We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, but mediocre experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We ended our 8 day trip on Big Island here for 2 nights. Upon arriving, we were impressed by the stunning. We were early but they allowed us to check in, which we weren't expecting. However, the room, which was on the 3rd floor of the Kualono wing (parking lot view), had problems. 1) it was right above ongoing construction of the 2nd floor and you could hear cement drilling, 2) the safe was broken, 3) it was not very clean, 4) paint was chipping, 5) the room, carpeting, and phones were very smelly. Upon arrival, we asked for double beds but was told there were none available. Later, after assessing that there were serious problems with the room, we requested a room change. We were kindly moved to a room with 2 double beds and an ocean view. We were extremely thankful, but annoyed that we were put in a room above construction that was clearly up next for renovations by a supervisor.

I never located the concierge desk. The front desk was always so busy so I could never ask for dinner recommendations or a map. Fortunately, I found everything I needed on trip advisor!

The pool side restaurant provided service without a smile and their servers never really made it towards the end of the children's pool. So I always had to go to the main bar for drinks. No one, except Chris at the bell stand and the woman who moved our rooms, was very cheerful or friendly, or service oriented. I guess we were spoiled by the fantastic, Hawaiian hospitality at the Hilton properties in Waikoloa and expected more from the Sheraton.

I think if we started off in the room we ended our stay in, I would've given 4 stars. But overall, considering the service, 3 stars is quite generous.

Room Tip: avoid the Kualono wing until renovations are complete.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank baejhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

We are truly sorry that your initial room did not meet your expectations but we were glad to learn that upon speaking with our staff you were moved to another room that was to your liking. Thank you for your comments; we value all feedback positive or otherwise and will use this opportunity to strengthen our commitment to providing the best in service to each and every guest. We hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,604)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,239 - 2,245 of 2,604 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed there 5 nights lately, the room as describe are very spacious. furniture and beddings was excellent. however if you want a drink or snacks, the fridge is empty. you have to get a room service and go down to the bar. May be in a good way, take it positively to keep you on the right diet. Hotel provides two small bottle of water which cost USD 20+ including the internet/ mandatory...i hate this part
The hotel garden and amenities are nice however there is no beach nearby. rocky cliff next to it. you have to go for a 20-30 minutes drive to get to a nice beach.
The lounge for a drink and dinner is nice, and original i liked it , price wise was ok.
If you are a diver and like Manta ray- hire equipment at big island divers and dive in our own night time, 1 or 2 mantas are always there at dawn around 6PM it s the good time.
I was very busy diving that i did not have much time to enjoy the hotel swimming pool to relay, it looks ok.
Staff was nice and very helpful.
Don t recommand to have breakfast, very average, better to take your breakfast outside...a famous bakery for its bagel and Fresh cookies " up Country Bakery & Cafe"
ratio Quality-Price is ok but i would have gone to Hilton Wakoloa, i made a mistake by going prepaid booking, and was lazy to move. if you re not sure, book couple of days then once there you can decide where to go then. The set up at The Hilton was so great , i spent hours just relaxing there, it s an incredible place.

Room Tip: take ocean view of course, but partial or mountain view is ok also since you don t spend much time a...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Do Binh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Aloha. Although you have shared with us some of the aspects of your stay that you enjoyed; it is disappointing to learn that we could not fully impress you. The resort charge you mentioned does include daily bottled water and internet but it is also comprised of many other amenities such as unlimited complimentary use of Keauhou to Kona Trolley; Zumba, Yoga and Aqua Yoga classes; and guided cultural and historical tours and activities. Thank you for your comments; we hope you will allow us to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Sheraton for 4 nights, for our honeymoon, we were really impressed by the kind service, and the great location of the hotel. I would recommend renting a car, even though there is a shuttle service offered by the hotel to the nearby city. There is much to explore on the island and its worth the trip!

pros:
* Location- even though if you have a car it doesn't really matter, but we realized that the hotel is about in the middle if you want to go either to Hilo (nice city that offers, amongst other things, helicopter tours over the island and the volcanos) or the Volcano park. both are 2 hours away, in opposite directions (even though you're basically circling the island on the same main road)
*Prices- comparing to other islands in Hawaii, the prices at Sheraton are reasonable. we actually ate at the hotel restaurant "Rays by the Bay' 3 out of our 4 nights there. for a hotel restaurant- the prices are great!
* short distance to downtown area- about 10 mins drive
* Big spacious rooms and comfy beds. We stayed at the Kualono wing on the 5th floor and had nice "mountain view" which also had view to the ocean.
* Good service- everyone at the hotel was warm and welcoming. I also liked that they offer a complimentary Lei making class and give you a 2 hour free bike rental (what I didn't like is that its only bike per room, so you end up having to pay 20$ for another bike, which we decided to pass on!)

Cons:
* no hotel beach area- you would have to drive to a beach. however- there is a very nice and large pool with a slide!
* Restaurants close early- the surrounding restaurants close at around 9 pm, so if you are later eaters you would have an issue finding where to eat out. The hotel has one nice restaurant ("Rays by the Bay") which is open till 11 PM, but that's about it so your options are limited!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Aloha and congratulations on your recent nuptials! Your detailed review of your experience at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay is very much appreciated. We love to receive feedback from our guests and learn what stood out for them. We’re delighted your dining experience at Rays on the Bay was enjoyed so much and that found it to be a good value. Please visit us again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The room and facilities were nice and clean, the staff was wonderful, the view was nice but below me the ceiling was removed exposing my plumbing and probably accounting for the noise. There were floor jacks supporting the floor under my room. The maid's cart rumbled down the hallway early each morning. The location is very nice but the hotel needs updating..ie. acoustical ceilings and whatever was going on below me.

Room Tip: The view from an ocean front room of the Manta Rays at night is well worth a little extra expense...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daybee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Mahalo for sharing your impressions of your stay with us. We sincerely regret that there was an issue beneath your room that had to be attended to while you were here and that the sounds from housekeeping cart was bothersome to you. We hope that on your next visit, you will let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The Sheraton was amazing... I've never been so impressed with a hotel. It has an open floor plan such that the wind came through the hallways... the waves crashed outside... I never appreciated before how far white-noise machines are from the real thing. I slept like a baby.
The room was huge and really nice. They had both an 'indoor' (central courtyard) and 'outdoor' section of the pool. The waterfall inside was beautiful.
The only downside is that is sits on lava cliffs. The waves breaking against them are beautiful but if you like to sit on the sand you can't here. They did say they have a shuttle to a beach if that's what you're after...

Room Tip: The ocean view was worth it for the crashing waves. The balconies are private for every room and hu...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clint M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Aloha and thank you for your wonderful review of the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to rest so well at night. As you mentioned, guests have unlimited use of the Keauhou Resort Trolley which makes stops at the beach as well as numerous other locations. Please come back and visit us again soon! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were at the Sheraton from 11/30/12 till 12/11/12. The reason we had only 10 great nights was a water leak down the hall caused the staff to move us late one night. Because of the noise of cleanup they vacated the whole floor putting everyone into better rooms on the ocean side. I didn't want to be over by the pool so the next morning I got them to move us back to a higher floor overlooking the tennis courts. Quiet rooms over there. I found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. John moved us and made sure we were happy with all that happened to us. Cudos to him and the rest of the staff.The new owners are allowing cultural tours on the property and seem to want to be "green" and work in harmony with the people and land of hawaii. We did the green alternative and got $5 to spend every day on drinks or food at the resturants or snack bar. Even then the maids asked did we need coffee or clean towels etc. and made sure we were well stocked with everything we needed. There is public access to the bay down at the end of their driveway, but for me it was a little too rough to get in. I really enjoyed the hula show at the shopping center. A local group from waimea was there and it was really good. You can cut across the end of Keauhou Bay and walk up to the shopping center in 15 to 20 minutes. There are lots of stores, a great grocery store, and many resturants. We also went to the Rays on the Bay at the Sheraton several times after we were gone all day and it is a good place to relax have a pizza, burger and drinks. You can go down and see the rays in the water or sometimes from the table your sitting at see them. We did the snorkel trip and it was great. Got a little seasick but the rays come up to inches from you. Quite a sight. We also ate at the breakfast buffet everyday except when we went sky diving early one morning and missed it. The omalletes are made the way you want them, I add hot sauce to mine and there are many other choices from rice to french toast.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter but all the rooms, we had three differant ones were good, beds good and pi...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fwbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Aloha! It was such a treat to read your review and learn all about your stay at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. We are so glad you had ten great nights with us and we are truly sorry about the inconvenience the one evening when it was necessary to move you to another room. Thank you for your understanding in the matter and for your many kind words for our resort and staff. We hope that you will return soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Sheraton is my favorite hotel when I don't rent a condo or house in Kona. It is in a quiet area, with a conveniently located shopping center nearby. The hotel is just a short walk to the snorkel boats that sail out of Keauhou Bay. The Wifi has improved quite a bit over the past couple of years.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank random_tangent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Aloha and thank you for sharing your thoughts with us about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. We are honored to be your favorite hotel in Kona and it brings a great deal of joy to learn of your satisfaction with our resort. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
6.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
31.7 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
5.3 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,887 reviews
28.0 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2525 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $184 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing