We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location, Very Nice Condo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
190 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, Very Nice Condo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

My Wife and Daughter stayed here for a week in April and it was wonderful. The condo was fairly rustic looking (On purpose) and the location to downtown was wonderful. It is about a mile walk to downtown, but it is an easy walk. The best part of the condo is the porch/lanai. We spent the majority of our time out there when we were in the condo. (Other than sleeping) The condo was well equipped (Full kitchen with full appliances, 2 king size bedrooms and 2 baths. Only negative is the way the resort it laid out. The walking trails are not well labeled and we found ourselves walking on some right to another condo and had to turn around several times.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oflieth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob B, General Manager at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Aloha,

Thanks for the feedback on directional signage. The resort is currently installing new signage giving better direction to the bungalows. I also want to thank you for noting your experience while staying with us at Kona Hawaiian Resort..

I hope that you will consider us in the future when traveling to Hawaii again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    234
    53
    24
    19
See reviews for
328
238
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed for a week with another couple and really enjoyed the place. Very large kitchen and living room so everyone could have their space. Deck was great for breakfast. The 2 large community bbq's worked out very well for cooking some steaks from the nearby Costco.

Grounds were very well maintained and we enjoyed the wide variety of flowers. Parking was convenient.

We could have done a timeshare presentation if we wanted to but there was no pressure to do one. Thoughtful touch having the cooler in the room which we used everyday for our trips around the island. Easy to walk to the water and town.

Very pleasant staff and we also enjoyed borrowing a flutter board from the storage shed.

We would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and did hear footsteps one morning so if you are a light sleeper then an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bills_pix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob B, General Manager at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for staying with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please consider us the next time you travel to Hawaii.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold praries in Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

family of 4 stayed here for 3 weeks. just nicely got home. memories are fresh.
stayed in unit 19a. partial view of ocean, partial of pool which was nice to keep an eye on the kids. room itself is a little dated, but is clean. tons of room. even used the couch sofa bed and kids thought it was cool to watch tv while in bed before falling asleep.
having 2 bathrooms was a life saver, no wasted time waiting for someone to be done.
kitchen I think had some upgrades with the new microwave, had a slow cooker, food processor.
the oven was painfully slow to warm up, thankfully only used for some broiling of nachos and baking of frozen fish.
resort itself is kept clean, yardwork is done neatly, very clean property. did not even go to the upper pool, stayed in lower pool.parking was easy, bit of a walk to room, but its exercise.
resort had some daily activities. daughter did hula couple times, and enjoyed the welcome hulas every week. overall, they have all you would need.

major issue I had however, was the people feeding the feral cats that are on property. its disgusting how much they feed these cats. only makes them more dependant on handouts. people, grow up, these aren't house cats. once I was pretty sure I saw them feeding the cats, from front step, using unit dishes. disgusting.

Room Tip: upper rooms have a chance of a peek a boo ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron_kristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinderella C, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for visiting us again this year.Glad to hear that the entire family enjoyed the resort facilities and activities.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel/condo for our second stop on our honeymoon for 3 nights. Very neat place nestled in the landscape reminding me of summer camp when you were a child. The rooms are not your typical hotel layout. Large, comfy rooms with large decks. The room was clean although in need of some updating. Two pools on site. Slept well here but definitely not a party resort. No restaurant or bar on site. Approx half mile walk down to Kona which is a really cool town. Feels like what Hawaii should feel like! Ocean is directly across the street.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eliza32280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob B, General Manager at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Aloha, I am glad to hear that we met your expectations. Congratulations on your Marriage. Please come back and visit us here in Hawaii. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We spent a week here. If you stay you will need to go to Starbucks or another location to access internet. It took up to 8 to 10 minutes to load a page. They had a complementary place to print you boarding pass, it took an hour and fifteen minutes to get mine printed due to the slow speed. The room was nice and clean. It was well supplied with cooking and cleaning items. I would recommend that you get a upstairs unit as you can hear anyone walking above you and if they move any furniture it is really loud. The last warning I would have is that people are allowed to smoke on the lanai. I am allergic so we were not able to spend much time out on our lanai. There were a number of activities but they all came with sales pitches so we passed. You will have no problem finding things to do in the area, you will have to drive.

Room Tip: take an upstairs room
See more room tips
Green Features: You need to get to the center to print you ticket out you need an hour and a half. People at the desk are friendly.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mt_Griz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob B, General Manager at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for your feedback. I can appreciate your comments regarding internet service. The Board of Directors is looking at all options currently available in an effort to provide a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartwright
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We first stayed here 10 years ago when it was owned by "Fairfield" resorts. We attended a meeting and much to my dismay, my husband bought here. Although we have had a love/hate relationship with Wyndham, I can't tell you how much we love our resort.
I was a little disappointed that so much of the greenery has been trimmed back compared to some years, but it still is absolutely beautiful.
We were happy to see Albert and he even remembered us! We also saw Nancy, the sales lady we bought from 10 years ago, so we felt like we were home.
It is within walking distance to down town Kona and the markets. The new bar b q units are beautiful so make sure to grill and enjoy.
The only complaint I have is there used to be lots of wonderful, tame kitties that would hang around waiting to be petted, and now there was only a few, and they weren't tame. The kids (and mom) loved them.

Room Tip: Our favorite unit is 22b, close to the lower pool and the workout building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob B, General Manager at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for your comments. It is unusual to have many of the same people at the resort from 10 years ago. Our associates take pride and ownership of Kona Hawaiian Resort.

Please don't take as long to return for another vacation here in the islands.

Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millsboro, Delaware
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed @ the Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort on the Big Island for a week in February. The upstairs unit was large with 2 bedrooms and 2 full baths. The kitchen was fully stocked with every utensil/appliance you would need for a weeks stay. The lanai was large with a full dining table and lounge chair. Everything was clean and well taken care of. It was close enough to Kona to walk if you didn't want to bother with the traffic. The pools were small, but adequate. They provided large beach towels and a cooler to take on daily travels. I was mostly impressed at how "green" the entire property was: they provided a separate bag for recyclables, used cfl bulbs in every fixture, the ac would shut off if the sliding doors were open, etc. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms offer the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OCNJSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob B, General Manager at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for your comments as it relates to Kona Hawaiian Resort. I am happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable.

I also appreciate your comments regarding our efforts to conserve energy and be green partner.

Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
5.0 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
14.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
4.8 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort

Property: Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Address: 75-5961 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1333 (Formerly Kona Hawaiian Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 bedroom apartment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Hotel Kailua-Kona
Wyndham Kailua Kona
Kona Hawaiian Village
Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing