We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I was some what nervous about going to this resort after it was booked, (My mother owns the time share) after reading some of the reviews regarding bugs. But our room was nice and clean! We had a second story. There was a friendly green gecko living on our railing outside, but he didn't stay up late or make any noise. And he politely moved out of the way when we needed the hand rail, leaving no dirty foot prints. I think he might have been reading our free paper in the morning before leaving it for us. It usually didn't show up until 9am.

You could hear others outside as other reviews have reported, but it didn't bother us much. The resort is pretty close to a few restaurants and down town. But you may want to drive.
It's a short drive in any direction to lots of nice shops and places to eat. If you do rent a car, beware, the parking lot at night fills up fast. One night we didn't get back from a tour until after 11:30. We ended up having to park a ways away from our unit.

The only down side to our stay was, as always, the time share pitch. You'd think they'd stop trying to hard sell you when you are already an owner, but no. They promised us discount tickets to a local luau if my mother attended a 40 minuet meeting. As always the meeting lasted waaaay longer than 40 minuets. (About an hour over.) Because they just kept trying to give her more deals. Wyndham sales reps REALLY need to learn to respond to the word 'no' better. Especially from people who are already owners. (FYI, the luau was hardly worth it...bland drinks and the pork made me sick. Also, no refund for rained out shows??)

All in all a nice stay. I can't wait to go back and visit the big island! (Just skip the sales meeting.)

Room Tip: Get a second story room. Better view and from what I gather, quieter. Try to be back earlier in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    234
    53
    24
    19
See reviews for
329
240
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
83 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This was our first visit to The Big Island. This location is beautiful and the staff was always very friendly, respectful and helpful. We arrived after dark having traveled from North Carolina and experienced the only issue during this stay. The signage for units was small and poorly illuminated so it took more time than it should have to find our unit. Need to either provide someone to assist you with locating your unit if you check-in after dark or install larger signs with better lighting. Other than this initial issue, our stay was wonderful.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortuna, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We keep going back to this Resort, at least twice a year and usually stay 3 -4 weeks. It's beautiful, perfect location, large, 2 bedroom, 2 bath with huge Lanai. Grounds are beautiful with all the tropical plants growing, banana trees, coffee, pineapple. Nice pools. They truly have the Aloha spirit and make you feel at home.

Room Tip: Second floor. Only two levels, no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berrycreekgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My partner and I own Wyndham's timeshare and we are currently staying at this resort. We checked in yesterday afternoon and were delighted by the property. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and very well maintained. The grounds keeper can be seen raking, trimming and cleaning the native plants and grounds on the property.

We are currently in 67A, an upstairs unit with a view of the Ocean. I would certainly recommend that you request an upstairs unit at the back of the property. You have a better chance of having an ocean view as the property is located on a slightly graded piece of land. Our unit is decorated nicely with comfortable 'hawaiian' decor. It's very tasteful and not at ostentatious like other hotels and resorts. Our room is nicely maintained, very clean and very comfortable.

This is a timeshare property and so the kitchen is fully stocked with the basics (rice cooker, coffee maker, toaster, blender, utensils, dishes, etc.). We went to Safeway, Wal-Mart and Costco to pick up food to cook meals for when we choose to eat in. As a Wyndham owner, we know to bring supplies with us when we stay at a Wyndham property (coffee, splenda, spices, marinades, ect.) so that we don't have to buy common ingredients when we're on vacation. I would recommend that you bring your own laundry detergent and dishwasher detergent too (get the single use pods: they pack easily and travel well). The units here have washer and dryers so you don't have to pack as much clothes!

The property has barbeque grills on site so we grilled steaks and ahi tuna yesterday and today. We plan on grilling a few more times before we leave! The dining table in the units are on the lanai (balcony / patio) which was fantastic! We love dining al fresco in Hawaii and the overhead fan on the lanai kept the bugs away while keeping us cool during the evenings.

The staff here are fantastic. Rose at the front desk was an absolute pleasure. She remembered us this morning as we walked down for their guest presentation and inquired about our room and our stay thus far. Shelly in the Expedia concierge office helped up book a couple of excursions and answered our questions on what to do and see as we left to explore Hawi and Kapaau this morning. After spending the day exploring, we couldn't be more happy with her suggestions! I do recommend Sushi Rock in Hawi if you love sushi! Peter and and staff put a Hawaiian twist on sushi which will stay with us for a long time.

I think one of the best advantages about the Kona Hawaiian Resort is that it is on Ali'i Drive. You're only 1/2 mile (at most) walk into Kailula-Kona where all of the shops and restaurants are located. We walked into town yesterday evening to have drinks and to watch the sunset.

We've stayed at the Royal Sea Cliff, another Wyndham property, which is down the road a bit and I can honestly say the Kona Hawaiian Resort is leaps and bounds better: better location, updated and comfortable units, and fantastic staff!

Kona Hawaiian Resort has free bikes on property for guests to use. We plan on getting a couple of bikes tomorrow morning and ride around Kailua-Kona. Now what can be more Hawaiian than that?

Room Tip: If you want a good room, call a week before you arrive and ask for a 2nd floor unit with a view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LocManTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was our first time staying at the Kona Hawaiian Resort. Not sure if we will be back. The staff are friendly and the rooms are nice, but the walls/floors are thin and we can hear the people above us every time they walked across their room. There is no indoor dining table and while we like to eat outdoors now and then, having it as our only option was not fun as it let flies and all kinds of critters into our unit when we went in and out not to mention that during dinner we were swatting bugs off our skin as well as the food. There is no view of the ocean from the bottom floor, just noise from the neighbors above. This is the only Wyndham resort that we have stayed at, and we have stayed at 6 others across the country, that charges for laundry detergent. Yup, I don't think we will be back. Although the Wyndham Royal Sea Cliffs Resort is older, we would prefer it to this resort for our return visit.

Room Tip: If choosing between the Kona Hawaiian Resort or the Royal Sea Cliffs, take the Royal Sea Cliffs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Kona Hawaiian Resort is a tasteful historic condominium resort harking back to the old sugar plantation days. The decor of the whole place is beautiful. The expertly carved doors to all the units are marvellous. It was interesting just to walk around looking at them.
The grounds are beautiful and well maintained, with many species of tropical flowers, trees and shrubs. And, best of all, many have name plates by them so you can get to know some of the species. The gardens attract many beautiful birds.
There are many interesting activities and shows. Lei making was a favourite activity. Weekly entertainment was very enjoyable.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They truly lived the aloha culture.
The units were very comfortable and well-maintained. The only suggestion for our unit, 28B, is that the floor in the main bathroom should be replaced. The tiles were looking old and dirty, although they were cleaned. Cleaning service was great.
We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 week stay. Hated to leave. Would return anytime. Was a great home away from home.

  • Liked — The grounds, the flowers, trees, birds
  • Disliked — Not much to not like. I guess the bathroom and kitchen tiles could be replaced.
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 905terryc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We just returned to Oahu after spending 7 nights at the Wyndham. Our unit had a slight ocean view, and a nice pool view which was hampered by the noise of the pool filters directly below us. We could hear doors banging below us, but I'm sure those people heard alot from us, too. The buildings seem to be older, and the kitchen (cabinets and appliances) were dated, as was some of the furniture. The negatives were small, in comparison to the positives. The unit was well stocked with every kitchen item needed, plus a cooler and towels for the beach and pool. We were 3 adults, and had plenty of room, and everything we needed to be comfortable for 7 nights. We did go to the sales presentation, which we found to be interesting, although longer than the promised 90 mins. The resort is not on a beach, but then, Kona has few nice beaches. This property is worth staying at, and even coming back to. It is a short drive to many shops, restaurants, waterfront parks, and a farmer market perfect for your fruits and vegetables. We were very pleased with this property.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms are quieter and have a better view than 1st floor rooms. The unit was very clean an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
5.0 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
14.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
4.8 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort

Property: Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Address: 75-5961 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1333 (Formerly Kona Hawaiian Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 bedroom apartment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Vacatia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Hotel Kailua-Kona
Wyndham Kailua Kona
Kona Hawaiian Village
Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing