We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most memorable day of our whole Hawaii trip - Cath and Ian, Melbourne Australia”
Review of Kamanu Charters

Kamanu Charters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kamanu Charters has two boats our real sailing boat Kamanu catamaran offers snorkel sails and dolphin swims and manta night trips and sunset sails.Our state of the art raft Kamanu Elua has forward padded bench seating and is a fast exciting trip,we offer dolphin swims and go to captain cook after dolphin swim and night manta trips.Whale watches are offered on both boats from Dec to April.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had a great team in Captain Chris and snorkel guide Shaun. They readied the catamaran, and ourselves with wetsuits and snorkels. efficiently and with great care. A fabulous ride out to the site and we were positioned to see a spectacular sunset before snorkeling. Clear and precise instructions of what to do made it very easy to be confident on the board and maximize the chance of seeing the rays. I felt very safe too! The guys were very knowledgeable and able to answer all our questions as well as point out other creatures of interest. At least five magnificent gentle giants came through, over and over again. It was magical! The periodic appearance of divers underneath all lit up, just added to the surreal scene. We wanted to stay there all night! When we returned to the boat bringing the board along with us, the rays decided to come too - what a great finale! A welcome hot chocolate and a beer with some lovely snacks awaited us and a group of amazed and awe inspired snorkelers enjoyed sharing their experience on the trip back to harbor. We have no pictures unfortunately - but what a memory. The most memorable day of our whole Hawaii trip.

1  Thank cath g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain chandler"
in 31 reviews
"dolphin swim"
in 48 reviews
"manta ray"
in 44 reviews
"sunset sail"
in 11 reviews
"pretzels"
in 15 reviews
"fish"
in 40 reviews
"crew captain"
in 5 reviews
"spinner dolphins"
in 26 reviews
"night snorkeling"
in 10 reviews
"the big island"
in 37 reviews
"majestic creatures"
in 5 reviews
"surf board"
in 8 reviews
"fast boat"
in 5 reviews
"dolphin trip"
in 6 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 18 reviews
"zodiac boat"
in 5 reviews
"great morning"
in 7 reviews
Filter

398 - 402 of 482 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

Kamanu Charters gave such a great Manta Ray Trip! We saw 5 rays in all and I was "blessed" by a manta ray is it brushed the tummy on my wetsuit as it rolled just inches below our board and masks! Our guide was terrific and a good leader to the group! She led us out and positioned us with ease. We had great instruction and safe travels on and off-board the catamaran! The equipment was clean and in good working order. The captain was friendly and all enjoyed a light, refreshing snack after our night swim as we returned to harbor. Thanks Kamanu!

1  Thank Rhonda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Awesome experience swimming and watching the dolphins. After everyone seemed had plenty of time in the water with the majestic creatures, the crew served delicious fresh fruit - yummm. Sails where hoisted and the bot moved quietly along for a bit, then we pulled into a snorkel spot and had more time in the water. A very complete activity. Thanks to the Capt & crew for a great time!

Thank alicia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbsail, Owner at Kamanu Charters, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Aloha and thank you for the great response,we appreciate your business and agree we have great captains and crew thank you Kamanu CHarters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

What an experience! The manta ray night swim was a blast ! That being said, kamanu charters needed some fine tuning. The site was around the airport and contained 12+other boats. That wasn't really an issue and th deep diver boats were needed to bring in more light. The captain was very knowledgeable and even noticed some false killer whales along the way that we followed (super cool!) The assisstants on staff were friendly but not as knowlesgwle as others i noticed on other boats. I could over hear other boat assistants pointing out various wild life and giving other facts along the way. In addition, our lit raft had some bulbs out and were not as advanced as their competitors. The other competitors arrived in fast boats that looked like raft tubes. If you want the catarman experience than this is for you! Otherwise, find a speedier way of getting there and then you can stay longer. The manta rays took some time to appear so when they did fully, we left! ( think fireworks! Save the best for last but not staying for the last couple).

2  Thank love2travl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbsail, Owner at Kamanu Charters, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Aloha,thank you for joining kamanu on our manta adventure,we are sorry you felt we didn't do our best,we address all compliments and complaints with our crew and we know there is always things to improve. Kamanu has been doing the manta snorkel for a long time we were one of the first boats to use the surfboard set up,Yes we are not as fast as the rafts ,But the extra ten minutes it takes us to get to the sight give our guests a view of the kona coastline ,and a chance to notice cool things like the pilot whales We do have a small head on board something a raft can't offer. Thank you for your suggestions Aloha Kamanu Charters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is my second review of Kamanu, the first in Aug 2011. We took the manta tour and invited our daughter who was visiting us. Serious South swell was kicking up the ocean and some wind made the trip a bit bumpy for some, I loved it on the front of the catamaran. This condition alone made the manta site very tricky. Captain was Chris, mate Ariel, and Cindy were the entire crew. The mantas didn't show up and people were completely rude to the crew. People, the mantas are wild animals. We are there to see them, they aren't there to see us! Anyway, Ariel had the worst of it I think. She had half the people on her surf board not kicking, so she had to drag them. Then she had the know it all trying to tell her where to go and what to do. I think because she is younger they felt it was ok to be rude. I mean, do these guides go to your job and tell you how to do it? Then the ready for the wheelchair guy asking if we were being controlled by a wegi board. The crew did their best to find the mantas, entertain their guests, and make sure they were safe in rough seas. The next day I called Kamanu and they were happy to reschedule something for us. Unfortunately we had to leave the Kona area but we'll be back for July again next year and we took a gift certificate instead. Great people and a great outfit. Its incredible to see how professional the crew is even when people who can't swim sign up for a trip in the Pacific Ocean.

Thank kyzrdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kamanu Charters also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kamanu Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing