We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above Average for a Sheraton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Above Average for a Sheraton”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Sheraton Kona Resort is a higher end Sheraton resort located in a beautiful setting with great views and fabulous landscaping and gardens. Our oceanfront room was state of the art with a very large balcony ( we even thought of sleeping out there one night but of course we didn't). Great dinner at Rays on the Bay which also had magnificent views of the ocean and manta rays feeding area. The hotel lay-out requires a lot of walking but it's good exercise. The fitness center overlooks the ocean so a treadmill workout is so pleasurable. Our only downside were tiny little ants that were quite pesky and somehow infiltrated my handbag and some other items. You cannot leave one teeny morsel of food out anywhere. We would definitely go back to this resort which was beautiful and relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Mahalo for your review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. Our hotel is on the sun-kissed leeward coast of the island and offers everyone spectacular views of the ocean, lush tropical gardens and a front row seat to the most amazing sunsets. We are thrilled you enjoyed the accommodations, property, service and amenities here and we look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    895
    482
    217
    123
See reviews for
666
1,269
88
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (833)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have mixed feelings about my stay at the Sheraton Keauhou. First the good points - the location IS beautiful. The hotel is perched over the water on the point, there is no beach but on calmer days you can enter the water further in the bay and snorkel (which is very good) along the shoreline. The pool is gorgeous. A twisty, windy pool with a slide and a kids sand bottom area. Rays on the Bay is a very nice restaurant, with great staff and good food and a nice place for a sunset cocktail UNLESS the weather is bad. The restaurant and bar is fairly open to elements and on our first night there was a decent storm with half the bar and restaurant having to be closed due to the weather, with the remainder of the bar flooded! The whole hotel lacks decent design. We stayed in an ocean view room which had a beautiful view of the bay, but the lanai had really high concrete front and sides so to see the view you have to stand up and peer over. After the first nights rain it also failed to drain as the drainage hole is the highest part of the floor, and no one bothered to clean it out for us so the remaining time it was a mini swamp. The interior of the hotel has been refurbished, and is nice but the outside of the hotel has that distinctly 80s feel about it (reminding me of my university residence) although I suppose there is not much that can be done about without a major overhaul. The staff are fine, but can be a little aloof compared to other places in Hawaii. The location of the hotel is beautiful, but unless you plan on eating here a lot you will need a car. If you are looking for a hotel close to shops, nightlife and restaurants this is NOT it. 
My major gripe with this place is the resort fee. I don't understand how or why this is legal. It is a compulsory fee and should be in the listed price, not something tacked on and paid later. 
Overall I enjoyed the stay but didn't feel any of aloha welcome we received elsewhere in Hawaii, I felt this was not just from some staff but from this hotel chain in general who seem to be most interested in their profit and not guests enjoyment. The whole place felt very cheap but with a fairly high price tag. Just little things like disposable cups in the rooms instead of glass and mugs and the lack of hot water the entire time we were there. This may not seem important in a warm climate, until you get back from a two tank manta dive in freezing water! 
If I went back to the Big Island I would probably not stay here again unless I got a great, cheap deal. 

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Depressedmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hearing from our guests, positive or otherwise, gives us the ability to continuously improve the experience for future guests and for that we are grateful. We would like to thank you for your review and for sharing your feedback with us. The resort charge you mentioned provides our guests a generous array of amenities and services for one nominal all-inclusive fee. Information regarding this charge and all the benefits included can be found on our website. Please know that our associates are always available to all our guests should they have any questions or concerns. The next time you are visiting the area, we hope you will give us another try as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked a room at the Sheraton at the last minute after discovering that our previous accommodations were not up to par. It’s very large and very generic. Everything about it was adequate – it was clean and comfortable, with an unexpectedly lively bar and a really big pool. The service is what you would expect from a hotel at this price.

Although we were completely satisfied with our unexpected stay here, I would not make the Sheraton the centerpiece of a vacation to the Big Island. First, it’s not on the beach. Second, it’s too far to walk to downtown Kailua. I would not choose to stay in the Kailua area, but if I did, I would prefer to be within walking distance of the restaurants and bars. Third, it’s too generic – you might as well be in one of the massive Disneyworld hotels. And fourth, it’s not in a convenient spot for exploring the Big Island. The Sheraton is at least an hour from the Kohala Coast and even longer from Waimea, Waipo Valley, etc. And it’s something like 2.5 hours from the volcanoes, which is about as long as it gets.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonDCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Aloha. Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions about your recent stay with us. We are glad that you were completely satisfied with your experience and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed 8 nights the last week of February 2013. Ocean front room. Clean and peaceful. Relaxing surf just off the balcony. We were able to watch whales and dolphins from our lanai.The pools were great. Our package included daily breakfast, which was very good. Ate at the restaurant/bar several times - it was very good, also. All the staff was friendly and helpful. The only negatives were (1) no beach - not the hotel's fault, nothing but lava cliffs in the area; (2) small amount of unfinished construction.

There are plenty of things to do nearby and in Kona: kayak, paddle board, boat tours, whale watching, shops, lost of restaurants. I'm a runner and I had a great run every morning 6-13 miles. It is quite a distance to the volcano. We drove down one day, but if we were to go to the Big Island again, I think I'd stay a day or two in the Volcano lodge and explore in more detail.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Mahalo for choosing Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay for your recent stay on the Big Island. It’s so exciting that you were able to look out from your lanai and watch as the dolphins and whales swam about in the water. We thrilled you enjoyed your room and the amenities at our resort and hope that you will return soon for another relaxing stay in paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I and our two kids stayed here in February and found the resort the perfect place to relax. We were greeted warmly on arrival and found the staff very friendly and helpful. We stayed in an oceanfront room overlooking the pool. It had two comfortable double beds, had ample room for the four of us and was very clean. The pool area was never too busy and the kids loved the slide. We hired a car so we ate out most of the time but did go to Ray's one night and enjoyed a very good meal. This resort has no beach frontage but we were not bothered by that and drove to a beach 5 minutes away to snorkel. The grounds are beautiful and the kids enjoyed swinging in the hammock. The only con was that there was always a wait on a table for breakfast, at least 10 minutes. They clearly need a bigger room however that would not deter us from returning. Overall a fantastic stay, wonderful staff and a beautiful resort. It was our first time in Hawaii and we would definitely stay at this resort again!

Room Tip: Ocean front room overlooking the pool had an amazing sunset, if possible ask for the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geri_M_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We could not be more pleased to hear that your first trip to Hawaii and your stay at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay was such a great experience. We are committed to providing all of our guests with incomparable service, comfort and many wonderful memories. Thank you for sharing with us how much fun your kids had swinging in the hammock and playing at the pool, we hope you will come back and visit us again soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

What I liked:

Nice, private location. Priced very reasonably. Nice pools, good restaurants and service.

Didn't like:

Bathrooms are outdated, rooms are simple and clean, but considering the price they are good enough. They only give two bath towels per day so ask for more if you want extra.

Location is at the end and the hotel is kind of alone with not much to do around. You have to drive about ten minutes to get to all the restaurants and shops.

Although I liked the hotel, next time I would prefer to stay around

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckyli15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Aloha. We care deeply about every guest’s feedback and appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay. While we are certainly glad to know you enjoyed our location, the amenities and the service provided by our associates, it is regrettable that there were certain aspects of your stay that were not as you had anticipated. We do hope that you visit us again in the future as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Sheraton sits in a lovely , quiet bay!! Perfect ocean setting!! Rays at night has delightful music and scrumtious pupus. Entrance to Hotel is a bit of a challenge as you drive up to Lobby and then if you have a rental car you go down the ramp and have to find a parking place. Long flight of stairs to get back into hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our location so much and dining at Rays on the Bay. We are however sorry to hear that you found parking to be a challenge and truly hope that it did not impact your overall stay. Please visit us again soon as we would love to welcome you back to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
6.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
31.7 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
32.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,821 reviews
28.0 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
25.8 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Property: Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2525 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing