We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Koa Wood Hale - Patey's Place Hostel
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Met so many cool travellers here! The Staff were very friendly and helped with any questions I had about the island. They made me feel very welcome and easily made my stay in Kona a highlight of my time in Hawaii. I found the hostel very clean and comfortable. Would definitely go back and I highly recommend it to anyone looking to stay near Kona!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 121 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Clean friendly and low cost
I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a sweet stay in Kona.
Located in the middle of Kona the beach is a short walk and so are most good restaurants.
I found the staff eager to help.
If you are looking for a great value and a home like place to rest while traveling check this place out.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Owen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The peeps is what makes it happy and healthy. Everyone is considerate and caring, sharing, positive. The environment is clean and the geckos simply say hello, and then go on their merry way, as geckos are want to do. The furnishings are not luxurious, but hey, it's a hostel. Everything you could possibly need or want is within walking distance. Aloha abounds. Happy trails!

Room Tip: Share a private room with a friend and you get a little less sleeping society at almost the same pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

... and would not have stayed a second. I have stayed in hostels all over the world ... I know a lot of times the guests of the hostel can make or break the impression of the place. And we left with a very broken impression. I felt like I might "catch" something my one night there. From the mattresses with no protective coverings, a bathroom that should have been closed for renovations, guests without underwear sleeping on the floor of our common area. The fans didn't seem to work and the heat was stifling which didn't help with the lingering smell of "pot". When we tried to leave in the morning, another car had parked behind us and we could not get out. After waking a few of the guests that seemed to be sleeping where ever they fell, we were able to get the car moved and get on with our day. I will recommend this place if your other option is the street.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kkzfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

The staff is very friendly. I arrived knowing nobody in Hawaii and after only 3 days met a lot of quality people. Meeting other travelers as well as locals made the stay so much better. The rooms are clean and the aura laid back. Located a 10 minute walk from the ocean front allowed me to not require a car to go everywhere. Beautiful sunsets seen from the balcony

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexander C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This place is pretty good! I found the staff to be very accommodating, they stayed open a late to check me in. Room is pretty clean. Sure, I saw a cockroach, but you will see cockroaches everywhere, in any place in Hawaii. Nothing is ever really locked, so if you are concerned about that sort of thing it might not be the place for you. If you are interested in a comfy bed, meeting some chill people, and staying at a decent (and affordable) location I would totally recommend this place. I actually stayed here on 2 separate occasions because I enjoyed it so much. Stoked!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madelaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was by far the filthiest hostel I've ever been too. You can smell weed everywhere, the floor was sticky *they ask you to walk around barefoot. The rooms stunk of bad armpit & feet odor. Don't bother locking your doors, everyone can just pull the screen door and go in that way. The reception guy looks like he is high as a bat and by his raggy clothes can be mistaken for a hobo. I know he is trying to be nice and welcoming, but there should be a certain professional way of presenting oneself especially if you run a business.Together with a guest from Germany, we saw cockroaches running around the public area and maggots on the trash bin cover. I'm glad I only had to stay one night. Sleep in your car instead!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safari2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertpatey, Owner at Koa Wood Hale - Patey's Place Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

I'm sorry Markus was not a 20 years girl to greet you, but he is one good guy. He will try to help and make your stay as nice as it could be. Please understand that we try to keep the place as clean as one can. We have been under staff for the last 2 weeks. I will make sure that all your complaints will be looked at and deal with asap. Thanks you , Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
72.5 mi away
Hedonisia Hawaii Eco-Community Vacation Rentals
59 mi away
Hilo Bay Hostel
Hilo Bay Hostel
#4 of 10 in Hilo
197 reviews
12.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
0.7 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,997 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koa Wood Hale - Patey's Place Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Wood Hale - Patey's Place Hostel

Address: 75-184 Ala Onaona St, LOOK FOR OUR TIKI TORCHES and ROPE LIGHTS, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1806
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $33 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take off your shoes and relax. Welcome to Koa Wood Hale. Our convenient location, friendly staff, and long list of extras are for your enjoyment. We have 3 dorm rooms:Mens dorm (4 beds) female only dorm (4 beds) and a coed-dorm (4 beds). Upstairs we offer 4 private rooms, 2 rooms share a space and these rooms may accomidate 1-3. Fresh Bedding and towels are provided.Free parking - wifi - computer & printer - full use kitchen and bath - t.V room with dvd player and movies - book trade - lockers - laundry facilities - maps and information - ++++ plenty of spacious common areas to meet other travelers from around the world!We are happy to loan you things you may need that we have extra of: beach towels, bags, tents, snorkel gear, sunscreen, band-aids, slippers, hats and umbrellas... Ask around or have a look on one of our community shelvesBikes and Boards for hire. Office Hours:8 a.M. To Noon (checkout by 10am)5 p.M. - 10 P.M. (Checkins) ***PLEASE NOTE***NO CHECK IN AFTER 10PM! If you can not make it by 10:00 pm you could speak with the manager in advance and we will try to get you in your room that night. Checkins before 5pm available but not before 12pm, this is so we can provide you with a clean and ready apartment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Koa Wood Hale - Patey`s Place Hotel Kailua-Kona
Koa Wood Hale - Patey's Place Hostel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing