We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough, older hotel, great views, excellent restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor
377 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Nice enough, older hotel, great views, excellent restaurant”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Hotel is far from new, but I believe it's been remodeled fairly recently and, aside from the architecture, did not have an old feel. We arrived in late afternoon,and stayed just one night, before flying out of Kona, so the lack of a good sand beach didn't bother us. The views were very nice, especially when we saw two Manta Rays from, appropriately enough, the outdoor lounge sseats at Ray's restaurant in the evening (plenty of lights from the hotel, and from divers and kayakers looking for rays). The room was fine. Nothing special. Had problems with WiFi, but with the help of the Internet service tech I was told to call, I reconnected the modem. Largely outdoor corridors, both for the rooms and at the lobby levels (note the lobby and restaurants and bars and shops occupy more than one level, and knowing what button to push on the elevator can be tough). Ray's was not inexpensive, but the food, especially grilled fish, was very good.

You do really need a car to get anyplace outisde of the hotel. If you don't have a car, and/or want easy access to good sand beaches, you may want to stay "in town." We got a good deal on an ocean view (not ocean front; actual sea was a ways from our room) through the American Airines Web site, but did not feel we were slighted at all for not booking directly through Sheraton.

Room Tip: Get at least an ocean view room if you can. But don't expect to be right over the ocean. Note t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Aloha! We’re so glad you had the opportunity to spend the night at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay before leaving Kona and only wish you could have stayed a little longer. Rays on the Bay offers endless ocean views, local Kona flavors and is the perfect place to see the giant manta rays in the evening; we are happy your enjoyed you're dining experience. We would like to let you know that as an alternative to renting a car, our hotel does offer complimentary use of the Keauhou Resort Trolley which provides transportation to Magic Sands Beach Park, Kailua Pier, Kona Commons Shopping Center and numerous spots in between. Thank you for your review; we hope that we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    895
    482
    217
    123
See reviews for
666
1,269
88
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (833)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This hotel is on a beautiful lava peninsula with crystal clear water. There is not a safe place to swim in the ocean from the hotel property but it is close to some nice beaches. We enjoyed a very nice pool & hot tub but learned that the towels are located at the reception desk (on a different level from the pool, opposite end of the hotel). Then the receptionist said she charged a $25 fee to our room for EACH towel and the fee would only be returned if the towels were returned back to the reception desk. It was a crazy arrangement that made us walk wet back through the lobby and then back to our room without towels! I was also charged a mandatory internet fee of $15 per night. It did not matter that I did not want internet access.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank troy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Mahalo for taking the time to share your review. We are happy that while staying with us you enjoyed our multi–level system of pools complete with its two whirlpool spas and 200-foot-long lava tube waterslide. It is however regrettable that you were not happy with system that is in place for the use of the towels at the pool; we will share your concerns with our management team. At our hotel we do have a resort fee which covers many services and benefits to enhance the guests’ experience. This charge is outlined on our website and covers in room Wi-Fi as well as many other items such as our complimentary tours, classes and use of the Keauhou Resort Trolley. Thank you for sharing your valuable perspective with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

stayed here for 5 nights in early February
We got a good deal on this through AA vacations. For the price we paid, it was good. Its an older hotel, but grounds are nice. No beach, but the black lava shoreline is lovely. Location is quiet and I liked being out of town, but only with a car. Wouldn't stay here if I was depending on a shuttle for transport.
The good:
-great views from the grounds
-did the yoga class one morning which was a nice amenity
-exercise room is good
-large rooms
-beds very comfortable
-nice pool though too cool for me in february
-woman who worked at the coffee bar in the morning was cheerful and friendly every day!

The not-so-good:
-wireless internet. Couldn't log on the first 2 days in our room. They came to "reset" the router and we could get on after that, but would disconnect every 10 minutes or so. I was unable to do work for my job on the computer. Luckily the business area had a separate wifi connection I could go down and use, but would have preferred to be able to work in the room. If you are going to charge a $30 resort fee, wifi should function!! Also annoying because for some reason my Iphone had almost no signal in our room (but was fine elsewhere at the resort). they did waive our resort fee.
-suspect "ocean view". We paid extra for ocean view and got one of the parking lot view (with distant view of the bay) rooms. I realize this is technically an "ocean view", but they should be up front when you are booking - I would not want to pay extra for this view. After my husband complained they moved us on day 2 to an ocean view (over the pool and overlooking the waterslide) .
-very loud toilet flushing
-like someone else mentioned, they had replaced the shower head with a removable one that had no way of pointing straight out/down - had to be turned at an angle.

I probably would not stay here again, I definitely prefer a beach and need better wifi!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missmadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Aloha. Since it is our hope to accommodate the needs of all of our guests, we deeply regret any inconveniences that you may have experienced with our Internet services. We would like to offer our apologies for the Wi-Fi connection as well as those other aspects of your stay which did not live up to your expectations. We value all feedback positive or otherwise and will use this opportunity to strengthen our commitment to providing the best in service to all guests. Thank you for mentioning the things you liked about your visit as well, we hope that we can welcome you back again for a stay that exceeds all your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Let me start off by saying the housekeeping staff were great as were the folks who work at Rays on the Bay, also Kudos to front desk guy by the name of John, was was great..-however the people checking in, and checking out were just plain rude--- no courtest, no smile, no welcome--seems like a factory where they just want people in and out. Check out was worse, the gentleman at the desk (japanese decent) was extremely rude, no thanks for staying, no nothing... Also the big hawaiian guy at the valet service was an absolute jerk-- when i checked in and my room was not ready, asking him where to put my baggage, and tag them for me, he was not happy at all, and VERY rude.

Other than the poor staff mentioned above--this hotel is absolutely beatiful- The grounds are amazing, the bed is super comfortable, great showers, and nice sized rooms. Only downside on the building itself is the elevators are extremely slow, so we used stairs, even with baggage--- and the building itself is showing its age in certain areas...long walk from self park to lobby/grouns, but thats OK as you get to see the beautiful plants/flowers/mountain/ocean..everything!!

Only staff kept me from rating this a 5+

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SP0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
At Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay we care deeply about every guest’s feedback and appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay. While we are certainly delighted to learn that you enjoyed our property, your accommodations and several members of the staff, it is regrettable that your entire stay was not as positive. We truly regret your check in experience as your details of your encounter does not reflect the high standards of customer service that we set and we will share your comments with our management team. The next time you are visiting the area we hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I wasn't sure with all the different reviews what the hotel was going to be like. When we got there I noticed how nice the grounds were. The people at the front desk very nice! When we got to our room the view was wonderful looking at the ocean in the bay area. The pool was very nice! The only thing would have be nice if there was more restaurants to choose from. We had a wonderful stay at the Sheraton.
We have been to Kona before and we stayed at the Fairmont and we enjoyed that area of Kona a bit better as there was more restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spanky11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing such a positive review of your experience at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. It brings us a great deal of pleasure to learn how much you enjoyed our hotel grounds, our staff and the views from your room. We hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon for another wonderful stay! Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel is very nice overall, but has a few minor issues. The bathroom needs to be upgraded especially the industrial-style toilets. The open concept hallways create some noise issues from slamming doors. They either need to address the way the door closes, as it pretty much slams on its own, or better soundproofing. Our room had a connecting door and we could hear voices from the next room.

On the plus side, the location is away from town so the area is quiet and less touristy, but not as close to shopping or beach if that's what you're into. Keauhou Bay is just a short walk around the corner where you can go on a snorkel charter or rent kayaks. There is a weekly market, on Wednesday I think, with food and souvenir venders right in front of the property.

You probably need a rental car here, but there is a convenient shuttle to town if you opt to go car-free. We used the free self-parking lot which is a bit of a hike, especially when you have to park at the very end. They have valet but we thought we would benefit from the daily exercise.

The rooms are very spacious with nice beds and linens. The staff are very friendly and helpful, especially housekeeping. The views from the lobby are stunning. Our room was not ocean view, but I am sure if you get one it would be fabulous. We did not dine in the restaurants or make use of the recreational amenities but they appeared to be very nice. We didn't really stay here for the "resort experience". We liked the location and the value. To get anything close to this nice you have to go to the Kohala Coast and pay a lot more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queen_0f_Hearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Aloha. Each and every guest is very special to us at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that you found your accommodations to be so comfortable and spacious. It is however disappointing to learn that sounds originating from outside your guestroom were a disruption and we ask that you accept our most sincere apologies. We appreciate all your comments and hope that we can welcome you back again soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I joined my husband here when he came on a conference. I didn't really know what to expect but it worked out perfectly. Although it is located about 1/2 hour from Kailua, there is a free (to Sheraton guests) trolley that goes into town on a 2 hour rotation. It takes you past the Keauhou shopping center and the wonderful Kahalu'u beach which has great snorkelling. We had an ocean view room which was very comfortable with a large balcony. I particularly like their green option to not have the sheets and towels changed every day. If you choose it you get a $5 coupon for food or drink. The complimentary breakfast was a hot and cold buffet with lots of choice especially fresh pineapple and papaya. The pool has a wonderful water slide and bar nearby. It was great to be able to get towels there that we could take to the snorkel beach. The fitness center had state of the art equipment. I could watch TV right on the treadmill. They even provide earphones, water and towels. The Rays on the Bay restaurant is situated perfectly, under cover but open air. It's a great place to watch the sunset and have a drink. You make reservations for the full menu service (make sure you do that early in the day) or just find one of the bar seats for a reduced menu. They also have live music every night. We found the staff very friendly and helpful and regardless of their job we got a smile and 'aloha'.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Aloha. Our staff always desires to create an extraordinary experience filled with many wonderful memories for all our guests at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. We were so happy to learn how much you enjoyed the comfort of your accommodations, dining at Rays on the Bay and the many amenities we offer. Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
6.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
31.7 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
32.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,819 reviews
28.0 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
25.8 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Property: Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2525 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing