We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican Food In A Long Time”

Patricio's Mexican Taqueria
Ranked #89 of 288 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food In A Long Time”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

First of all let me start by saying that in the past 3 years of living here in Kona I have tried many different Mexican food places. None of them has truly impressed me...until yesterday when I visited Patricio's on Palani Road. Upon entering the restaurant you hear Mexican music and the decorations are not overdone. As you approach the counter you see the large menu board over your head. There are many different choices and some specials of the day.
My wife tried the California Burrito which I believe has french fries inside. She claims that it was the best burrito she has had in a long time...maybe even ever. Now that says a lot to me. I tried the Nachos Supreme with Carne Asada. I was quite impressed at the size of these nachos. Most of the places I have visited skimp on the chips and toppings. Not here...they loaded the plate up with plenty of meat, cheese, beans etc. Plus what i really loved was the fact that almost every chip had some toppings on it. Many places simply throw all the toppings right on top and so after you have eaten the good stuff on top there is nothing to eat the remainder of the chips with. Very well made order and very awesome taste to go with that.
Impressed with service, food and location. I know we will be returning the next time we crave true Mexican cuisine. Thumbs up Patricio's....

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ceez1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    50
    18
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salem, OR
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tasty and Authentic Quick Mex”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We heard about Patricio's from some local folks and stopped by for lunch. The food was really good, and they have amazing tacos al pastor, chicken, authentic fish tacos and a decent ceviche. Our order was handled quickly, and first bite into the fish tacos we were hooked! I was very pleasantly surprised how tender the tacos al pastor meat was - very well seasoned and melt in your mouth. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michellee5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain Cook, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We'd heard lots of positive praise for this restaurant and decided to give it a try. It's located in the KTA strip mall. You order your food at the counter and are called to pick it up when it has been prepared. I have to give a shout out to whomever helped with the décor. A beautiful mural graces one wall with papel picado banners strung across the ceiling and pretty tile tables. They offer a salsa bar...nice touch. Their regular menu didn't rock my boat...mostly tacos, burritos, enchiladas. Then I spotted the "special" chalkboard and saw my favorite - Chili Rellenos. There was no price on the board. We ordered two chili relleno specials, one a la carte taco, and a drink (soda). I was surprised to see a red sauce on our relleno, but it was delicious. The plate came with rice and beans. For those accustomed to American-style tacos, you might be disappointed. The tacos were traditional Mexican, much like the ones you would find south of the border. Our bill came to $28. While the food was very good, we thought the price a little high.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holualoa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Healthy Mexican Food”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Have been there a number of times niw and tried a variety, including the flan and have licked my fingers every time. Ensalada Grande came without the expected sour cream and refried beans of a taco salad so it was lo cal and huge. Awesome!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lalindabHolualoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Mexican restaurant on the island!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great atmosphere and the food is Awsome! You can tell that everything is made fresh daily. They also have a salsa bar with a lot of different toppings. Want real Mexican food? This is the place to go hands down!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bigislegirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patricio's Mexican Taqueria also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Patricio's Mexican Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing