We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bit run down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leipzig, Sachsen, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“bit run down”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The hotel is located near the airport (ca. 10 miles). My boyfriend and I took a rental car. But the hotel offers a shuttle, which you have to pay. We got a room with a view to the mountains and the ocean. You can't lay on the beach, but it has a beautiful pool area. It's a family friendly hotel. The rooms are big, every room has a balkony, they are clean (but unfortunately they forgot to throw away our waste one day). The service is very good. We got a late check out and a 15 % discount of food and beverages in the hotel restaurants as Gold Members.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnjaLuisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. We are glad that you enjoyed the spaciousness of our rooms, relaxing at the pool and the quality of service you received. Please come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    913
    497
    231
    129
See reviews for
698
1,299
90
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (854)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kennewck
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I was seriously disappointed with the Sheraton during my recent visit in part due to their "resort" charge of $30 plus tax. The resort charges this fee to cover high-speed internet access, self-parking for one vehicle, unlimited locan and 1-800 calls, 30 minutes of long-distance calls per day, use of Kailua-Kona trolley, two bottles of water daily (11.2 fluid oz), Yoga Monday-Saturday mornings, cultural tours Monday through Thursday, orientation, hula lessons per calendar, lei making per calendar & 50% off one bike rental.
Wow - I got to park in the muddy grass while event peoples took paved parking - take your suitcase through that, will ya. Oh, sure, I could have paid and additional $7 for valet parking per day. Who doesn't carry a cell phone with listed numbers so phone use is no big deal. Having the car, why do the trolley?
Oh, got to listen to the bang, bang, bang of Rays on the Bay while trying to sleep, but thankfully that ended around 10:30. The swimming pool bang, bang, bang did not however - the kids and their music continued until 3:30 am followed by workers coming in a 6 am talking at the top of their lungs.
I declined to go to the spa since I noted that a 20% tip was automatically included ... now I usually tip 18-20 anyway, but common on - demanding it turned the idea into a big NO.
Just not happy paying $230 per night with 30 on top of that for common amenities, I guess. Service was okay but I declined to tip since the overall $30 "amenity fee" must cover that too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ptompk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
It is definitely disappointing to learn that your recent experience at our hotel did not fully impress you. We are truly sorry that you did not find value in services and benefits covered in the resort charge and that you found it difficult to find parking one evening during your stay. We do regret that we were not able to create a better experience for you but appreciate the time you have taken to share your comments. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The location and the hotel area is just wonderful with a great energy overall. The rooms were a little dated but functional. The pool area and the waterslides were top notch. There is no sandy beach due to the rocky shore and lava formations. A beach isn't too far away. The service overall was good and generally the staff was attentive. The breakfast buffets in the restaurant was of high quality that included a variety of fresh fruit ( local) every morning. Some of the views were spectacular depending on your room view. Plenty of activities to choose from at the hotel including a car rental service right on the premises. For the price you pay an overall good value for the Big Island and Kona.

Room Tip: Ensure that you mention when booking a room you ask for an ocean view or partial ocean view. You can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Aloha and thank you. We are very happy that you found your stay at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay to be a good value and enjoyed so many different aspects of your experience. Our 14,100 square foot multi-level system of pools with its 200-foot-long lava tube waterslide that you liked spending time at is unequaled in Hawaii and a favorite of many guests. Your kind remarks for our staff are greatly appreciated as it is always our hope to provide guests with exceptional service. We hope that we can welcome you back soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel was in a beautiful location overseeing the ocean but has no beach. However, not far from the hotel, there is a beautiful bay called Kahahuu where I did the most amazing snorkeling. Lots of beautiful fish and turtles!
The Sheraton had a great pool area and was very clean. Unfortunately we got rained on during our Luau and I was disappointed that nobody made backup plans. In a few minutes our beautiful party became a disaster. However, they were courteous enough to refund our amenities fees and I felt that it was fair.
The food was average and the breakfast was less than ideal. Depending on the time, you would or would not find a good variety of food. It seemed that the only thing that would change daily was the potatoes, so it quickly got old. Plus, they don’t serve express coffee in the restaurant. But the Kona coffee was tasty. Waiting for the omelet could be inconvenient as well. But the view of the restaurant was awesome.
I loved the daily arts market that was available. Different crafts every day. I did a good amount of shopping right there and was nice to hang out with local artists.
I would not have any reservations about staying there again.

Room Tip: Rooms viewing the lawn such as ours were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Aloha and thank you for choosing Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay for your stay on the Big Island. We love to receive feedback from our guests and to learn all about their stay. It is truly disappointing that the weather did not cooperate the evening of the luau causing it to end abruptly but we are glad that our staff satisfactorily made up for the issue. We’re delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that we can welcome you back soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel is definitely renovated and the staff is trying to be hospitable and keep the place decently clean. The hotel is by no means has a luxurious feel. The room design is mediocre, Wi-Fi was terrible and unreliable half the time. We shared the room and a nice view of the bay and the mountain with lots of tiny bugs (ants ???). Parking lot is free and only couple minutes away from the main entrance.
We would come back there if we could get the same deal (40% off)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga-n-Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Aloha. While we are happy that you found our staff to be so hospitable, we regret that we were not able to create a better experience for you. Since it is our hope to accommodate the needs of all our guests, we deeply regret any inconveniences that you may have experienced with our Internet services. Since we are in a tropical environment, occasionally pests may find their way indoors. Please be assured that we have very strict standards and protocols in place including pest control. In the unusual event we are made aware of any concern, we respond immediately and take all appropriate steps to ensure each room is ready for the next guest. Thank you for sharing your comments with us, we hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Pros - Nice sized resort, large rooms and balconies, enjoyable views - even if not ocean view. Rays on the Bay (restaurant) has great service and atmosphere. A bit out of the way of town but I enjoyed the peaceful environment.

Cons - Not the typical SPG grade service, our room was unlocked all day while we were on excursion apparently because the battery went dead in the door (I was told there is no preventative maintenance steps because of a lack of resources, so yes, this could happen to you). It took 1.5 hours and 3 trips down to the front desk and a conversation with the manager on duty to resolve.

The internet did not work the entire time we were there. We worked directly with the cable/internet carrier for about a half hour, no resolution. Each time we reported it, they gave me another access code and just said try again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letrecem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Mahalo for your review and for sharing the details of your stay. Your praise for our spacious rooms, lovely views and great dining service is all very much appreciated. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the difficulties that you experienced with the door lock and Wi-Fi. While we never like to hear that any of our guests have experienced problems, we are grateful that you have notified us of the challenges you encountered. Your review will be shared with our management team so that we may continue to improve our services for future guests. Thank you for reaching out to us and for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was my first stay at Sheraton in Kona and I must say it was great! The hotel is very open and spacious allowing for fresh air and the sound of the waves crashing against the lava rocks. I would stay here again and refer friends as well. Great staff and was an inviting atmosphere. I only ate at the hotel once (Manta Ray Bay) and the food was good. The pool is pretty big with two hot tubs to relax in and the slide is awesome. At night the outside is lit up with "tiki torches" by the pool and the paths to walk around the facility.

Pro's
View to Manta Rays at night from the Manta Ray Bay
Away from the bars and crowds
Store is located on the 2nd floor to purchase liqour, beer, snacks etc... (cost is similiar to off the resort)
Local stores and Sam Choy restaurant close by
View of Whales from pool side in the morning (March)
View to Dolphins from just in the Keauhou Bay (March)
Swim with Manta Rays at night for free if you are brave enough
Not far from Ali'i Drive
Free water bottles in rooms (you'll need them)

Con's
It's off away from bars and restaurants (Ali'i Drive)
Cosmetic apperance to some of the building needs some touchup.
Not enough staff for pool side drinks. I wasn't asked for drinks but 1 time out of the 8 nights. The bar is to far from the bigger side of the pool.
Partial view of the ocean is EXACTLY a partial view maybe even less.

Suggestions
Pool Bar or more pool staff to serve drinks this is a big money maker at other resorts I've been to.
Event parking should be monitored. Although the Sheraton setup event parking for people that were not staying at the hotel the guest parking was being used by people coming in for just the events. There needs to be someone at the entrance to guest parking asking if they are guest and what room number. Our friends staying at the Sheraton didn't have a place to park when they came back from enjoying the island.

In total the place is great and unless you are looking to be on the beach while at the hotel at all times it should suffice. The beaches are not to far from this resort and neither are the bars and restaurants. I gave it a 4 because of the pool side staff and cosmetics to the building.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view make sure it's directly in front of the ocean not a partial. Partial i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndySrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review, recommendation and suggestions for Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. We are thrilled that your first stay at our resort was so great and that you found the hotel’s atmosphere and staff to be so inviting. We care deeply about every guest’s feedback and appreciate that you have taken the time to provide us with your valuable perspective about everything you liked, areas you felt need some attention and your ideas for how we can improve. We will share your thoughts with our management team. The next time you are visiting the area we hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
6.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
31.7 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
5.3 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,857 reviews
28.0 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Property: Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2525 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing