We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Great Time!”
Reviewed April 24, 2006

We spent a wonderful week and enjoyed it very much. We enjoyed some of the entertainmnet provided on site. Exercise room was small but nicely equipted. There were 4 of us and we stayed a lovely 2 BR unit. The 2 bedrooms were both very nicely furnished. The Kitchen was wonderful and the Living room area was excellent with all of the conforts of home (Large TV, DVD, CD, with some Hawaiian CDs). It was located just a few miles from many unique, shops and resturants. We look forward to a return trip. Next time we will request an upstairs unit as many of them seem to have great views.

Helpful?
15 Thank 2Travelingcouples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    239
    53
    24
    20
See reviews for
337
244
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2006

This is a well-done resort with nice pools and it is very convenient to the town of Kona. The staff was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank UGA1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2006

We are have been owners at Kona Hawaiian Village since Dec. 2002 and this is the first time we were able to stay there. It is a fantastic place!! The units are clean, bright and spacious. The resort plays Hawaiian music during the day on the grounds and it makes for a pleasant island experience. There is a welcoming party by the pool or covered by the lobby, it is a blast and they teach hula dancing. My brother-in-law took ukulele lessons and really enjoyed that. We also borrowed beach stuff, they have quite a lot available. There is so much to do on the Big Island, we went for two weeks and could have stayed much longer. We had an ocean view as well....and cooked on the barbeques. The central air conditioning works so much better than the last place we stayed in Kona.....and having mid-week cleaning where you get fresh sheets and soft towels is a real bonus (this is not usual for timeshare condos). They also provide all the paper towels, soap and toilet paper......GREAT PLACE.........Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank polarbear1aa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 11, 2006

We loved Kona Hawaiian Village. The condo was huge and beautifully decorated. We watched the sunset over the ocean from our balcony. We were able to borrow beach chairs, beach umbrella, and boogie boards from the front desk. They do try to push you to go on a timeshare presentation when you first arrive. We told them that we would think about it, and they never bothered us again. The location is far enough away from Kona town, that you don't get any noise, but close enough to walk to shopping and dining. We thought the gardens on the grounds were beautiful. The only thing that could use some work was the grills. Many of them were out of gas or didn't light. We were able to find a working one each night we needed though. We also loved the lei making class. We hope to stay here again in the future. As for the bugs, they are almost impossible to completely irradicate in a tropical location. We did see some small ants in the kitchen and 2 small roaches. They did spray our condo midweek, and this seemed to help. We also always removed any garbage from our condo each day. Both of the pools were nice and clean. The lower pool had some shade and comfortable lounge chairs. The upper pool had a view of the ocean, no shade, and the chairs weren't very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2006

In the words of my children, "It was awesome". They loved the space to spread out, the lanai, the tv's in every room (help!), the beds were comfortable and the activities were "cool".
The staff was very knowlegeable and accommodating. We signed up for several activities and were actually able to do all of them in one time block so to free up time for other island activities. Once the kids started one project, they moved right into the next without having to wait for it's appropriate time. They made wooden outrigger canoes, painted canvas bags and made picture frames. Another morning was jwelry making and my favorite morning was lei making. Fresh orchids, plumeria, bouganvilla and crown flowers piled onto table tops, while listening to live, authentic hawaiian music and stories. What a treat.
Our unit was upstairs and everything was well kept. The flowers on the grounds were intoxicating. My husband loved the grill areas and found it a great place to have a beer and some guy talk after a long day with the rest of us!
I appreciated the historical preservations on the grounds. The upper pool was nice, but fairly boring and open. The older, lower pool was more to our liking as a tropical oasis. Loved the sand and waterfall hot tub, great place to relax at night. It was usually quiet and often only a dozen or fewer people using the pool.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank screamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 26, 2005

We stayed at the Kona Hawaiian Village from the 18th of Dec. to the 25th. It was a beautiful room and the staff was very helpful. They knew everything there was to know about the island. The only problem was the bugs. We had ants in our beds at night, worms, centipedes, millipedes, and roaches in the kitchen. They said bugs were normal in Hawaii and we couldn't change our room, but after we couldnt take it anymore we called the manager, and had our room changed for the last two days. Once it was bug free it was a great stay. Just make sure you reserve a room on the second floor.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2005

Most of the reviewers seem to love this place, but my husband and I had a different experience. I am not an owner and would definitely not become one. Although it is relatively new, you can tell that in a few years, it will be looking pretty run down inside. There was a lot of grunge on the light switches which may not seem like a big deal to most, but it is a sign of how well they clean the place. The decorations are very generic and sparse. The ceilings are very thin as we could hear every step our upstairs neighbors took. It was a nice touch to have a washer and dryer inside and we definitely took advantage of them. The blanket on our bed was stained (we all know that hotels seldom wash the comforters and blankets) so we decided to wash it ourselves since we'd be there for a week and wanted to feel clean and comfortable. Our toilet did not flush well so we always had to flush it again. As another reviewer noted, there are lots of bugs and we had at least five centipede-like worms crawl inside and one even got into our bed so always check under the covers before you climb in! Both pools were small and heavily chlorinated. Thank goodness we paid less than $500 for our stay (a great deal from E-Bay); otherwise I would have been really disappointed. We spent our last two days at Wainuhea (a bed and breakfast in Honokaa) and had a wonderful, luxurious experience.

Helpful?
8 Thank Mountain77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
5.0 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,177 reviews
14.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
0.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort

Property: Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Address: 75-5961 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1333 (Formerly Kona Hawaiian Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 bedroom apartment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Vacatia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Hotel Kailua-Kona
Wyndham Kailua Kona
Kona Hawaiian Village
Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing