We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Kona”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 24, 2013

WE chose Sheraton Kona Resort for the second stay in the area. Our first stay was in the main town area. We wanted a quieter space and really found in the Sheraton. It had just finished a huge remodel. Our room overlooked the wandering pool area and the ocean. Our evenings were spent at Ray's on the Beach where one could view Manta rays when the waves were not crashing. My two highglights were the wine happy hour where one could sit and view the ocean scene in the nearby inlet, and the tours set up to learn about Hawaiian history. The tours, lei making , and hula lessons were included in the resort fee and made the stay really fun. The staff includes natives of the area who lovingly describe the area where the hotel is located, the Hawaiian Cival war and burial grounds. There is a great optionable Hawaiian canoe ride included for a minimal cost. The captain was superb and visits with the whales exciting. The Wed. night entertainment at Rays is outstanding, Luau on Mondays and the afternnon market with native food and art objects are also nice additions to the stay. Free trolley ride to mall where a fantastic resturant situtated above it really help get you to more qaulity experiences.

Room Tip: Get ocean view- even the first floor is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmarsh70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing the highlights of your stay; it brings a smile to our faces to learn that you had such a positive and relaxing experience at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. We are also delighted that you enjoyed the magnificent views while tasting wine during Sheraton Social Hour, the complimentary historical and cultural tours about the birthplace and playgrounds of Hawaii’s greatest King, and the many classes and amenities offered at our resort. We hope that we can welcome you back again soon. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,699)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,227 - 2,233 of 2,699 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

We originally were booked at the Marriott and cancelled as I ended up getting a much, much better rate at the Sheraton. I was a little hesitant after doing so as there were some negative reviews and the forumns I was involved in.
We just got back and for the price and location...............I would not have changed a thing. Is it perfect and did it have a few issues, yes but nothing out of the oridinary.
We received a room on the 7th floor and had a partial ocean view and beutiful mountain view with all the lights in the evening. Great little balcony also.
We self parked - some people have complained that this was an issue because of the long walk ???Really - we did not find it an issue or definately not an issue that it would make us stay somewhere else.
Upon arrival we received our room immediately and our luggage and groceries :) were brought up within minutes. As soon we landed and got our rental car we stopped at Walmart which is right along the way by just taking a left on Henry Road. We picked up beer, wine, yogurt, granola bars, water and bananas which kept our little fridge stocked for the duration, of course we had to hit Walmart again for more beer and wine :)
We ate at Rays on the Bay twice during our stay and really enjoyed the views and food - no complaints whatsoever.
We also ate the Vista Restaurant for breakfast at the Kona Country Club which is literally right behind the hotel and the Shopping Center just down the road that you pass along the way to the hotel has several excellent restaurants that I will be reviewing. We went into Kona one night and ate the Kona Brewing Company and bought some merchandise. We had Pizza here and I can honestly say it was in the Top 5 pizzas I have ever had. It was very good.
We also find a public beach south off of highway #11 - You turn off and go down a winding winding road as you feel like you are the only ones that know about this place........It is about 45 minutes away I think but we spend the entire day there.........it felt so tropical with a great sand beach and excellent snorkelling.....If we would have had the time we would have went back for sure.
The hotel rooms are clean with a flat screen t.v. etc., As other posters have said it is too bad that they did not renovate the bathroom - It is outdated - this is the only issue we really had as our shower and sink did not drain properly but I was compensated at check out.
We drove to the Kohala coast area and found it extremely windy and when staying at those resorts it seemed you were captive right in that area, whereas in the Kona area and Sheraton there was so much around etc.,
There is a little pier right beside the Sheraton that also has a sandy public beach....we bunkered down there also for a couple of days with some cold beers and enjoyed the day instead of sitting at the Sheraton pool and paying $10 bucks a drink. This was much more relaxing as we just layed our beach towels down and relaxed. They also had public washrooms there which was good.
All in all an excellent vacation with an excellent price attached. Would not hesitate to go back - It's not the 4 Seasons but it is not the Super 8. Just a nice average hotel in a great area with lots of reasonable restaurant options and great golf course.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank okop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Providing our guests with excellent service, comfortable accommodations and great amenities are all important to us. We are committed to ensuring that our guests’ time at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay is memorable. Thank you very much for your many kind words and for sharing with everyone some wonderful information about some of the places they can visit in the local area. Please visit us again soon. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton Keauhou Bay for 9 nights in Jan-Feb 2013. I should mention this was our 4th year in a row there and we love it so much it’s time I gave it a review. I’m mostly going to talk about what seems like many others don’t know about or forget to mention.Yes the biggest strike it seems would be that it’s not sitting on a beach. However we think that’s what helps make this such a beautiful location, and there are plenty other things to do. Besides we like to visit different beaches, so we drive to them anyway. I love the pool there and it’s great to jump in or head down the water slide to cool off.

The hotel grounds and surrounding area is simply beautiful being that it’s built on exposed lava. It offers spectacular views around the bay, down the sea cliff shore line, and over the ocean. The black lava adds a nice contrast to the white resort and lush tropical trees and plants. After our 4th time we still walk around the grounds and through the garden paths to take pictures.

Besides the recent renovation which made many improvements, another thing that was nice to see this time around was the Sheraton offering cultural tours of the area, as well as promoting activities to do in the new Flying Fish sports activity store. I took one of the free cultural tours and learned a lot, it’s quite a historic place. We also do many activities such as rent Kayaks and Stand-Up Paddle Boards in Keauhou Bay. What's nice is it’s only a 5 minute walk so we can leave everything in the hotel room and not worry about it getting stolen while we are out on the water. We have done many chartered snorkel excursions from the Bay’s tour operators which again is an easy walk.

Another thing I will add is if you love the sound of the ocean crashing on the rocks as you relax on the lanai or lay in bed at night, then an ocean front room here absolutely can’t be beat, especially in either wing around the cove. We leave the lanai doors open all night and even enjoy being woken up by the thunder of the big swells. It’s music to our ears.

The one thing that we were still disappointed in is that there has never been a microwave in any of our rooms. It would be nice to reheat leftovers, make popcorn etc.
Also it appears they didn’t renovate the bathroom except for a new shower head, and the bathroom does look dated, but it was clean. As you see not much to complain about.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Uncoiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Aloha and thank you for sharing such a lovely and complete review of your experience at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. It is always wonderful to welcome back a familiar face and we thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us. At our resort we love to honor the culture, the history, and the people of Hawaii by sharing stories of the land with the complimentary cultural tours we offer. We are glad you enjoyed the expeditions as well as the many upgrades that have come about with our recent renovations. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed here with my wife the week of Feb 14th. Our room had a very bright light on our thermostat and it made it very hard to sleep. This is not something I would have an issue with most of the time but in this case it was so bad we couldn't avoid it. The hotel didn't care much about this and didn't give us a new room. Also, they charge your $30 per day extra for internet, parking and some other stuff that I wasn't sure about. The internet didn't work half the time and the parking was far. Not sure how they justify this fee. The hotel is also a bit outdated and in parts rundown. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Mahalo for sharing your impressions with us of your recent stay. Since it is our hope to accommodate the needs of all of our guests, we deeply regret any inconveniences that you may have experienced with our Internet services as well as the lighting in your room. The resort charge you mentioned covers a wide variety of amenities and services to enhance our guest’s experience. A few of the items included in the fee are unlimited complimentary use of Keauhou to Kona Trolley, two bottles of water daily, multiple cultural tours, and various classes. We are so sorry that we did not meet your expectations and hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future to impress you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Although we only stayed at this hotel one night since we changed travel plans and our hotel was not available, everything was fine. The service overall was not five-star, however, the hotel room was recently renovated and was clean and big enough. The pool is large. The fitness center had the required bells & whistles. Had I been staying here the entire time I would have been dissapointed that there was no beach at the hotel. However, given the price of our room everything was great!
Rays on the Bay was a highlight.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review. We are delighted that we could provide you with the comfortable accommodations complete with an array of amenities that made your stay enjoyable. Please visit us again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Impressive hotel, the lobby is really amazing to be welcomed in. Lei was given upon arrival.
Room are big, and clean, nice view from the room.

The pool was just huge, I can imagine that couples with kids can really enjoy themselves here.

The restaurant Rays on the bay has great food, and while dining, you often see a ray swimming by.
Parking is right at the hotel, no extra fee was charged, another plus point.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inge_Steffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

It is always wonderful to learn when a guest enjoys their visit. Thank you so much for sharing you impressions with us of your time at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. We were happy to learn how much you liked the views, our multi-level system of pools, dining at Rays on the Bay and watching the manta rays off shore at night. We hope that you will return soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed at the Sheraton Kona from January 29 - February 2, 2013. Encountered nothing but professional, friendly and welcoming staff members the entire stay. The room we booked was a mountain view, 5th floor. The room was spacious, clean and exactly what we needed. The pools were clean and well maintained. The pool slide was fun! No beach access from the resort. The spa on site was also very clean and professional. Prices were comparable to those here in NJ. Rays on the Bay is the onsite restaurant. There is a bar food menu which is a smaller limited version of the full menu for table service, which they recommend reservations for. We found the smaller bar menu was fine for our needs and we agree that Juliet should get the outstanding bartender award!
I am already trying to figure out how to get my family members that refuse to fly to return with me!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyJerseyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

We are thrilled that your stay at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay was enjoyable and that your accommodations were exactly what you needed. Thank you for your kind acknowledgement of our bar staff at Rays on the Bay, we will be sure to share your comments with everyone so that they are aware of the impact their service had on your visit. We hope that you will be able to convince your family members to fly with you when you return as it would be our pleasure to welcome everyone! Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
6.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,959 reviews
25.9 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
28 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2525 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $222 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing