We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just amazing!!!! Great hotel to relax!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Just amazing!!!! Great hotel to relax!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed in a standard room with a mountain view..... the room was huge and very inviting.

This hotel is amazing its in the middle of nowhere which is what i was looking for.

I only stayed here for 1 night and only used the pool facilities, i also walked around the gardens which were wonderful.
Also they have a night view of the mantras at the hotel which is amazing........


If you are going to stay in Kona this is an amazing hotel.

I paid £70 room only which is great for this 4 ***** hotel.

The nearest town is around 10 minute drive away

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Mahalo for your review of the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. We are very glad that you enjoyed you overnight stay with us and that you had the opportunity to spend some time at the pool and strolling the hotel grounds. We greatly appreciate your compliments and hope that we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    878
    479
    216
    121
See reviews for
654
1,250
87
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (829)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this resort for three nights during the Winter Holiday and we enjoyed the hotel amenitied, the grounds, the beauiful views, the pool, and our room. We would have given the overall stay an "excellent" rating had it not been for our very unwelcoming experience upon arrival. The parking attendant (I would not call him a valet because he definitely had no public service/relations training or if he did, he either did not learn much or her chose not to apply any of it in our encounter) was extremely rude and disrespectful in his interactions with my husband and for no discernible reason, other than that we were not going to utilize the "valet service" that was an additional cost above the typical resort rate, which included self-parking. We have plenty of money to pay for valet service, but we just didn't see the need to do so when the self-parking was adjacent to the hotel and we are able-bodied adults who can magage our own luggage. This encounter was not a good way to make a first impression! Fortunately, all of our interactions with the staff at the hotel were quite the opposite. Everyone else was very freindly and helpful, truly giving us an "Aloha" welcome.

Room Tip: Upgrade to ocean front or ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waterm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Aloha. While we are sincerely grateful that you have shared your appreciation for our amenities, grounds, accommodations and hotel staff; we are truly sorry that your interaction with the valet was not equally as impressive. We never like to read that one of our guests has experienced anything less than exceptional service; however, we are always grateful for the feedback so that we may address the issues with our managers and supervisors. The next time you are visiting the area we hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

What a lovely hotel. The setting is beautiful. The pool is great for all ages. Ray's on the Bay is a perfect Hawaiian experience with waves crashing on the rugged lava, ocean views everywhere, delicious food, very nice service and reasonable prices. All employees were friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky-Seibert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Aloha and thank you for sharing such a lovely review for Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. The natural atmosphere and location of Rays on the Bay offer endless ocean views, local Kona flavors infused with fresh produce and a perfect view to Keauhou’s resident giant manta rays every evening. We’re delighted you enjoyed your time with us so much and hope that you will return soon for another visit. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Once you find it (not so much signage on the main road as I expected), the lovely drive and grand entrance makes a good first impression. Very professional, and though not the newest of all possible hotels, I saw nothing that wasn't in tip-top shape.

This hotel is huge (no doubt to accommodate the conventions held in their convention center). That means that it's quite a long way to parking (and valet parking is incrementally not a very big fee; we should have tested that).

The room was quite large and included a refrigerator for our drinks and in-room coffee (10% Kona!). The bathroom was nice with a separated shower/toilet (although the toilet was far more industrial than I expected).

The hotel also has a LOT of amenities that I thought were realllly nice: gorgeous bar over the lava that is the ocean shore there, wonderful lawns and gardens (all the better for their weddings), wedding chapel, game room, workout room, two pools (one huge, one large), a slide for the pools, tennis courts, volleyball court, basketball court, and walking trails through other gardens.

The amenity we did exploit was the breakfast buffet (included in our 'deal' for the room). Breakfast was fabulous! Scrambled eggs or made-to-order omelet, bacon, sausage, pancakes or french toast (depending on the day), breakfast potatoes, three fruit juices, a variety of breads/bagels including delicious banana (nut?) bread, four different diced melons (cantaloupe, honeydew, pineapple, and watermelon), cereal, milk, and all the accompaniments (including coconut syrup).

We had but a few interactions with the staff; all were professional and met expectations. The hotel seems to be very competently managed.

This was far more hotel than we actually needed. It is a wonderful experience but for me, I'd do it differently next time unless I was on a honeymoon or had some other reason to enjoy the hotel (vs. travel around the island to see volcanoes). Be sure to buy the hotel you wish to use in order to get the best value!

Room Tip: LOTS of choices for room types: read carefully, check the price, and get the one you think you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Mahalo for your lovely review of the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. It was such a treat to read your review and learn of your appreciation for our staff, guest rooms and our amenities including the 100% Kona coffee. We’re delighted that you enjoyed the buffet breakfast at Ainakai with its selection of chilled Island juices, fresh Pacific Rim fruits and made-to-order specialty omelets. We hope that the next time you are visiting the area you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I was disappointed. Previous reviewers mentioned renovations and i'm probably mostly disappointed due to the quality of the room and service. Maybe the part i was in hadn't been worked on yet?

The grounds and outside area of the resort are well designed and just lovely. But the rooms! I was in a standard (not ocean view) room on the 7th floor. You walk down a long, industrial corridor and the room could have been anywhere in the world. It had no life, was quite dated and the room design didn't sit well with me. The shower and toilet are behind a door but the sink is in the actual room. The shower room was small and i found it a bit cramped.

The service wasn't particularly anything to talk about it. Perfunctory nothing more. I was really looking forward to my stay after travelling cheaply around the island and it just wasn't worth the hefty price i paid directly on the Sheraton website (if it was $90 a night as one reviewer said they paid, it wouldn't have mattered so much!) - on top of which there is a $30 resort charge per night. I feel ripped off and it put a damper on my last two days on the island.

I also noticed a couple of errors in the information brochure in the room - so double check if it might affect your plans eg the room information states the pool closes at sunset. The sign beside the pool states it's actually 8pm. Not a biggie but i didn't go to the pool after exploring all day thinking it was closed...!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jezenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
It’s disappointing that although you’ve shared an appreciation for the landscaping surrounding our resort, we were not able to fully impress you during your stay. The resort charge you mentioned is one nominal all-inclusive fee designed to elevate every guest’s experience with a wide variety of amenities and services. We are sorry that you did not find this to be a great value. We would also like to apologize for the discrepancy in the time for the pool closing and missing out one evening on spending time poolside. Your feedback is welcomed and we appreciate the time taken to share your experience with us. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were staying close to the Sheraton in a condo, but visited their restaurant one evening during our vacation for a nice dinner. The atmospher, the food, the service were all terrific! We really enjoyed the entire experience. Although I cannot remember our servers name, she was friendly, efficient and had great knowledge of the dishes.
We enjoyed the small band playing live music in the lounge area and even took a peek at the manta rays.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamadaGMgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Aloha! We’re delighted that while staying close to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay you had the opportunity to dine with us. Your compliments for our cuisine, service and ambience are all greatly appreciated, thank you. We hope that we can welcome you back for another great dinner and maybe an overnight stay. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Very Frendly Staff wonderful Time Excellent Location (Nice and Quiet) Very Enjoyable stay We would Stay here again. The Hotel seems to have had a recent renovation and evrey thing is very nice. Seeing The Manta Ray was Very Cool

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Mahalo for sharing such a glowing review for Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time and that you liked the results of our recent renovations. We hope that you will return soon for another stay as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
6.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
31.7 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.8 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
28.0 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
5.3 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Property: Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2525 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing