We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel has just undergone a refurbishment. Even though though the building itself may look a bit dated, the rooms, lobby and facilities are new and clean. We had dinner at Rays on the Bay and it was fantastic, the view and the ambience was really superb. The food was surprisingly good too especially after reading some of the reviews. I especially love the Miso shrimp salad. the cocktails on the other hand were only ok.

Just wanted to say that my family and I had such a wonderful stay at the Sheraton Kona resort and would go back there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We sincerely appreciate your many kind remarks about our resort, thank you. The Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay has, as you mentioned, recently completed nearly $20 million in renovations and we are all very excited to share the many wonderful changes with our guests. We are delighted that you enjoyed dining at Rays on the Bay where you can relax by the fire pit lounge; view manta rays just off shore and indulge in some of the freshest local seafood on the island. It would be our pleasure to welcome your family back again and we hope it’s soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    865
    474
    213
    117
See reviews for
647
1,230
87
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (815)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We arrived from LAX at 10:30 pm. Our check in was quick and we were told we could grab a bite at the restaurant overlooking the Manta Rays. It is a lovely restaurant but sadly, the food left much to be desired. This restaurant has a lovely atmosphere but really needs quality control help. We ate dinner here the following night and it was another disappointing meal with magical atmosphere and great Hawaiian music! Drinks are very good! Room service omelet was very good but coffee expensive, room temperature and average at best! Not good presentation. If the food was better at this hotel, I believe it would be a 5 star!!! They need food management that "Gets it!"

The bath amenities are very nice! We had a wonderful view of the pool and ocean! I would recommend requesting these rooms even if they are a bit extra. Beds, wonderful! Linens great. Towels just okay.

Would we go back?! Absolutely!!!! Hope they fix the food...but it wouldn't stop us from returning!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3cruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Aloha! All feedback from our guests is welcomed and we greatly appreciate that you have provided us with your impressions and suggestions. Thank you very much for the many compliments you have given to us. We truly regret that although you have expressed your pleasure with the atmosphere and music while dining, you were not overly impressed with the cuisine. Our new Chef du Cuisine at Rays is working on refining the menu in our new restaurant and your input is valuable to the process, thank you. Please come back and see us again soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Booked a room for three days using SPG points and cash but wanted an upgrade to ocean front, knowing this could be tenuous. Young lady at desk accommodated without hesitation (at standard $50 daily fee). We also were extremely early for check in having arrived on the red eye from Vegas before 10 am). The room was ready and we were in immediately. Fantastic room about 50 feet from the ocean. We could see the Manta Rays from our balcony. Request for bottle opener and corkscrew provided immediately. Ate at Rays twice and were very happy there also. Now for the downsides. 1) Smokers next door had to indulge on their balcony. Why put a smoking room right next to a non-smoking? 2) Tennis courts were available but the equipment available was extremely poor. One aluminum adult racquet was all they had so I had to use a kids size racquet. BRING YOUR OWN. 3) Laundry room dryer and soap vend both out of order, so we had to scramble around to find a working dryer. That said the young lady at the front desk (same as during check in) provided a couple of boxes of tide gratis. Overall extremely happy with our experience here and highly recommend to anyone considering Kona.

Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your review and recommendation. The staff at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay is committed to ensuring that our guests’ time at the hotel is memorable and we are eager to assist guests in whatever way we can. We’re delighted that you enjoyed your time with us; however, we would like to express our sincerest apologies for the few issues you encountered and hope that they did not greatly impact your overall experience. Please visit us again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Mahlo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

When we checked in the front desk clerk said that we no longer had a king as requested but 2 queens. I asked for a king ocean view as requested and she said she found one and gave us our keys. This is where if all goes downhill. We get to the room and it isn't ocean view and it has 2 queens. We call the front desk and she said for us to come all the way back to the front desk. We get back there and are now told we can either have the pool view on the ground floor with 2 queens or a mountain view with a king. I ask to see the manager and he says that he will take care of it. After much fumbling around he says we can only have the pool view or the mtn view even though we were booked into an ocean view. Then less than a few minutes later he says- I looked into your reservation and it says you requested a mtn view- he says this without looking at the computer. Furious I started to pull out my confirmed reservation and he says that I only have 2 choices because they are now full but maybe later in the week we can change- this idiot knows we are only staying 1 night!! The hotel is a pain to get around- elevators are really slow! I will never stay here again. The best part about the manager was after all that he says with a smirk - please don't hesitate to call me if you need anything. WOW is all I can say- never ever again will I stay here!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Chause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We are sincerely sorry that there was some confusion with your reservation and that you were not satisfied with the manner in which it was handled. Whenever possible we try to accommodate our guests’ requests and we deeply regret that we were not able to do this for you and that it had such a great impact on your overall experience. Thank you taking the time to share your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We've stayed at the Sheraton Kona a half-dozen times and look forward to going back. The recent remodel improved an already attractive hotel, particularly the restaurant/bar Rays on the Bay. The food at Rays is good overall (not great, although the poke and the ribs appetizers were truly tasty), but go with a bit of patience if that restaurant is at full capacity; the staff/kitchen seemed to get a bit overwhelmed when it was full. The breakfast buffet is wonderful. Rooms are a good size and the minifridge is a big plus for keeping drinks cold. Even the "Mountain View" rooms are fine, but we sure were pleased with an upgrade to the Ocean View. The pool is good sized and the water slide is fun, both for kids and for us "big kids." The wading pool area and the adjacent fountain area seem to be real attractions for the younger kids. Just don't set your heart on a sandy beach; this hotel is on a lava point, overlooking the famous night manta ray dive/snorkel area. (If you're a relatively experienced scuba diver, instead of going with a dive operator, you can even do the manta dive as a shore dive with a bit a a swim from the public entrance on the North side of the hotel; in addition to the marvel of the pirouetting manta rays themselves, the gazillion ruby eyes of the shrimp on the way back were quite memorable.) We like the location: the nearby (by car or trolley) Keauhou shopping center has a supermarket, drug store, several worthwhile restaurants and a terrific small Sat. morning Farmers' Market. The Sheraton is also within easy driving distance of the restaurants in Kauilua-Kona and also south for the not-as-touristy restaurants in Honalo/Kainaliu/Kealakekua. Service is both friendly and helpful. My only beef would be with the mandatory $26 daily resort fee, except for the fact that as of earlier this year, it can be waived as the "welcome gift" for Starwood Gold members.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalTravelFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Aloha! Thank you for sharing such a detailed review of your time at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. We love hearing from our guests and learning about what made their stay special. Our immense fantasy pool with a water slide, kid’s pool area and waterfalls is the perfect place for an afternoon of fun; we’re glad you enjoyed it so much. We are sorry though that you were not happy with the resort charge. The fee covers a variety of services and amenities that enhance our guest’s experience including complimentary use of the Keauhou Resort Trolley, self parking, two bottles of water daily, cultural tours and more. We hope that you will return soon for another visit as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our family stayed for 5 days and loved our time there. We upgraded to an ocean view room and loved sitting on our very private balcony looking at the bay. The rooms are large and we didnt feel cramped with four of us and luggage. Our boys loved the huge pool and slide. Each day we got up early to snorkel and loved seeing others doing the same. There was a nice energy to the place. We are now staying up island at a more expensive but quite boring condo and miss the liveliness of the Sheraton.
Only negative was that I got ready one morning just after they had cleaned our room. Leaning against the counter to put on my makeup it didn't even occur to me to worry about bleach. My brand new shorts got a big bleach mark. I talked to two cleaners who said they do use bleach on the sinks. They were only $20 Costco shorts but unfortunately when I tried to buy a replacement they were out of that size and colour. Bummed about that but still left with just good memories

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Mahalo for sharing such a lovely review of the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. We are very happy that your family enjoyed their time at our resort snorkeling, swimming, and taking in the views of the bay. It is regretful that your shorts were discolored from the bleach used to clean the bathroom but we are glad that it did not greatly impact your overall experience. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubois, Wyoming
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I'm a review junky.. I read them ALL.. This was our first trip to Hawaii and I did a lot of research on the places we planned to stay at and visit.. with that said I was hoping for the best after reading many reviews about this hotel .... and that's what we got THE BEST!!!
The recent remodeling was awesome, our room was very nicely done. I truly enjoyed the mature landscaping and care of the grounds... each day I walked out to the far end of the cliffs bordering the golf course and meditated to the sound of the crashing waves.. It was a magical stress reliever.
All of the staff from the front desk girls to the bell hops who remembered our first names and made funny jokes each day... we were truly shown the Aloha spirit. I would especially like to thank the resort for a beautiful complimentary breakfast buffet we were all treated to the morning after we all had to be evacuated for a Tsunami warning.. it was delicious..
***** I am a chef, note to folks..please remember to tip your omelet station chef.. it is a work of art hes cooking not just your breakfast.. *****

The pool was really nice , although you do have to watch out for afternoon VOG from volcano.. if tanning is in your itinerary just do what we did and check out some of the awesome state beaches and parks a little north of town.. we made sure to rent a 4x4 so we could get out across lava fields and do some back country driving...
some folks complain of the distance to town but we really enjoyed checking out the happenings up and back on the drive ....down Alii Dr... if we were going far we just drove up on the highway instead.. quick to get where you need to go...
locally.. just a few blocks out the front drive....nice easy access to farmers market at Keauhou market place too... with everything you need from post office , drug store, groceries etc...

note to family on a budget- we got great BBQ down the street at the market place, made sure we had a room facing the mountain/ back lawn and we had our own luau on our lanai ... saved us a TON of money and we really enjoyed the show..

we will be coming back in the future.. Ma-halo for a wonderful family vacation

The Millers- Jackson Hole Wyoming

Room Tip: we enjoyed our mountain view 4th floor ...as we were able to watch the luau for free.. also we have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotlittlechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We are overjoyed that you had an amazing family vacation at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. It was truly enjoyable reading your review and learning all about how you spent your time on the island as well as the things that you loved about our resort. Thank you for your many compliments; we hope to welcome you back soon. A hui hou kakou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
6.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
31.7 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.8 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
28.0 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
5.3 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Property: Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2525 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing