We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Good Days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oak Park, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“5 Good Days”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

It was my third trip to Hawaii, but my first to the big island. This trip was paid with SPG points and as a Gold member they moved us from a mountain view to a bay view and my added perk was that they waived the resort fee.

The bay view was nice and we enjoyed it every morning. The room was spacious and clean and taken care of when requested. I enjoyed the fact that it was a little out of the way and we enjoyed the solitude. My girls loved the "beach" pool when we used it and the pool staff was courteous.

By the time we had checked into the hotel we had been traveling for 19 hours and a 5 time zone change. My girls were tired when we went down to Rays By The Bay for dinner and the waiter moved quickly and took care of us to make sure they were fed before they passed out. He recognized the signs and when I asked about getting the girls fed faster he said that he had noticed and had their order pushed faster so they could eat sooner, that was top notch service.

My older daughter and I started every morning with a walk by the ocean and the beautiful grounds and it was the perfect way to start the day. My daughters loved it and asked when we can go back and stay there again. I plan on going back to the big island and when I do I will stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Aloha! We could not be more pleased to hear that your recent stay at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay was such a great experience. It is always our goal to provide exceptional service to ensure our guests feel welcomed, cared for and have the best stay possible. We are thrilled your family had so much fun while you were here and look forward to your return. Ahuihou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    865
    474
    213
    117
See reviews for
647
1,230
87
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (815)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was our second stay at this resort and we will return. The rooms are clean and large. The bed is ultra comfortable. Everything worked just fine.
My only issue -- and the only reason I am not rating it excellent -- is with the daily amenities fee. Why not just include this in the rate? It is bad form to charge extra for normal amenities: parking, internet and 2 small bottles of water??? Come on! This is a bit shameful.
Otherwise, I have no complaints.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Female_biz_traveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Mahalo for your review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. We’re delighted you enjoyed the comfort of the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed in your room and are thrilled that after your second stay with us you are planning on returning for another visit. We are sorry that the resort charge is something that you are not especially pleased with and hope that this has not impacted your overall experience. All of us here are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Ahuihou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here upon arrival onto the Big Island for 1 night and also returned for our last 3 days on the island. Upon arrival, we drove up to the entrance area and although I chose not to have valet park for me, he was willing to drive my car out of the way and to the side while we checked in and gave us our key back when we finished checking in. You can do self-parking easily.

The hotel was very clean, as expected for me from a Sheraton. We had 1 queen sized mountain (aka. parking lot) view. When we asked for any honeymoon upgrades, they were only able to offer us some free champagne. Not sure if they had no ocean view rooms or they just didn't want to give to us.

Amenities - You can walk out to a viewing area to check out the Manta Rays every night; There are 2 swimming pools that are good-sized and it wasn't packed with people, which was nice. The Water Slide - it was a bit shallow and the first few times I went on, I had to push myself down the 2nd half of the slide. However, once I got the hang of it, I learned to lie down more and let the water push me all the way and then I didn't have to push at all. They also have: Fitness room; Games room; Tours of the historical areas of the site; bracelet making class ($20); water slide competitions; Manta Ray viewing & talks.

Restaurants: We went to check out the morning buffet however, we felt at $20, it wasn't fully worth it --- omelette station; Bacon & Sausages; eggs; potatoes; small selection of fruit. We never checked out any of the other restaurants so we can't really comment.

Environmental initiative: If you choose to pass on room service, you can hang a sign on your door each night and the next morning you are given a $5 voucher for any food on the resort (which is a nice little gift).

Location: This was the only slight problem I had with the resort. I had stayed in Lahaina, Maui before and liked that we would walk into the shopping area and walk around for the night. I was hoping for that however, the Sheraton is not close to any shopping areas. If you want to go shopping, you would have to drive up 5-45mins north to hit up some shopping malls/plazas. Aside from this though, I liked our location and thought it was a convenient location too.

Overall, we were fully satisfied with this hotel and could see ourselves returning here in the future.

P.S. We got a great rate by ordering through Hotwire

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clam2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Congratulations on your recent wedding! Mahalo for sharing such a lovely review for the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. We are sorry that we were unable to offer you an upgrade at the time of your stay but we are glad that you had a truly enjoyable time here. Thank you so much for providing such a complete review and letting us know how satisfied you were with your stay. We hope that we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

When we arrived at the resort we were greeted by friendly staff and presented with a lei. i though this was a really nice welcome ( our first time to hawaii). Although the resort looks a little tired, the location and pool make up for this. Unfortunately we only had 4 nights at this resort, we could have spent more time there. The pool really is as good as it looks in the brochures. The water slide was great too. Even though we travelled in Australian school holidays this resort was not crowded at all. We didn't have any trouble getting a sun lounge by the pool and there pool was not crowded.
We only ate at rays on two occasions and both times the food was very good. I recommend going early as one night we arrived at the restaurant around 8 and could only get a seat at the bar with limited menu. There was still plenty to choose from and meals came out quickly.
There is an area near the pool with a number of computers for quests to use which was handy. ( free wifi too). As well as there being a couple of gift shops at the resort, local artisans set up stalls daily. This was a great way to meet local artists and purchase souvenirs. There is also a good range of daily activities.
The resort has quest washing machines and dryers which was really handy, especially when you are travelling with kids.
I would definitely recommend staying at this resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Aloha! We are thrilled that on your first trip to Hawaii you chose to stay with us. Your many lovely compliments for Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay and Rays on the Bay are greatly appreciated, thank you. It is always our desire for guests to enjoy their stay and leave with many fond memories of their time spent here. We hope that on your next trip to the Island you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

The resort is lovely, and it seems it would be a great place with kids--a wonderful, expansive pool with giant water slide, lots of water activities and beautifully-kept grounds. The actual room seemed as if it would be pleasant enough -- a bit tired but clean and well-equipped. It all came crashing down when the folks next door came in and we could hear every word of their conversation through the paper- thin walls. And they were just speaking in regular voice -- nothing especially rowdy. What a miserable experience if you drew a boisterous crowd next door! And who can predict? Perhaps until they get their rooms more sound-proofed, they ought to have designated quiet wings--emphasis on quiet!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieVBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your compliments, feedback and review of our resort. Although we were delighted to learn of your appreciation for our grounds and pool, it was truly disappointing to find out that sounds from outside your guestroom were a disruption to your stay and we ask that you accept our most sincere apologies. Your comments and suggestion about a designated wing will be shared with our management team. We hope that we can welcome you back in the future. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

After reading some of the bad reviews on here I was very apprehensive on arrival. How wrong they were!! Stunning location, big clean rooms, friendly staff and the Rays on the Bay restaurant was perfect. It offered a great ambiance with live music, lovely food, quick service and the manta rays were there every night.

The location is so tranquil, we found ourselves saying wow at the views everyday. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your gracious review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. We are so happy to learn how much you enjoyed your stay as well as your dining experience at our restaurant. Rays on the Bay offers a premium dining experience and it is the only restaurant in the world with views of manta rays in their natural environment. Mahalo for all your lovely comments; we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

The hotel is in a good location but needs updating . I'm not sure if it's a normal practice for Hawaii but We were charged a resort fee on top of our room fee.This fee was suppose to cover pool towels ( we only used the pool on 2 of 7 days), parking (we didn't have a car all the time we were there)and two bottles of water( they couldn't have been any smaller and the maid kept forgetting to leave them) Because they do a lot of conventions and a luau parking is a bear unless you use the valet for an additoinal $7 I guess resorts are taking lessons from the airlines and everything is an extra charge I'm just glad they didn't charge us for using the elevator

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Mahalo; we sincerely appreciate your review and feedback. The resort charge you mentioned does in fact cover the items you listed but it also covers a range of other amenities to enhance the guest’s experience. Included in the fee is wireless internet access, unlimited use of the Keauhou to Kona Trolley, use of our fitness center, cultural tours, yoga and Zumba classes, Hula lessons and other daily activities. We are sorry if you were unaware of everything that is provided for this one nominal fee or if you did not find it to be a value. The next time you are visiting the area we hope that you will allow us to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
6.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
31.7 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.8 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
28.0 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
5.3 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Property: Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2525 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing