We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Merced, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Went to Kona for a week in October 2013 and stayed at a timeshare which was one of the most enjoyable stays we had ever had. Stayed here the last night of our trip and transferred quite a lot of our Starwood points to do it. The positives the grounds and the pools were lovely. General décor of he reception areas and restaurants was very nice. However our room was very out dated and showed a lack of upkeep. I understand that things can be musty due to humid climate but that does not account for horrid yellow wall paint which sadly I did not photograph and a bathroom straight out of a 1970 elementary school. For a room with the equivalent pricing of well over $200 per night I should not have to lower the lid to flush the toilet.

The breakfast buffet was nice but Rays on the Bay which has lovely ambiance was over priced and the food was not of good quality. Unfortunately not the way we wanted to end an absolutely spectacular vacation,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pmitchell7622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Aloha pmitchell7622,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful Resort and wonderful pools!

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced, and have shared this with our management team. Please know that we have just finished our strategic plan for our capital re-investment into the hotel which will target high impact portions of the resort to bring more life and TLC to the resort, and plan to start on all major projects by months end. We have also brought in two new Chefs who are creating innovative new menus which take advantage of our local farm and sea communities.

Thank you again for your review. We appreciate your valuable comments, and the opportunity to improve on our guest services. Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    865
    474
    213
    117
See reviews for
647
1,230
87
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (815)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Like locals and want to understand Hawaiian culture this place won't get you any of that!
Want quick service this isn't the place!
want to blow mindless money this is the place!
want to have unknown charge.. yep they did that to us too..
wanna swim in helpless people swimming pool filled with chorines? this is it!
want to talk to awful people who only care about how much more you need to spend at their hotel this is the place!
wanna request room service and they'll make sure you go downstairs and get it yourself!


Never Coming Back it was a waste of money.... the only good thing was the bed was comfortable! everything else u can get it somewhere else!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RNewton5, Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Aloha Lila,

Wow! No words can express my disappointment in our staff’s inability to satisfy your needs and their service delivery during your stay. Seems we failed to meet your needs across the board. If you have a moment, we would love to better understand your experience with details so we can address the root causes of your review. Hopefully we can connect off-line. If you could respond to http://www.sheratonkona.com/contact-us/, we would appreciate the opportunity to connect.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

As a long time spg member I am used to a high standard of customer service at all Starwood properties. The Sheraton Kona Resort took this to a new level by upgrading us to an Ocean front Executive suite overlooking the pool and beautiful azure blue ocean beyond. Our large suite had two balconies and two bathrooms much to my wife's delight. The staff from GM Matt Grauso down to housekeeping and the valet guys were nothing short of wonderful. Watching the whales breach from our balcony and swimming with the Manta Rays just off the shore from "Rays" the Sheraton waterfront restaurant were two of the many highlights of our trip. And speaking of Rays the dinner we had there compares to the best fine dining we have had in Waikiki. So do yourself a favor and stop by the Sheraton Kona for a couple of nights, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Request and upgrade to Ocean front room or Executive suite if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuppyConquerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Aloha Duppy Conquerer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience at our beautiful Resort! We are very proud of our amenities, and love to share our unique Manta Ray views, delicious dining selections, and wonderful aloha spirit with all of our valued guests!

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa in the future! Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

This resort is situated in one of the most beautiful spots we have ever been to. The pool is amazing but it is a bit harsh having to pay $30.00 USD a day to use the resorts facilities on top of the room rate. The staff were extremely professional and friendly and always eager to help, we had dinner one night at Rays on the Bay but found the selection very limited and the service very slow, friendly but slow! The trolley that goes from The Sheraton in to town is wonderful and all of the drivers were friendly, helpful and very informative about the local area, if you get the chance get off at Longs ( the first stop) and eat at Bianelli's, best pizza and pasta in Hawaii!!! We would definitely return to the Sheraton and we would recommend it to friends and family, Mahalo for making our vacation memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with garden views if you don't want to pay for ocean views as the gardens are met...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZaJaMa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Aloha ZaJaMa3,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful Resort and friendly staff!

We sincerely appreciate your valuable comments and have shared this with our management team. Your review is very important to us, and we appreciate the opportunity to improve on our guest services. Please know that we are in the process of completely retraining all our staff with the most up-to-date Starwood Hotels & Resorts policies and procedures, and have placed the utmost importance on this as we strive to achieve excellence in customer service.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay! Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights, using it as a base for exploration of the east side of the Big Island. The hotel property is beautiful, although access to the water is not possible unless you are willing to clamber down rough lava rocks into a rough surf. (Surprisingly, there were some people actually doing this.) The room rates are fairly high, but probably in line with beach properties in this area. However, there is a $31 per day "resort charge" which covers items I would have expected to be part of the hotel rate (self-parking, use of exercise equipment) There is a convention center on the hotel property and it is used for local events. There was a celebration of life happening on one of the days we stayed here, and the hotel guest parking was completely consumed by that combined with a "farmers market" also on the hotel property. So the resort charge covers parking if you can find it! We were not impressed with the front desk staff (or lack thereof.) When checking out, we looked for the promised bill under our door for express checkout, but none was there by 6:30AM, as promised in the "hotel compendium" in our room. There was nobody at the front desk, just a sign suggesting we pick up the phone and call for help. As we were getting ready to do that, a person popped out looked at us and another guest, yelled back through the door "there are people" and popped back in, not to be seen again for several minutes. Finally, I picked up the phone and called for help as other guests were cueing up to get checked out. The phone rang for what seemed like an eternity, nobody answered, and then she popped out again and started to check people out. By then, I probably looked more than mildly annoyed since we were now number three in line to check out. When we got to the desk, she asked if we had received our invoice by email and when I told here we were expecting a hardcopy under the door, she told us the hotel had "gone green" an no longer printed them. I told here that one was promised by the compendium in the room and she told me "oh...they should have removed them." In any case, the promised email invoice was not sent, so we had no choice but to check out at the front desk.

We did not try the breakfast due to its high cost. We ate dinner at "Rays on the Bay" twice and had interesting meals at a fairly high price with a nice view of the water. We asked to be place as far as possible from the live music playing there so we could hear ourselves think. We did not try the "spa" but I think by "spa" they mean the room with exercise machines, which appeared to be clean and in good order.

Room Tip: If you can't get a room on the ocean side, the rooms near the end of wing 4 are closest to the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ_Rogers_IV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Aloha AJ_Rogers_IV,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the beauty of our Resort!

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced, and have shared this with our management team. Please know that we are in the process of completely retraining all our staff with the most up-to-dates Starwood Hotels & Resorts policies and procedures, including WELCOME, StarGuest Global Personalization, Guest Expectations, and FAREWELL. Our goal is to "Get to Yes" with all our guests, and we sincerely apologize that this was not reflected during your recent stay.

We also have a variety of amenities offered at our Resort, including Massage services at our Ho'ola Spa, and ocean activities at our neighboring Keauhou Bay, just minutes away from our Resort, and sincerely apologize that this was not communicated to your during your stay.

Thank you again for your review. We appreciate your comments, and the opportunity to improve on our guest services. Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, nj
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We just finished our stay, in fact we are on the plane flying home to nj. We really enjoyed our stay, the room was fine, a typical hotel room, but with a nice balcony. The people were all nice and friendly. We missed the orientation, so we didn't figure out til part way in that there was a shopping plaza a mile away. We ate most of our meals offsite, breakfast at splashers grill, because we weren't impressed by the food and prices. The grounds are beautiful, the pool is large and interesting and a great place to hang out. We drove up to town a lot, but it was busy there and it was nice to not be in the fray all the time. It was a great home base, with the farmers market, the luau, the trip adventures and kayak place all on the grounds or a walk around the corner. If you are looking to be pampered, this wasn't the place. But a friendly and family friendly home base it was great.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Aloha Jeff F,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful location and friendly staff!

We sincerely appreciate your comments, and have shared this with our management team. We have recently brought in two new chefs, who are creating innovative new menus which take advantage of our local farm and sea communities, and hope to implement their new selections in all our restaurants soon.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa in the future! Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

this was a lovely resorthotel near Kona.
A pleasant lei welcome at reception after a long flight from the UK.
Once we had located our room (which was somewhat challenging...) we were very happy with our lovely room. Very good size with a huge very comfy bed. Lovely complimentary kona coffees and fruit teas as well - which i needed after the long haul journey!
The view from the rooms balcony was lovely over the gardens and out to sea and writing about it makes me want to go back. We also had a great view of the hotels luau, though we didnt go ourslves it looked excellent.
The pool was large and never felt over crowded. Great little snack bar.
From the pool nearest the sea you could watch dolphins playing which was wonderful.
We didnt eat in the restaurant but it was always busy so i assume it was good! We did go in for drinks and to see the manta rays but we didnt actually get a glimpse of one...
Next door was a little marina of sorts where i think you could hire kayaks.
The lobby was also a lovely place to sit with a drink and just enjoy the beautiful view.
We had a car to get around but there is a free shuttle which is useful as the town centre is a little way away.
The excusrions booking team were also extremely helpful.
I wouldnt stay anywhere else in Kona. Lovely resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemc100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Aloha Gemc100,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful views and comfortable rooms! It is wonderful to receive such positive comments from our valued guests, and we will be sure to share this with our team!

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa in the future! Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
6.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
31.7 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.8 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
28.0 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
5.3 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Property: Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2525 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing