We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel Great Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
missouri
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel Great Restaurant”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights and totally loved it. The staff, from check-in through cleaning services, outside restaurant, bar staff, and evening restaurant, were all very friendly and eager to help if you had questions. The rooms were bright and clean. The pool was awesome along with a water slide. The restaurant had moved to a much nicer area since the last time we were here. It overlooks the ocean and is very spacious and open to the air. The food served there was excellent and we only traveled out for dinner one night, since it was so good at the Sheraton. The only negatives were the breakfast buffet was overpriced and repetitive(other options are available at this hotel). Also,the drinks (including beer) are overpriced enough to go buy your own and keep it in your room ($12.50 for a MaiTai!!!!) Management needs to address these 2 issues. I would still definitely recommed this hotel to adults and families

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roerunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    907
    489
    224
    126
See reviews for
688
1,284
90
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (844)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a good hotel. The location is excellent, the rooms are large and clean. The hotel is not very new, but it is well kept. The grounds are gorgeous. No big problems, but there are many minor problems that keep it from getting a 5 star review.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Here are my biases: we spent six nice at another holel on the island in another location, and it wasn't a good experience. United cancelled our flight out and sent us to this hotel for one night. We were welcomed (along 200 others, at the spur of the moment!) with warmth and compassion. They passed out water while we waited in line to check in. They kept the restaurant open later than usual, since so many of us were hungry and had been waiting all day to get out. The next morning, the concierge worked hard to get us each transportation to the airport (not an easy feat, there were so many). Each employee expressed compassion, asked if we needed anything, and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable for our short stay. I was so sorry we had not stayed at this hotel during our vacation. We got a chance to see a couple of "rays" during dinner. And, we had a comfortable room and comfortable bed. You can see some wear on this building, of course. Like many others, it's partially indoors and partially outdoors, which is lovely. But, I was so impressed with our very short stay, particularly with the service, but also with the facitilies. We will stay here on our next trip to the Big Island. Mahalo!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is far more than excellent rooms, setting, pool, service, and food. There are historic Hawaiian sites right on the grounds of the hotel. Lily Dudoit, the cultural activities director,toured us through sacred sites that are integrated into the hotel's landscaped gardens overlooking Keauhou Bay. We stood where noble chiefs once gathered. Lily chants and tells stories. What better way to learn history. She introduced us to Kalani Nakoa, the captain of the outrigger Kinikini. Kalani is another story teller, also passionate about sharing his culture. The Sheraton Kona is a very uniqe and special experience.

Room Tip: Rooms away from water slide are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCookingLadies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here recently after having been to Maui and Waikiki. The hotel was a perfect ending to our trip. Relaxed, beautiful scenery, and a great pool! We don't have kids, but this seemed like a great kid-friendly hotel. There is a giant slide for kids (and adults) to enjoy and there was a man-made sand beach for the little ones to have fun with.

We have no complaints! Staff were friendly, food was good, and the rooms were very clean. There is even a manta-ray show from 7-10 nightly!

Oh...one disadvantage...no beach access in front of resort. You have to shuttle over to a beach but not sure what it's like. We didn't go.
-- The spa was lovely. We did the couples massage for two on the lunai. Not sure if we would do that again. We did the sunset timeslot but because you are face down we didn't get to enjoy it obviously and the spa already puts a 20% grat on your bill which threw us of a bit. We would like to place the grat based on performance. I do believe you are able to change it after your service though. The salt room was a nice detox!

Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
483 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

After being disappointed with Sheraton on Kaua`i, we did not expect much from Sheraton on the big island, but it was a perfect place for a family vacation. The room was big, nice and clean, service very friendly, fitness modern, food quite good. I would recommend this hotel for families with kids. It has a great swimming pool with water slides and in the evening you can see mantas from the hotel (shadows of them, to see them you better take the evening snorkelling tour which is amazing). The hotel does not have its own beach and you have to drive to one yourselves (or you can use the hotel shuttle which I believe is free), but we did not mind that, because we were exploring different beaches each day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ales11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have been visiting this property once a year, for many years. It's reasonably priced, clean, has a great pool (which makes up for no beach) and fantastic viewing of manta rays at night. It's a bit worn or dated, and you can hear a lot of the hallway noise and bathroom use of other guests, from your room. But it had always been a good family option. The buffet breakfast has a nice variety and reduced pricing for children. The only restaurant open for dinner was Rays on the Bay. Previous visits had more dinner options (pool side grill, and the main restaurant) but this visit there were no other options. Rays on Bay is a nice open air restaurant with live music, but not always a family climate (night club theme nights). For those staying a full week, the menu is limited if your eating there every night and there aren't a lot of options close by. Our real issue was the pool. It's the main draw of this property for us, traveling with grandchildren. The hotel looks the other way in regards to the numerous "pool crashers" who, unfortunately, consist of a lot of kids climbing rocks to jump or back flip into the pool, hanging off the pool bridge, throwing footballs across crowded areas, and worst of all, bullying the children of guests through teasing, banning them from areas of the pool, and in our case, even pushing them against lava walls. We did talk to "security" about the high number of "crashers" and they acknowledged it was a problem and they would increase security, but it seemed worse each day. If you go, don't plan pool time on the weekend, it's much worse, and if you have children, be very cautious. If looking the other way, regarding the pool crashers, was a nice community outreach program, it seems to have gotten out of hand. They need to limit the number of "allowed" entries per day and ensure safe playing for all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OceanVu4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
6.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
31.7 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
32.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
5.3 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,848 reviews
28.0 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Property: Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2525 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing