We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with view to beautiful sunsets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Had a great time at this beautiful property. Especially enjoyed the sunset and the restaurant. The traditional luau at this hotel was also really good and the hotel has a services desk which helps out with planning trips/booking services at the island. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaggeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Mahalo for your recommendation and review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. We are delighted that you had such a great time and enjoyed the Haleo luau dinner and show. We love sharing Hawaii’s culture and history with our guests and the luau is a wonderfully entertaining way to learn about the language and culture of the area. Thank you for letting us know how happy you were with your stay; we hope you will come back and visit us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,157 - 2,163 of 2,701 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful week at the Sheraton Kona Resort in February, 2013. The ocean views from this property are spectacular, as are the sunsets, and I would recommend spending the extra money for an ocean front room if possible. We had a suite, which was huge and very comfortable. My only complaint is that most days it was necessary to get a new password to log into the wi-fi. We really enjoyed viewing whales and manta rays playing right for our balcony as well as the waves crashing on the lava rock shoreline,

Some highlights of the property include the expansive pool areas, Rays on the Bay restaurant and a great ocean view workout facility. Rays was enjoyable for dinner or just drinks while enjoying the nightly live entertainment. The hotel is also a short drive from the the town of Kailua for those looking for shopping and dining opportunities. For those interested in seeing an active volcano, the hotel is about a 2 hour drive from Mauna Kea,

We found most of the staff members to very friendly, from the valet parking team, to the maids and the pool wait staff. The overall feel of the hotel is laid back and relaxing and we found ourselves wishing we had booked a longer stay. I would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Spectacular views from the ocean front rooms, spend the extra money for them if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stone13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Aloha! Our associates always desire to create a memorable experience for all our guests and an ultimate retreat while staying here. Thank you so much for sharing your feedback as well as your high recommendations, we are thrilled you had such a positive experience and enjoyed the sunsets at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was the first Starwood I stayed at where I had gold status. No upgrade. No special treatment. Expected a little more at check in but was rushed through the process even though there was no line. Come to find out the next day everyone who check in was being given lei's. Where were ours? Room was mediocre. Bathroom felt ancient. Balcony was a nice treat. Was surprised to come back to the room in the late afternoon to find that it hasn't been cleaned. Lobby bar never opened for happy hour. We were charged for valet parking, even though we self parked. It was easy to take off of the bill, but maybe if I wasn't rushed at check-in, the mistake would've been caught...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SamSafD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

We care deeply about every guest’s feedback and appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay. It is certainly disheartening to learn that we did not make a better impression and we are truly sorry that on arrival you were not given a lei, please accept our sincerest apologies. We hope that one day you will visit us again and we can provide the service and experience that exceeds your expectations. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed there in Dec. 2012, weather was very nice, not too hot around 70-75. Big hotel with lots of room, Several restaurants with pretty good food. Two nice swimming pools. Beautiful grounds and paths to walk. Need a car, must drive everywhere, too far to walk. No beach at the hotel. Car rental and travel agency at the hotel. Staff very friendly, rooms very nice. Would stay again.

Room Tip: All room are ocean view but some only a peek, ask for the ocean side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlylinLodiCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Mahalo for your kind review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. We were so pleased to learn that you had a very nice time while staying with us and enjoyed your accommodations in addition to the friendliness of our staff. Please visit us again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had never been to the Big Island before and had no idea about hotel locations, but chose the Sheraton because we like the brand and the reviews were pretty good. We were so happy that we chose this property! First of all---the location was great. The main resort area is so far from Kona, but this resort was only a few miles from town and all the happenings in Kona. The hotel rooms were beautiful and very well appointed. Service was great and overall, we were very happy to spend 10 wonderful days here. Only annoyance was the resort fees. The rooms were a little pricey to begin with, and the resort fee is really a rip off, in our opinion.....we try to avoid hotels that charge this additional fee, but all the hotels around Kona hit their patrons with this.
Otherwise, this was a very nice hotel and we enjoyed or stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynncs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Aloha and thank you very much for choosing Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay for your first stay on the Big Island. Visiting the island for the first time is an exciting adventure and we are thrilled that you had such a wonderful time while staying with us. Your many gracious compliments for our hotel and staff are truly appreciated, thank you. The resort charge you mentioned provides our guests a generous array of amenities and services for one nominal all-inclusive fee and we sincerely regret your dismay regarding this. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel was clean and quite large.Over all it was a decent stay for the big Island. I did not like however that at night with the long hallways, noise carried. Could hear neighbors TV and when anyone checked out you could hear the wheeling luggage as if they were in the room, which woke me up every night we stayed. Parking lot quite a far walk as well so not great if you don't use Valet and like to come and go a lot.
But grounds very nice, beautiful location and decent food in the restaurants. Lots of things to do, but no real beach so if you want a beach stay this is not for you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Mahalo for your review and appreciation for our location on the island's sun-kissed leeward coast. It is truly disappointing to learn that sounds originating from outside your guestroom were a disruption to your stay and we ask that you accept our most sincere apologies. We value the feedback you've offered and hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Overall we had a great time staying at this resort we were here for 9 days end of march to beginning of april.

We didn't experience some of the same issues other travelers had. We arrived late in the evening and had an easy check in. Though finding the room was a little confusing, the map and directions to the different wings didn’t seem to match what the signs on the floors were saying. But we eventually found it. One evening we encountered some particularly grumpy front desk staff when asking for a band-aid. Overall the staff were great but this pair seemed to have no clue what customer service entailed.

The room was clean, our mountain view was very nice, overlooked the garden and tennis courts and we did get a peek at the ocean, and sunrises every am. The bathroom was nothing fancy, but it was clean and well maintained with a pretty deep tub. Plenty of floor space for two adults and one child. Beds were comfortable, one drawer in the dresser refused to open but we made due, and the fridge was clean. We were there for easter and that weekend the hotel was busier, but still tolerable. A lot of families seemed to be from the island but came for the pool. The Easter egg hunt was a nice touch, and popular. We were on the 4th floor so no noise from above, only the easter weekend did we hear any neighbors. otherwise it was quiet.
The grounds were beautiful, and there was no mistaking the fact that they were on cliffs, all photos showed lava rock cliffs which is why we chose the resort. We didn’t want to be on another beach when there were so many nearby. Public access walkways in Hawaii allow access to beaches everywhere. I'm not sure why one reviewer said the beaches were an hour away, when they were most definitely not. We had a great guide book and just drove around. (Old airport beach, Kahalu’u beach 5-15 minutes drive)
The pools were so nice, the lava tube slide was so fun. Poolside food and drinks were nice, but like everything else very expensive. There was the typical on grounds shop for missing necessities, and another shop for more expensive items. Great people to help arrange trips though you can arrange them on your own as well. We only used them to see if there was room on some of the trips.
We did most of the excursions on our own, I highly recommend getting a rental car. You could literally circle the island in a few days and see everything which is what we did. If you want to get to some of the parks, including the state parks you need 4 wheel drive but we made due without and still went to ton of places. The hotel is about 30 minutes from the airport and it would have been harder to find but we did our research and had directions and after a day of just exploring we had no problem getting around. Its convenient to restaurants, shopping and even has a shopping plaza within a 5-10 minute walk for groceries, post office. There are several farmers markets nearby as well and the hotel hosts also.
We splurged on the valet parking, at first due to convenience, but then they helped us find places and things to do. What a great bunch of guys. The resort does charge an extra resort fee, which I think should be included in the price when you pay for the room but we know better now. Budget an extra 30 dollars a day for their "amenities" including internet. We were able to access it in the room and the pool area without issues. you have to log into it every time you turn your computer on though.
We ate in every restaurant at least once, and had the same thought each time, Wow this is expensive. A buffet breakfast for $18 a person and had just the basics, bacon eggs yogurt, fruit and an omelet station? Ordering a meal off the menu costs less but not by much. But at least it was nicely presented. We were spending about 60 dollars for just breakfast for 3. Rays on the bay… well its over rated. The food was good and there was a live band, and a beautiful view but we could have had that view and meal anywhere on the island. Poolside bar same thing, about 70 for lunch, drinks were about $10 and up.
So overall I recommend staying here if you have some money in your budget to splurge a little.

Room Tip: if you can avoid the parking lot view but every other room should be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank medtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Mahalo for providing everyone with such a descriptive review of your stay at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. We truly appreciate that you have shared how much you enjoyed your stay and included so many details about what to expect and what you discovered around the island. We are sorry that you initially had some difficulties locating your room and also for your experience when requesting a band aid. We hope that your overall experience was not impacted by these two things. Thank you so much for your recommendation; we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
6.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,962 reviews
25.9 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
28 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2525 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $222 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing