We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. There were 11 of us, so we had two rooms We had requested two upper level rooms, however, they would not have been close enough to each other, so the staff was nice enough to arrange the rooms one on top of the each other in the same building. Albert and the girls at the front desk were very friendly.

The concierge staff was always there to answer our questions and help us book our day trips. Sally was exceptionally helpful. There is a small area on the side of the building that has beach and pool toys that have been left behind by other guests. They are free to use and can save you a few bucks so you don't have to buy a beach chair or a noodle while you are there.

The resort is absolutely beautiful. The grounds are kept up, it is very private, quiet and you feel like you stepped into a Polynesian dream. The only down side is that it is not on the ocean. However, you can access the ocean by walking across the street. The pools are nicely landscaped, but in the heat of the day, there was often too little of a breeze. (Who goes to Hawaii to hang out by the pool anyway though?) The rooms are nice and have everything you need. The blender was especially powerful - great for smoothies and margaritas.

We walked into town every day, at least once. There are no sidewalks by the resort, but there is plenty of space on the side of the road. There is a constant stream of runners and walkers on the road, so the drivers look out for you and are courteous.

If you can or want to say no, do the timeshare presentation. Getting the Aloha Privilege card saved us hundreds of dollars on excursions. If you just plan on hanging out and not doing any tours, don't waste your time.

All in all, we would definitely visit this resort again. I have family visiting the Kona area next year, and I will be reserving them a room here through our Wyndham timeshare. Enjoy the relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liveitup10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    239
    53
    24
    20
See reviews for
336
244
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
san diego, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Average facility, well maintained...at our expense. The belt sander and hammering outside our 2 units to refinish a railing was awful. Worse was the manager telling us from her office that it was not that loud (she refused to visit our unit). Since the dining table is outside, we spent as much time away from our room as we could.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swhiteca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We had12 people. We had 4 of the condo's rented. Not everyone had an oceanview but everyone justed lov ed the place. The mainntenance on the grounds was beautiful. It was kept up everyday. Wyndham had its own ruins of early hawaiian buildings the grounds. The people were really nice and answered all our questions.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktmftm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We stayed for 8 days from 6/5/10. As soon as we pulled up to check in, they were very courteous and friendly. We were early but it was not a problem, they had our room already available and we were checked in just like that. The conceirge was very handy in booking activities and they were more than willing to help (Thanks Gloria!). The timeshare presentation, it was not that bad. I wish we could've done it sooner becasue the Aloha Priviledge Card (APC) that we got saved us hundreds of dollars in activities. The room... as soon as we walked in, my family's reaction was just priceless. Jaws dropped to the floor and they kept saying "WOW! This is nice!" and they were like kids in a playground, exploring every room. There were 5 of us and it accomodated us just fine. The kitchen was very useful and it saved us a lot of money. The washer and dryer were great as well. The lanai was awesome! It was a great place to unwind and just commune with nature. Overall... I highly recommend this resort. Actually, I already have. Enjoy! Aloha!!!

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alpha-O-dlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2010

This is our second time staying at this resort. We absolutely love it! Very private and secluded. Cozy atmosphere. Feeling as if you have stepped back in time. Staff was very helpful... The minute I walked into the room the phone rang and it was front desk asking how we liked the unit. I casually mentioned that we would have liked a top level and she said come back to the front desk and she would see what she could do. They gave us the top level and I was very pleased. Would highly recommend this resort to anyone. We found a styrofoam cooler left by a previous guest we used for the beach. Also found 3 beach chairs we used for our stay. Always check w/front desk to see what other guests have left behind that you can "borrow" . Noticed this time that the activities the resort provides has increased. Don't miss the one where you get a real flower lei and entertainment provided by Auntie Tutu and Joy. They are wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMWachholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila, Pa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2010

My wife and I stayed here one week in April. Paid a friend $600 to use her week here. I have seen them going for $1,200 on ebay, still a good price. Between this resort and the beach is a motel Kona Tiki, we stayed there a few years ago for about $50 a night. They no charge closer to $200 a night for a MOTEL now. If you can get this place for about $200 a night you are getting a real bargain. BE AWARE there are NO OCEAN VIEWS HERE. That alone is the only thing that kept me from rating this resort perfect in every way. We had unit 16A.

PROS:
Lobby ,A+ (Auntie will bring you fresh fruit and sweetbread while you wait at
the open air drive thru checkin)
Staff , A+(checkin A+, management A+, cleaning crew A+, recreations A+)
Grounds ,A+ (fruit bearing trees, never a scap on the ground 7 days)
Kitchen ,A (Full fridge icemaker, dish washer, cooktop, oven, full dishes++)
Bathrooms ,A (two full size the only thing bath2 did not have was the
clawfoot/whirlpool extra large tub, both had beautiful
sitdown exotic tile showers, privacy commode, guest
bath had full size washer dryer)
Bedroom, A (both had nice beds and bedding, only master had big plasma)
Livingroom, A+ (Huge plasma lots of channels, no weather channel though)
Lanai, A+ (ceiling fan, full dining room suit, lounge and two sun chairs)
Pools, A+ (many pools never crowded, sand bottomed hot tub)
Parking B+ (could be a problem during high season fine while I was there)

CONS:
View, I had to stretch for this one. You are only 300 to 400 feet from the ocean but no view. View from my lanai were of the manicured grounds. Not looking directly at anyone elses lanai. Trade winds kept the palm trees swaying.

Resort is walking distance to Kona central. Great sunsets are what Kona is known for. Thanks Wyndham you have a really great setup here. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dougkuzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

We made our reservations virtually on the advise of the people at Wyndham. We were on an availability waiting list for any place in Hawaii, and this was the first resort that came up. I have to say we were not disappointed in the least! The grounds were even nicer than all the photographs we looked at prior to going. The only drawback was we had to drive everywhere. We saw many, many people walking to downtown Kona; but I have back problems so that wasn't an option. If you want to take a vacation to rest and get away, this is it. There are, however, many sights to see; but if you prefer to rest on a sandy beach, this would not be the place for you. Those beaches are few and far between. All in all, we were not disappointed. This was my third trip to the Big Island, the first at this accomodation. I would definitely recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliforniaMelanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
5.0 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,177 reviews
14.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
0.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort

Property: Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Address: 75-5961 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1333 (Formerly Kona Hawaiian Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 bedroom apartment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Vacatia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Hotel Kailua-Kona
Wyndham Kailua Kona
Kona Hawaiian Village
Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing