We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Friendly Cockroaches I Have Ever Met!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kelowna, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Most Friendly Cockroaches I Have Ever Met!”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

If you are going to Hawaii, you should know there are cockroaches...lots of cockroaches. We found a few in the hotel, usually hiding under towels. My wife was 3 months preganant and we were making a video diary of the trip and moved a towel on the deck and there was a huge one that suprised us, then there was a friendly one on the counter in the bathroom later. The grounds are amazing, so beautiful. We went for walks on the grounds and took lots of photos of our then 2 year old daughter. The pool was cold and there wasn't a beach, but it is a beautiful stunning hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dadstrength
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Aloha. We are glad that you enjoyed the beauty of our 22-acre oceanfront resort while staying with us on your trip to the Big Island. Despite our best efforts there are times in which pests may appear due to our tropical environment. If at any time a guest reports such an instance, we respond appropriately to minimize any additional sightings. Thank you for your review and your understanding. We hope that we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    913
    497
    231
    129
See reviews for
698
1,299
90
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (854)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Easy drive from Kona airport, nice setting on the sea, big rooms, friendly and good housekeeping services. Great gym with stunning views. The laundry machines are a nice feature.

There's a ridiculous resort fee that is charged to include things like wifi and 'free self-parking', which just doesn't seem necessary. There's also a charge for towels if you return them late, which we didn't, but we got charged anyway and then it was caught and removed by the very friendly and helpful reception staff. Clearly not the first time it's happened.

The major drawback was the catering side...the restaurant can't accommodate a busy period, and room service is woefully understaffed. In the large restaurant there is lots of dead space where there could be more tables...but guests have to compete for the few open bar stool tables near the bar if they haven't booked one of the very few available spots. On top, these bar tables will only serve a limited menu of burgers, pizza, etc, even though they're 10 feet from the limited main menu tables. We struggled to get attention from staff...told by one 'I'm not your server' (rather than hello and welcome) and another 'You can't have anything from that menu (the one we were holding after getting it from the bar), but I don't know why', that sort of thing. They were clearly rushed during the holiday period.

Room service wasn't any better. We were told there was just one person working to deliver all the meals so it takes time...one person? Our food arrived cold and really wanting. Fortunately we did get one main comped that was a wreck. On this front, the Sheraton could really do better to make dining less of a competition and hassle.

There's a supermarket up the road which turned out to be a very useful resource.

There is a large pool area, but the design is totally in favor of families. One one end is a children's pool, on the other is a large slide, and in the middle is a connection to another internal pool with a slide. With the curved design throughout there's not really space for swimming for exercise...you'd run into a tree, rock, or person pretty fast. The entire area was busy and fairly noisy morning to sunset.

Overall, this is a great place to stay if you want to be on the sunnier side of the island while doing a visit to Volcanoes (around 2 hours away). Be aware it's super family oriented.

Room Tip: Ask on arrival about availability for ocean front...we upgraded and had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
It’s disappointing that although you have expressed an appreciation for our location, rooms, gym and housekeeping services there were still several areas with which you were less excited about. The resort fee you mentioned provides for our guests a generous array of amenities and services such as Zumba, yoga and aqua yoga classes; complimentary guided cultural and historical tours; and unlimited complimentary use of Keauhou to Kona Trolley. We are truly sorry that you found dining in the hotel to be a bit of a challenge and we apologize if any member of the wait staff was not helpful to you; we will share your feedback with our restaurant management team. The next time you are visiting the island, we hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The location was excellent- a quiet secluded bay where you can watch manta rays at night. Food was expensive and not that great- go to the near by mall for Foodland and stock up on items. If you really want to save money on food there is a local place at the mall called L and L. you can get breakfast items or pretty much anything for super super cheap! lots of locals go there. There is a mini fridge in room. Pool was large and fun. Great place for kids or couples. Rooms large - most likely because hotel is old but still in good shape. Staff was just "ok" and a bit snobby but no real complaints there. There is laundry in the hotel (1.50 a load) which is super handy! There is no beach but gorgeous views with lava rock and swells. If you dont want the crowds of kona then i would stay at this place. views and location were amazing! we had a garden view which we liked. ask clerk to show you a map of hotel where your room is located before you get your room key. we switched rooms because they initially had us overlooking the entrance to the parking lot! crazy! they will test you - trust me! The best snorkelling beach is super close by called Kahlu'u beach park. Awesome and amazing snorkelling- better than Hanauma Bay on Oahu. The best swim beach is called Magic Sand beach just up the road. No entry fees ( like on Oahu). It can get busy but not too bad on week days. We also rented a kayak and went out to Captain Cook monument for a few hours. That was the experience of a life time! The best snorkelling ever. Pay to go on a boat tour if you are not adventurous but if you. Are young and fit, you can do it on your own. Just remember to buy some cheap reef shoes because you will scrape your feet otherwise. Coffee farms are just 15 mins away. So much to see!

Room Tip: Look at hotel map before they assign you a room - tell them you will check room first before you tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Mahalo for your review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. We were delighted to learn about all the aspects of your stay from snorkeling to a visit to Magic Sands Beach. We’re thrilled you enjoyed your visit to the Big Island and our resort. Please visit us again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We ended our 8 day trip on Big Island here for 2 nights. Upon arriving, we were impressed by the stunning. We were early but they allowed us to check in, which we weren't expecting. However, the room, which was on the 3rd floor of the Kualono wing (parking lot view), had problems. 1) it was right above ongoing construction of the 2nd floor and you could hear cement drilling, 2) the safe was broken, 3) it was not very clean, 4) paint was chipping, 5) the room, carpeting, and phones were very smelly. Upon arrival, we asked for double beds but was told there were none available. Later, after assessing that there were serious problems with the room, we requested a room change. We were kindly moved to a room with 2 double beds and an ocean view. We were extremely thankful, but annoyed that we were put in a room above construction that was clearly up next for renovations by a supervisor.

I never located the concierge desk. The front desk was always so busy so I could never ask for dinner recommendations or a map. Fortunately, I found everything I needed on trip advisor!

The pool side restaurant provided service without a smile and their servers never really made it towards the end of the children's pool. So I always had to go to the main bar for drinks. No one, except Chris at the bell stand and the woman who moved our rooms, was very cheerful or friendly, or service oriented. I guess we were spoiled by the fantastic, Hawaiian hospitality at the Hilton properties in Waikoloa and expected more from the Sheraton.

I think if we started off in the room we ended our stay in, I would've given 4 stars. But overall, considering the service, 3 stars is quite generous.

Room Tip: avoid the Kualono wing until renovations are complete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baejhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We are truly sorry that your initial room did not meet your expectations but we were glad to learn that upon speaking with our staff you were moved to another room that was to your liking. Thank you for your comments; we value all feedback positive or otherwise and will use this opportunity to strengthen our commitment to providing the best in service to each and every guest. We hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beauvais, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed there 5 nights lately, the room as describe are very spacious. furniture and beddings was excellent. however if you want a drink or snacks, the fridge is empty. you have to get a room service and go down to the bar. May be in a good way, take it positively to keep you on the right diet. Hotel provides two small bottle of water which cost USD 20+ including the internet/ mandatory...i hate this part
The hotel garden and amenities are nice however there is no beach nearby. rocky cliff next to it. you have to go for a 20-30 minutes drive to get to a nice beach.
The lounge for a drink and dinner is nice, and original i liked it , price wise was ok.
If you are a diver and like Manta ray- hire equipment at big island divers and dive in our own night time, 1 or 2 mantas are always there at dawn around 6PM it s the good time.
I was very busy diving that i did not have much time to enjoy the hotel swimming pool to relay, it looks ok.
Staff was nice and very helpful.
Don t recommand to have breakfast, very average, better to take your breakfast outside...a famous bakery for its bagel and Fresh cookies " up Country Bakery & Cafe"
ratio Quality-Price is ok but i would have gone to Hilton Wakoloa, i made a mistake by going prepaid booking, and was lazy to move. if you re not sure, book couple of days then once there you can decide where to go then. The set up at The Hilton was so great , i spent hours just relaxing there, it s an incredible place.

Room Tip: take ocean view of course, but partial or mountain view is ok also since you don t spend much time a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Do Binh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Aloha. Although you have shared with us some of the aspects of your stay that you enjoyed; it is disappointing to learn that we could not fully impress you. The resort charge you mentioned does include daily bottled water and internet but it is also comprised of many other amenities such as unlimited complimentary use of Keauhou to Kona Trolley; Zumba, Yoga and Aqua Yoga classes; and guided cultural and historical tours and activities. Thank you for your comments; we hope you will allow us to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Sheraton for 4 nights, for our honeymoon, we were really impressed by the kind service, and the great location of the hotel. I would recommend renting a car, even though there is a shuttle service offered by the hotel to the nearby city. There is much to explore on the island and its worth the trip!

pros:
* Location- even though if you have a car it doesn't really matter, but we realized that the hotel is about in the middle if you want to go either to Hilo (nice city that offers, amongst other things, helicopter tours over the island and the volcanos) or the Volcano park. both are 2 hours away, in opposite directions (even though you're basically circling the island on the same main road)
*Prices- comparing to other islands in Hawaii, the prices at Sheraton are reasonable. we actually ate at the hotel restaurant "Rays by the Bay' 3 out of our 4 nights there. for a hotel restaurant- the prices are great!
* short distance to downtown area- about 10 mins drive
* Big spacious rooms and comfy beds. We stayed at the Kualono wing on the 5th floor and had nice "mountain view" which also had view to the ocean.
* Good service- everyone at the hotel was warm and welcoming. I also liked that they offer a complimentary Lei making class and give you a 2 hour free bike rental (what I didn't like is that its only bike per room, so you end up having to pay 20$ for another bike, which we decided to pass on!)

Cons:
* no hotel beach area- you would have to drive to a beach. however- there is a very nice and large pool with a slide!
* Restaurants close early- the surrounding restaurants close at around 9 pm, so if you are later eaters you would have an issue finding where to eat out. The hotel has one nice restaurant ("Rays by the Bay") which is open till 11 PM, but that's about it so your options are limited!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Aloha and congratulations on your recent nuptials! Your detailed review of your experience at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay is very much appreciated. We love to receive feedback from our guests and learn what stood out for them. We’re delighted your dining experience at Rays on the Bay was enjoyed so much and that found it to be a good value. Please visit us again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The room and facilities were nice and clean, the staff was wonderful, the view was nice but below me the ceiling was removed exposing my plumbing and probably accounting for the noise. There were floor jacks supporting the floor under my room. The maid's cart rumbled down the hallway early each morning. The location is very nice but the hotel needs updating..ie. acoustical ceilings and whatever was going on below me.

Room Tip: The view from an ocean front room of the Manta Rays at night is well worth a little extra expense...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daybee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Mahalo for sharing your impressions of your stay with us. We sincerely regret that there was an issue beneath your room that had to be attended to while you were here and that the sounds from housekeeping cart was bothersome to you. We hope that on your next visit, you will let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
6.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
31.7 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
5.3 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,857 reviews
28.0 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Property: Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2525 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing