We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mauna Kea Summit Adventures
Open today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Billions and billions of stars!

The guides were friendly, informative and professional. The food was great. The stars up close... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 3 days ago
rcblackwell3
Great sunset and stargazing.

A great way to see the sunset from 13000 feet. Arthur was a vey knowledgeable guide. The Parkas we... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
wpacfritz
,
Blacklick, OH
via mobile
Read all 1,455 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Island of Hawaii
from $235.60
More Info
from $207.83
More Info
from $200.00
More Info
from $65.00
More Info
Reviews (1,455)
Filter reviews
1,455 results
Traveler rating
1,188
174
38
17
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,188
174
38
17
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lasagna brownie visitor center biscotti the big island our tour guide southern cross milky way north star stargazing experience new moon hot chocolate great tour shooting stars star gaze naked eye amazing sunset
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,455 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2020

We signed up for this tour to see thetop of Mauna Kea and gaze at some stars, what we received was SOO much more! Our guide Travis was full of information on the culture, history and lore of Hawaii. We learned an amazing amount in our time with hime, making us feel more connected and in awe of this incredible island. Thank you!!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank cindi f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

This is a wonderful experience. 5 Stars. I do recommend that you check with the tour company as the summit road has been closed recently due to protests over the installation of a new telescope. 5 Stars. By Gregg L. Friedman MD

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Wimpyf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020

Our tour guide,Arthur, was very experienced and knowledgeable. Top organisation from the pick-up to the drop-off. Views we will never forget. Thank you!

Date of experience: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank stephaniecarlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2019

Arthur is our guide. From the initial phone call after a delay to the very last “Goodnight” 9 hour later smiling, friendly, knowledge excellent and eager to teach us. Ride to the top of Mauna Kea. Dinner stop on the way, checking for altitude problems among us. We were lucky with the weather and had clear skies. Good knowledge from several speeches. When asked question, Arthurs degree in Geology and Astronomy showed with lots of knowledge behind.
Main stops: Summit with astrology speech and sunset.
Stargazing with brought telescope

Comfortable buss, Good, tasty lasagna, To warm parcas for our “warm” Tripp. (Being from Sweden we had down jackets and hats in our backpack.)

Shortcomings on the trip. Pickup at remote location, added another 1 hour to the trip. Including same doublett speech.

Date of experience: December 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank 832magnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2019

Had an amazing trip with Arthur. Can’t beat having an astronomer conduct the stargazing. The Benz van is a big upgrade going up the steep roads. The lasagna dinner was hot and good. The sunset was awesome and the brand new parkas were nice. Even with Arthur parking the van to block the wind it was getting chilly watching the stars so the hot chocolate was welcomed. Yes there are a couple of tours a few dollars cheaper but don’t even think twice about spending the extra for Mauna Kea Summit Adventures. It’s well worth it.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank charlesg922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews