We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for beachside relaxation and Big Island exploration”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
269 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent location for beachside relaxation and Big Island exploration”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Comfortable oceanfront rooms with resort-quality pools for couples and families. Spacious lanai with great view of the ocean. Room was clean and well-appointed. The bathroom fixtures which worked well appeared to be somewhat institutional as opposed to those in an updated resort and spa. Enjoyed beautiful sunsets from our lanai or the resort's restaurant/lounge -- Rays on the Bay. Also, view the manta ray "ballet" from the deck at Ray's following and informative presentation by a local expert. In room mini-frig allowed for breakfast on our lanai. Option for relatively inexpensive valet parking or free self-parking on site. One suggestion -- the mandatory daily resort fee is a bit much for the benefits it covers (other than Wi-Fi, the benefits were not ones that we would consider purchasing on our own). We used this hotel for day trips to Volcano and Waipio Valley. We would stay at this resort again.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Aloha Pam T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful views and unique manta ray experience!

We sincerely appreciate your comments and have shared this with our management team. Please know that we have just finished our strategic plan for our capital re-investment into the hotel which will target high impact portions of the resort to bring more life and TLC to the resort, and plan on starting on all major projects by months end. We are also reviewing many of the policies currently in place, as we strive to enhance our guest's experiences.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa in the future! Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    878
    479
    216
    121
See reviews for
654
1,250
87
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (829)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

They know what Hawaii tourists expect, and they know how to push the buttons so you get the Hawaii experience on schedule and as predictable as the sunrise.

PROs: Clean, well maintained, scenic location and beautiful well-kept grounds. Wifi worked worked good in the room and elsewhere around the hotel. Hotel has nice architecture. Located away from the busy town but not too far. 25 min south of airport.

CONs: Its a tourist machine, so hundreds of "guests" are here-today, gone-tomorrow. Staff tends to see right past you. Only one place to eat at the hotel and it's expensive and at dinner it has loud music whether you like it or not. Most rooms don't have ocean view, so unless you are proactive about your booking, don't be surprised if your vacation view is of the tennis courts, parking lot, or pool. Kona coast is a victim of its popularity so there is often bumper to bumper traffic.

BEWARE: Hotel charges $30/day "daily resort charge" which includes Wifi and self-parking and a few other minor things.

Room Tip: Only "Ocean View" rooms fact the ocean. Anything else with "ocean" in the name...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G4gene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Aloha Worldwide,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful grounds and wonderful location!

We sincerely appreciate your comments, and the opportunity to improve on our guest services. Please know that we are in the process of retraining all our guests with the most up-to-date Starwood Hotels & Resorts courses and procedures, such as StarGuest Global Personalization and Guest Expectations. We are also reviewing many of the policies currently in place a the Resort, as we look for ways in which we can enhance our guest's experiences.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa in the future. Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We checked into this hotel on a Saturday afternoon and it became apparent that the place was 100% full. (Convention I think). Our Ocean Front reservation had obviously been given to another guest and our designated room was facing the 3 storey slide into the pool. After some "discussion" with Reception staff, we were compensated for the mistake and by the next day we moved into a beautiful Ocean Front room...(with twin beds instead of the King I'd requested).

The location is spectacular with waves crashing against the black lava rocks, and the hotel is clean and professional. However it's about 7 miles down the hotel strip from the pier/stores restaurants. During our time there I found the staff to be quite genuine and friendly. Staff at the pool bar/restaurant, reception, were great, yoga instructor Hooda was fantastic.

There are beautiful cabana beds around the pool but almost totally vacant due to the $ 25. per day charge...altho I applaud their effort to prevent guests who would otherwise claim them from daybreak with a towel and paperback. (Maybe just a policy to remove items from cabanas that were not being used after a certain amount of time would allow more guests to use them.) Otherwise there were lots of chaise lounges.

We tried Rays on the Bay and were disappointed to learn that the ocean swell that was creating the big sprays against the breakwall was also keeping the Mantas away from viewing from the shore at least. We could see divers checking them out each evening from boats moored a safe distance from the shore. The food at Rays was nice but a bit expensive, altho the Hawaiian music was great. The breakfast buffet was typical corporate at $25, or $ 14 for continental.

We ended up having a few excellent room service dinners on our balcony over the Pacific which was wonderful.

Overall the hotel struck me as a bit corporate, but maybe it was my bad luck to show up during a convention. The hotel made things right as far as the room went. We had a good time and were treated well. Cool ukulele lesson on our last morning too!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunlovincanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Aloha sunlovincanuck,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful views and friendly staff!

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay, but are pleased to hear that our staff was able to resolve your issue to your satisfaction. We appreciate your valuable comments, and will use this as an opportunity to improve on our guest services!

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa in the future. Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I was fortunate enough to spend a long weekend here (02/7-10) in Feb 2014. The location is amazing with breath taking views, what is there to say it's HAWAII.....but the friendly professional staff only add to the vacation experience.
Simplicity comes to mind when I think how to describe how this hotel appears to be run. The Sheraton team at this location are a slick operation and it shows in all aspects.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betsie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Aloha betsie40,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful views and friendly staff during your recent stay! As we strive to achieve excellence in customer service, it is wonderful to receive such positive comments from our valued guests!

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa in the future! Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Definitely nice pool, outdoor facilities. No beach if you're looking for one on site (you can drive about 1.5mi to a good snorkeling beach). Customer service was average - I was a little taken aback when I went to check in and the valet asked if I wanted to valet. I did not, as I needed to get my stuff together and knew it was going to take a while. He then literally was helping me and walked away.
A couple of other issues:
- How can a resort like this not have additional showers (eg outdoor showers, ones by the pool, etc). If you check out at noon - they are very strict on this, no leeway - and you wanted to hang around the pool for a few hrs before flying out, there's no where to shower.
- The bathrooms are a throwback to my grandparents' house... before they updated it in the early 90s. I was quite impressed at how bad it looked versus the rest of the (redone) room
- They also double charged me which I realized on my CC statement, and then it was difficult to get in contact with them

Pros: outdoor set up; great views; did not eat there but heard food was decent from other guests
Cons: Ocean views are partial, mostly parking lot; customer service not superb and not as expected for a Sheraton, a chain with whom I have often stayed; bathrooms way outdated; no beach access there

Room Tip: Ask for ocean FRONT - NOT ocean VIEW
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Aloha Ryan G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful views and pool!

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay, and have shared this with our management team. Please know that we are in the process of completely retraining all our staff with the most up-to-date Starwood Hotels & Resorts courses and policies, including WELCOME and Guest Expectations. We have also finished our strategic plan for our capital re-investment into the hotel which will target high impact portions of the resort to bring more life and TLC to the resort, and plan on starting all major projects by months end.

Thank you again for your review. We appreciate your comments, and the opportunity to improve on our guest services. We also hope that your billing issue was resolved to your satisfaction; please let us know if this is not the case. We hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa in the future. Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The hotel lobby is beautiful. Very inviting. There was a bit of a queue at check-in but it went fairly quick. We were allocated 2 inter-leading rooms on the 6th floor. The rooms were very spacious, clean and neat. The view was spectacular. Although we overlooked the car park, we had a clear view of the ocean and bay which was stunning. We saw such beautiful sunsets and in the distance, we saw some Humpback Whales.The pool is huge with a water slide. The kids enjoyed it. The only downside at the pool area was the restaurant. My kids had to wait over an hour for their food. And it was nothing fancy, hotdogs and burgers. Either than that, we experienced no other problems. The staff at reception and the valet were very helpful. There is also a trolley bus that picks up at the hotel and drops off as well. This is a convenient way of getting around to the shopping centers and restaurants by the beachfront. All in all it is a lovely hotel, very clean and tidy.

Room Tip: Although we overlooked the car park, the full view of the ocean and bay made up for it. The rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kershree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Aloha Kershree,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable rooms and and beautiful views!

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced, and have shared this with our management team. Please know that we are working on improving our service at all of our Food & Beverage outlets. We appreciate your comments, and the opportunity to improve on our guest services.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa in the future! Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
142 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed here twice in an "ocean view" room (that means a partial view) and an "ocean front" one. I would stay here again if I could get an ocean front room at a good price. On the plus side, the pools and grounds are lovely, the staff is friendly and the rooms are spacious. We ate dinner at Ray's one night and we enjoyed the food, service and Hawaiian music (I'd also recommend Fish Hopper). We used the valet parking and they were prompt and courteous.

We had surf warnings during part of our stay, and the giant manta rays do not come near the shore when big waves are breaking. However, we did see them the one night it was calmer, even from our ocean front balcony. Also saw a humpback whale breaching.

On the negative side, the layout of the building is noisy. Management seems to be clueless about this, contributing to the problem by having staff moving things around early in the morning and broadcasting music around. In an oceanfront room the sound of the waves helps cover the noise.

The buffet breakfast is overpriced at $25 and is pretty industrial. By comparison, a buffet breakfast at Volcano House was $15 for guests is more personal and much more innovative. The resort fee is ridiculous. This hotel is asking a luxury price but it isn't a luxury hotel and does not have standard amenities one would expect in one, like bathrobes. Adding on the resort fee just jacks up the price for things that are free in most hotels (like internet) or of low value (30 minutes of long distance).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank biondabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Aloha Migratory_Margie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful grounds and friendly staff, and are delighted that you were able to experience our unique manta ray views!

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced, and have shared this with our management team. Please know that we have just finished our strategic plan for our capital re-investment into the hotel which will target high impact portions of the resort to bring more life and TLC to the resort. We plan to start on all major projects by months end. We are also reviewing many of the policies and procedures currently in place, as we look for ways in which we can enhance our guest's experiences.

Thank you again for your review. We appreciate your comments, and the opportunity to improve on our guest services. Mahalo nui loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
6.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
31.7 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.8 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
28.0 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
5.3 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Property: Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2525 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing