We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average at best...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rosville, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Average at best...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you have never been to Hawaii or have never stayed at a Sheraton then you will never know the difference. But this was my least favorite Sheraton. We are frequent with Starwood properties. The lush grounds/landscape are the nicest part of the hotel. The rooms were average. To be honest I am not sure what part of the hotel received the renovation? The rooms nor the outside of the hotel looked current. The housekeeping was poor, the pool service was poor. The front desk had good service. My boys loved the water slide. We did have an awesome dinner at Rays on the Bay. Server and food was really good. Not to stress anyone out that is awaiting their vacation to start but I am sorry to say that this was my least favorite one. We were thankful our stay was only 2 nights. We spent the rest of our time at a Quintess property over in Waikoloa. It was amazing.

Room Tip: We were in the same building as the spa on the ground level. It was great with kids and easy access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sksanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Aloha sksanche,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful grounds and exciting water slide!

We sincerely apologize for the challenges that you experienced during your recent stay and have shared this with our management team. We appreciate you sharing your concerns with us so that we may improve our guest services.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back. Thank you again for your review. Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    732
    848
    453
    206
    116
See reviews for
624
1,205
87
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife, toddler son, and me stayed there for 3 nights in Sept 2013. It was our first trip to the Big Island and did not know what to expect.

We stayed in an oceanfront king bedroom which is probably one of the best rooms I've ever stayed in. The best feature is the view. It almost felt like being on a cruise ship whenever looking outside from the room. We were able to see the sunset from our balcony each night. It was worth spending the extra for the oceanfront room.

The room was very spacious and comfortable. The one issue was with the air conditioner which never cooled the room below 76 degrees even though we set it much lower. We called the front desk after a couple of days and were told the AC went out early that morning and that they were waiting from someone from Oahu to fix it, but it confused us a little since it hadn't been working that well even when we checked in a couple of days before.

Everything else was great. The staff all over the hotel was friendly and the pool is very family/kid friendly. It is a large resort so be prepared to walk a lot to the room and to the self parking lot, but we didn't mind. After all, it was Hawaii and there was no need or desire to be in a rush.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for an oceanfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Services Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Aloha travelbug301,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful views and friendly staff!

We sincerely apologize for the challenges that you experienced during your recent stay and have shared this with our management team. We appreciate you sharing your concerns with us so that we may improve our guest services.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the beautiful Sheraton Kona Resort in the future! Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmawr, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just returned from a 7night stay breakfast was included. The breakfast area and the food was wonderful, you could have anything you could think of for breakfast. The staff were not only friendly but always very helpful. The rooms were very nice and clean. The pool was beautiful. We ate at the bar the day we arrived and the. Food was delicious and ample. The views from this property are amazing! There are many areas to sit and just hang out. Ray's was beautiful. We did not have a meal there though, the menu was not to our liking a suggestion would be to change it every few days. It was also very pricey. The manta ray feeding each night was amazing. You could watch them from different areas of the property.
We found the location to be very good, not right in the center of town (not congested) and about midway between attractions to the north and south. The concierge were very helpful with suggesting thing to see and do. We did have a car which I would definitely recommend. Would definitely plan a return stay to this lovely place.

Room Tip: We had a partial ocean view which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeansviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Services Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Aloha jms21053,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our great location and friendly and helpful staff!

We appreciate your feedback, and have shared this with our management team. We appreciate you sharing your suggestions with us so that we may improve our guest services.

Thank you again for your review. We look look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort in the future! Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
172 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Comfortable and All together very good.

We stayed here last week, and all in all we were very happy, the room although on the bottom floor was good value for money. Spacious, clean and comfortable. The pool area was nice, although the service wasn't amazing, and the food was just ok... It is a bit out of town which we were happy with as we had a car, but if you don't have a car its really a resort out of the way from everywhere...

Great to have everything included which included the parking, calls, safe, towels etc.. all included in the resort fee

All in all a good 5 day stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Awanderingmemory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Aloha Been_seen_done_it_al,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at our beautiful Resort!

We appreciate your feedback, and have shared this with our management team. We appreciate you sharing your concerns with us so that we may improve our guest services. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Thank you again for your review! Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Sheraton Kona. Arriving on Labor Day, right after the crowds had departed, it felt as if we had the whole resort to ourselves. We had booked an ocean-view room using Starwood points, and the front desk upgraded us to a beautiful oceanfront room on check-in. The room had a beautiful view of the ocean. Every staff member we interacted with we was extremely friendly. On the first day, our order at the poolside restaurant took a little longer than usual, and they comped us for both entrees even though we didn't complain. What great customer service! The quality of the food at the hotel restaurants was also consistently good. We did room service a few mornings (the omelettes are excellent), and we had a late dinner twice at Rays on the Bay, which was quite good but a little pricey. You can't beat the views of the manta rays, though! All in all, it was a lovely stay, and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnsmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Aloha johnsmurf,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed wonderful Resort and friendly staff!

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back soon to the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa! Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights Sep 2013. Arrived late at night and there was no where to get a bite to eat or a glass of wine? What's up with that. It is an expensive place with nothing close by. Nice property but a long way away from anything. Pools are great and food was very good. We sat at Ray's and had a great evening. The Manta Rays were the highlight. Probably would not stay there mainly because I like more options for meals and to drive and have a glass of wine is not an option so had to stay on property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aglama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Aloha aglama,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our amenities and Rays on the Bay restaurant!

We sincerely apologize for the challenges that you experienced during your stay and have shared this with our management team. We appreciate you sharing your concerns with us so that we may improve our guest services. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Thank you again for your review. Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just came back from a 5 night stay at this hotel. Couple things to note - I used SPG points to stay there, used my suite night upgrades for an upgrade, I am lifetime gold / 75 night platinum in the Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) system.

In short, I'd happily stay here again if using points, but if I had to pay for it I might check other options.

my comments:
- location is pretty central, but being 20 minutes away from restaurants did mean we ate dinner on site more than we would have liked. it's a quiet location.
- agreed with other reviewers on inconsistency of staff, some were amazing, some were...unhelpful
- the hotel seems to offer many extras, like the shuttle, etc, but they are not well communicated. Think I learned more reading these reviews than I did while there!
- SPG status came with free continental breakfast, worth $10 to upgrade to full buffet, but no way is that buffet worth the full price of $25
- there is no beach. you can see this in the pictures. just keep it in mind!
- had a great, tho pricey, lomi lomi massage outside at the spa. coconut oil scalp massage was a great add-on (tho you may have to shampoo your hair several times to get the oil out)
- Platinum comments: did get the suite night upgrades, tho not to the best suite, and the front desk was kind enough to let us check out late since we were taking a redeye

Room Tip: the red side seems to be the uninterrupted ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kailim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Aloha kailim,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our spa services and friendly staff.

We sincerely apologize for the challenges that you experienced during your stay and have shared this with our management team. We appreciate you sharing your concerns with us so that we may improve our guest services. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Thank you again for your review. Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
6.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
31.7 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.8 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
28.0 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
27.6 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Property: Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2525 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing