We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truely a Hawaiian Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
toms river, new jersey
Level Contributor
335 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Truely a Hawaiian Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stayed here with my wife for one week. Resort is set in a Hawaiian setting meaning an open air tike hut for check in, bamboo railings on the lani plus a lot of bamboo used in the interior. Resort grounds are immaculate. Thought my wife and I did not need a 2 bedroom but it did come in handy. I normally get up much earlier then my wife so I was able to go into the 2nd bedroom and shower early so as to not to wake her. The lani was huge and we ate breakfast their each morning. We were assigned room 31A which is the top floor. Room was in great location because it was near the entrance, short walk to lower pool, easy to park, close to activities area and gym and most importantly when you sat on the lani you had privacy instead of looking at another building or a parking lot. You did have a partial view of the ocean. Resort was about
1 1/2 miles from the main street in Kona. Robbie was a great help to us as to which places to go. Attended a brief meeting on Monday the day after check in where they had a number of people explain to us what activities were available on the big island. Would definitely suggest attending. Just wish they had some sort of food on site.

Room Tip: If you want privacy on your lani suggest requesting rooms 30A or 31A.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank peter194940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob B, General Manager at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Aloha Peter,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in Hawaii. I also appreciate your comments on the setting of the resort and the assistance you had received from Robbie.

We hope to see you again in the near future. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    232
    53
    23
    19
See reviews for
322
235
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

I rented a two bedroom ground floor unit for myself, my two children, and my mother for 10 nights. We were completely happy with everything about the resort. The beds were perfect, the front desk staff cheerful and efficient, the resort clean and wonderful in every way.

We loved the huge lanai, and the fully appointed kitchen made meal preparation super easy.
The cleaning staff came in and serviced the suite twice during our stay, making sure we had everything we needed in the kitchen and providing us with fresh linens and towels.

After reading some reviews here I had worries about being in a lower suite, but with two children I didn't want to be above other guests, either. For most of our stay, we didn't hear anything at all from the guests in the upper half of the duplex until loud footsteps on our last day. Also, we were worried about the time share push, but found the staff to be absolutely not pushy at all, though we did give the breakfast orientation a miss.

The front desk staff were pleasant and laid back, and helped set the tone for this wonderful place to stay. We look forward to another visit next spring, this time for two weeks!

Room Tip: Lower suites are great for families, as footsteps can be heard down below if your kids are active...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renée G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob B, General Manager at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Aloha Renee,

I am glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Kona Hawaiian Resort. We look forward to you returning next year for 2 weeks. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Having stayed in a few the Wyndham Kona Hawaiian is certainly not a resort as most would measure one.As others have posted it has nicely kept with well appointed condos and a couple of pools,small fitness center and barbeque areas, but that is it, no bars , no food , no anything.It looks like it may have had at one time but not now.
So if you want a nice place to stay with a 10 -15 minute walk into town this is it , but is it a resort , definitely not

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wanderingkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob B, General Manager at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for your feedback regarding Kona Hawaiian Resort. We appreciate your comments as to the overall operation and location of the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

WOW!! What a great resort. We were on the second week of our Hawaii vacation when we got to the Big Island and this resort. We could not have been more pleased. The unit was very large with two bedrooms & two bathrooms, a large full kitchen with all the amenities of home, a washer and dryer. Two pools and activities if you want to participate. Grill located in the pool areas for grilling. Staff very accommodating. My only disappointment was the day we checked in we had to wait longer than the check in time for a unit, other than that it was great. You definitely need a car if you stay on the Big Island and plan to see things and shop. Lots of local food shopping places as well as Safeway, Walmart and Target. Would definitely stay there again, one of the best resort we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TLC1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob B, General Manager at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you very much for the positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself while staying at Kona Hawaiian Resort. We hope to see you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Kona can be a little bleak driving from the airport, but arriving at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian is a breath of fresh air. It is beautiful with lush landscaping and luxurious rooms. We walked the half mile every day to where the action is with great food, happy hour, activities, shopping and the pier. Great location.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMorgan92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob B, General Manager at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you very much for the positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself while staying at Kona Hawaiian Resort. Please let us know if there are opportunities to make your stay better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

My husband, our 8 yr old, and I arrived this week. We have been here about 4 days, and a have a few more to go. We are really enjoying it. The rooms are beautiful, and possibly because we're on top floor (2 storey units) we are not really having WiFi issues. The pool near our room is gorgeous with a little waterfall that the birds are attracted to for a drink. The hot tub is sand bottomed and lovely. Would be nice if there was a pool bar or place to get a snack, but I other than that, a really nice resort.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catballou61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob B, General Manager at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Kona Hawaiian Resort. I appreciate the feedback regarding your experience while visiting. Please come back and see us again. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed here in late February with three other couples. We reserved two condo units, which are two bedrooms each. At first, the two units were across the resort from each other, but we requested that we be as close as possible for our stay. The staff were able to put us right next to each other, so that was great. Our units were upstairs with partial ocean views. During our stay, we did whale watching, snorkeling, luau, drove to the volcano, and hiked around some of the waterfalls on the north side of the island. We also visited a coffee farm near Captain Cook. It was a busy, but excellent vacation. We are Wyndham owners and have stayed here before.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Danham13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob B, General Manager at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for your feedback. I can appreciate your comments regarding internet service. The Board of Directors is looking at all options currently available in an effort to provide a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
4.9 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
14.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
4.8 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort

Property: Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Address: 75-5961 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1333 (Formerly Kona Hawaiian Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 bedroom apartment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Hotel Kailua-Kona
Wyndham Kailua Kona
Kona Hawaiian Village
Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing