We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here for the Ironman as it seemed to be relatively close and we found a reasonable rate on-line. We were very pleased with the property, the rooms and the service. We had breakfast included which was in the main dining are server buffet style but with a variety of eggs, omelets to order, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, veggies, rice, breads, juices and pancakes - not to mention the coffee. For a family the pool is ideal with the big slide for both the big and small kids on your family. I enjoyed the slide. It is about 6 miles - 12 minutes from downtown Kona, but for the Ironman, we did not have an issues going into town and finding parking both the before the race and the day of the race. We had a late flight, so we check out and they let us use the pool and then a hospitality room for 30 minutes so we could shower before heading to the airport.

The only negatives I would say is the toilets were very industrial and the hallways were a bit noisy - one night it seemed like groups were coming a going as I heard the slamming doors.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiamiBeachExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Aloha MiamiBeachExplorer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We are so pleased to hear that your enjoyed our wonderful Resort and facilities!

We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us, and have shared your concerns with our management staff. We have recently brought in a new Director of Engineering, who is reassessing our Resort maintenance needs as we strive to improve our guest services.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the beautiful Sheraton Kona Resort in the future! Mahalo nui loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,699)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,986 - 1,992 of 2,699 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Sheraton at Keauhou Bay has a great location south of Kailua/Kona. Close enough to do all of the tourist things yet away from the hustle and bustle of Kona. It is also a short drive from there to The Painted Church and the Place of Refuge. We had an ocean front room with a view of Keauhou Bay and Manta Rays swimming at night. The room was clean, well appointed, but slightly dated. We stayed three nights and the elevator in our wing was out of service the entire time we were there. The grounds and pool areas were nicely maintained and the staff was courteous and helpful. We swam with the Manta Rays (an awesome experience) one evening and the boat dock for the excursion was a short stroll from our Hotel. Definitely check your bill upon check out as we discovered a dinner charged to our room when we never dined in the hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: Ocean front is definitely worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Aloha wmikek,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful location and beautiful facilities!

We sincerely apologize for the challenges that you experienced during your stay, and have shared this with our management team. Please know that we are in the process of retraining all our staff with the most up-to-date Starwood Hotels and Resorts courses and programs, in an effort to improve our guest services. We also have a new Director of Engineering, who is currently reassessing the Resorts maintenance needs.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the beautiful Sheraton Kona Resort! Mahalo nui loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Being 15 minutes drive from downtown makes this a quiet place but a great stay. Manta viewing from the bar deck and many rooms is a nice benefit of its location. Be aware that like many Hawaii hotels it has a resort fee which is in my opinion a silly way to hide part of their real room rate but nevertheless common. Just include it in your mental model when booking. The staff is very responsive to requests. I'm a Starwood Platinum so that helps but from what I can tell they are friendly and helpful to everyone. They are going through some management/training upgrades at the moment which can only help their service even more. If you have an issue while there though report it and it will get addressed.

Room Tip: If possible get an oceanfront room and of those one with a manta view. Only downside of these is th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Aloha Kevin K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful location and responsive staff!

We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us regarding the Resort Fee, and have shared this with our management staff. We are currently revisiting some of the policies at the Resort, in an effort to improve our guest services. We do also have training scheduled for all our staff, with the most up-to-date Starwood Hotels and Resorts courses and programs.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the beautiful Sheraton Kona Resort in the future! Mahalo nui loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights in a king suite. We are a family of 3, with an 8 yr old boy. We go to Hawaii every year, rotating islands. We have stayed at several Starwood properties. This hotel is a mixed bag. It has a potential to be great, but it's lackluster at this point of time..here's the breakdown:

Problems:

1. Pathetic spa - tiny (with a locker room could only fit one person!); lack of amenities (no spa, no sauna, one shower, althought the salt room was nice); below average messages. The scale and quality just don't match with a resort this size and the expensive charges. To be completely avoided!

2. Wrong bill - upon checking out, I identified 3 restaurant charges that I couldn't recognize. It took 30 min for the front deck to find out one bill, erroneously charged to my account because of the same last name! They didn't even check the room number on the bill! She couldn't find any references of the other two bills and finally took them out of my account, almost causing me to be late for my flight! The level of unorganization was absurd! Double check your bill!

3. Restaurants - not impressed with either the quality or the value. If you are really hungry and appreciate the convenience of poolside services, do it, but don't expect too much. Skip Rays on the Bay! The only good place was the coffee shack.

4. No kids camp - and the kids room was run down, missing equipment.

5. Most of the staff were not very friendly. They seem understaffed, so maybe people were overworked? Some of the bellman crew were nice, which was refreshing.

Pluses:

1. Nice ocean front suite - our upgrade to the king suite was worth it. It's spacious and nicely decorated. We saw Manta Rays from our room every night. We also saw dolphins. The views were very nice.

2. The grounds/view were beautiful and pool/slide was quite nice.

3. Laundry - quite convenient. Bring your own laundry powder if you don't want to pay $1.50/pack. It's $1.5 to wash and $1.25 to dry.

I really think this place has a lot of potentials. The location and facility are good, but the quality of services and food, and spa/children amenities could be significantly improved to attract customers!

Room Tip: Worth to upgrade to oceanfront suite. Ask for a room where you could see Manta Ray.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelforlife8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Aloha Travelforlife8,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful grounds and wonderful pool!

We sincerely apologize for the challenges that you experienced during your stay, and have shared this with our management team. Please know that we are currently revamping our menus at all of our restaurants, and hope that have that in place in the near future. We are also in the process of retraining all our staff with the most up-to-date Starwood Hotels and Resorts courses and programs. We truly value you and your business, and apologize that this was not reflected in our service to you.

Thank you again for your review. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to the beautiful Sheraton Kona Resort in the future. Mahalo nui loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel and it's location. Its quiet and nothing much around it but thats exactly what we wanted from the hotel. If you want more or a lively atmosphere, a hotel closer to Kona would be best for you as this is quite far out.
There is a free stuttle from the hotel that runs into kona but it takes a long time to get there and you means you have to fit in with the shuttle times for coming back. It also finishes fairly early in the evening which is a shame.
The pool and views are so beautiful at this hotel. We watched the sun setting from the sun loungers by the pool and it was lovely.
The rooms were great, large with a balcony and had fridge and coffee maker in the room.
Rays on the bay was lovely, we didnt actually see the mantarays but the var/ restaurant were great. On saturday night tbey6 had a dj who was really good, music was great and people were up dancing enjoying themselves. We had a brilliant night.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amytip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Aloha Amytip,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful location and beautiful facilities!

We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us regarding the shuttle schedule, and have shared this with our management staff. We are currently revisiting some of the policies in place at the Resort, in an effort to improve our guest services.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the beautiful Sheraton Kona Resort in the future! Mahalo nui loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights. We were fortunate enough to hire a rental car as it was out of the way from the main hub of the town. Lucky we did, as one night we couldn't even get in to dine at Rays on the Bay, their only restaurant open at night, as it was too busy and booked out! We were turned away - no way to treat "a guest". Also, the variety of foods offered at breakfast was very limited. Everyday we were offered the same sort of foods. Bacon and pepperoni were the only meat choices, potato bake and pasta, scrambled egg or omlette. No pancake station, Roti station, limited fruits and cereals, and only coffee offered to drink. Too bad if you are a tea drinker. There is a nice pool, but in order to swim there as a guest, you had to wear a wrist tag, which we thought odd. Check in/out was quick and easy, however; it is a very large resort and they could do with giving guests a more detailed map of it. Overall, I would not recommend staying here. I have stayed at plenty of resorts in Australia and over much of the Pacific and Asia, and this resort just isn't up to par or the same standard as them. Best spend your dollar elsewhere!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarmeyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Aloha CarmeyP,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful pool and efficient check in and check out process!

We sincerely apologize for the challenges that you experienced during your stay, and have shared this with our management staff. We truly value your business, and appreciate you sharing your concerns with us so that we may improve on our guest services. Please know that we are in the process of revising all of our restaurant menus, and hope to have that finalized in the near future. We are also revisiting some of the policies currently in place at our Resort.

Thank you again for your review. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful Resort. Mahalo nui loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Rooms spacious and had a partial ocean view room. This place is very expensive to eat in and you are landed with an unexpected service charge of 30 dollars per night which is not explained on checking in. I was told that the charge is for optional services whether you use them or not. I also opted for green choice on second day by opting out of room towels and linen change. It would appear this also meant no replacement coffee or water also and the 5 dollars voucher can only be redeemed in their restaurant and cannot be taken off your bill, so a total waste of a voucher and a con. They have your credit card details on check in and automatically take this 30 dollars daily. Wifi is intermittent and reception staff are rude. Avoid.....there are much nicer hotels in the area and closer to the main resort and airport.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
3  Thank Lauraine7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Aloha Lauraine7,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We sincerely apologize for the challenges you experienced during your stay, and have shared this with our management team. We truly appreciate you sharing your concerns with us so that we may improve our guest services, as we strive towards excellence in customer service through staff and procedural retraining.

Thank you again for your review. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort. Mahalo nui loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
6.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,960 reviews
25.9 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
28 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2525 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $222 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Starwood, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing