotel. The poolside setting was nice. I ordered the Island Burger and a beer. The burger arrived just as I ordered it. The sweet potato fries were cooked just right too. A "good" lunch for the money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Food was very good. Typical bar/grill fare but well prepared and very tasty. Service was also acceptable for the local. Live entertainment is available some evenings.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank edrichywg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregonians
Level Contributor
173 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Wonderful view. Good drinks; great food!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

They are reslly missing an opportunity-this could be a hopping place to enjoy friends and each other but Slow service and no happy hour menu except for a dollar or two off of beer kept us going here only once or twice during our two week visit. :(. Too bad
Hopefully the waitresses will "get the lead out" and get the place movin.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thetravelers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food was ok, service was too slow.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Visited here with a group of friends. Its the pool bar at the Courtyard King Kamehameha Kona Beach Hotel. Its recently been renovated and is very attractive. Unfortunately we all thought the food was fair to medium, but the service was very very slow. I had the Ahi tuna salad and the presentation was great and it tasted pretty good. It was $16, not bad for a nice hotel bar. The fried zucchini was really good and was about $8. There was only one bartender who stayed behind the bar and there was someone else for a little while, another bartender I think, and one waitress. Unfortunately it took forever for us to get a drink from the waitress and they all came in different phases. Four of us got beers, then 2 wines, then 4 mixed drinks, etc. By the time the last one of us got his drink, the first one was ready for his second....really slow. The food came out faster, though. I think they need more help as there are quite a few bar tables and since it is at the pool, there were hotel guests at the pool ordering drinks too. They just didn't have enough staff. We would have ordered more drinks but since the service was so slow, we all left there and went over to Boston Basils upstairs lounge where they had music and had a couple of drinks there, service was much much better and music was great!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iloveparadise321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billfish Poolside Bar & Grille also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Billfish Poolside Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing