We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a great vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minnesota
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great location for a great vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

We stayed here in early March, and our only regret was that we had so little time to relax there. The front desk staff was welcoming and accomodating. We asked to be relocated to an upper unit and the front desk agent managed to find us one with a partial ocean view, even though the resort was nearly full. Everything was clean and well maintained. The lanai is large enough for dinner for 6 around the table with room to spare. The resort has wonderful pools, hot tubs and grilling areas to enjoy, and plenty of activities for guests of all ages. It was so nice to relax in the hot tub and pool after a day of sight-seeing, then sleep well in the comfortable (but not pillowtop) bed. The grounds are well groomed and beautiful, and every staff member we met was very friendly. Next time we'll stay home more so we can really enjoy the resort more!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Genius09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    234
    53
    24
    19
See reviews for
328
238
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

We spent a week at this resort with our two teen-aged sons and my parents; my mother had had a mild stroke five weeks before the trip. This resort was almost ideal for us: the whole complex is well designed, with lots of privacy, despite of the buildings being two-storey, with big balconies in each unit. There are two swimming pools (great for my mom to do aquacise), and there were organized activities and parties for those wishing to participate. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, and the spacious rooms tastefully decorated. The full kitchens had everything we needed. The location was the only small minus; the main road is between the resort and the ocean (although we did not get traffic noise); and you need a car to get to beaches.Kailua-Kona is a walking distance away, but there are no real sidewalks and there is quite a lot of traffic. (I did my morning runs early enough to avoid most of those, but still not the most ideal place for running).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matter_of_fact_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, FL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2010

We stayed here the first week of February. It's a beautiful place. The grounds are well kept and the units are very nice. It definitely has a Hawaiian feel. Our unit did not have a view of the ocean. That was disappointing. The parking situation is not very good either. All in all I would return to stay here again. We loved the lanai. That was the best part. King size beds in both bedrooms and a queen size hide-a-bed. Flat screen TV in the living room and master bedroom. Large bathrooms and well-equipped kitchen. Be aware of ants. Keep food in the fridge and keep counters wiped down.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank squirrellygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

My wife and I along with her sister and husband have just returned from a two week stay at the Wyndham resort. Prior to leaving, we read numerous reviews on the resort, with the majority being positive. Following our stay, I can honestly say that I cannot find one fault with the resort, so it's difficult to imagine anyone having anything negative to say about this place. Check in took but a few minutes and we were on the way to our unit in no time. The units are very clean, spacious and well stocked with all required amenities, such as cutlery, dishes, pots, pans, microwave, blender and coffee pot. The dining room table on the lanai was very enjoyable, both in the mornings for coffee and for dinner in the evenings, when we decided to eat in. Each bedroom is equipped with a king size bed and TV. There is an ensuite bathroom in the master bedroom, with a door providing separate access to the lanai. The resort is impeccably maintained, with numerous hibiscus trees and other forms of vegetation. There are two separate pool areas, each having a hot tub. The hot tub in the main pool area has a sand bottom and is set in a well designed rock setting. There are numerous stainless steel barbecues located throughout the grounds, making them easily accessible from any of the units. Overall, the landscaping in this resort is nothing short of spectacular. All of the service staff were very friendly and quick to respond. For example, it took all of five minutes to have a burnt light bulb replaced. We were only asked once to attend a timeshare presentation and after politely refusing, the matter was never brought up again. The resort is located within walking distance to a small beach and shops and restaurants in Kona. The resort is across Ali'i Drive from the ocean, but it hardly matters, as most of the ocean front resorts do not have beaches, due to the lava shoreline. I would highly recommend this reosrt to anybody and we cannot wait until we return.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank edgeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2010

Beautiful place with Hawaiian accent. Very clean and comfortable. Grounds maintained very well. Staff was very helpful and courtious. Does not have hotel atmosphere. Will return there same time next year.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mostipak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saukville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2009

This is a special place. It has an authentic Hawaiian flare, from the look of the buildings to the furnishings in the room. They also have activities at the resort (learn to do the hula, make authentic Hawaiian artifacts, music presentations) that make you feel that you are in Hawaii. The friendliness of the staff and their local knowledge, from history to places to visit, make your stay enjoyable. It was a great week.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawaiiantraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

Just returned from 2 weeks vacation at the Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort and have to say it was almost faultless.
The staff were very efficient and checkin was a breeze. When I was having a little trouble with my DVD player, I phoned, and one of the girls came up from the front desk within 5 minutes to help me fix it.
The grounds of the resort are immaculate and are being constantly trimmed, watered and spruced up by the staff.
I have to say that the unit that we had was in an excellent location and we had fairly unobstructed views to the sea, I can see why others would have a complaint here as not every unit is as well situated. The units were very well stocked with appliances, the beds were huge and comfortable, and also we had 2 brand new widescreen TV's with a DVD player in the living room. Everything in the unit worked fine.
The entertainment staff were great, from what we attended, but we didn't participate in anything other than the welcoming party and the Lei giving event. We got asked if we were interested in a Timeshare tour and politely refused and that was as far as it went, although another couple went on the tour and ended up spending 6 hours with them. Be Warned.
The only slight complaint would be on the location although this would be for people who would prefer not to drive to a beach or can't walk very far to get to a restaurant. This didn't affect us as we are both pretty fit for 50+ and we rented a car for the 2 weeks of the vacation.
Overall this has been our best Timeshare vacation by far, and I would have no problem returning to this resort again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank makemhater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
5.0 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
14.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
4.8 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort

Property: Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Address: 75-5961 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1333 (Formerly Kona Hawaiian Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 bedroom apartment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Hotel Kailua-Kona
Wyndham Kailua Kona
Kona Hawaiian Village
Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing