We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aloha Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Aloha Experience”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Kona Hawaiian Resort is a tasteful historic condominium resort harking back to the old sugar plantation days. The decor of the whole place is beautiful. The expertly carved doors to all the units are marvellous. It was interesting just to walk around looking at them.
The grounds are beautiful and well maintained, with many species of tropical flowers, trees and shrubs. And, best of all, many have name plates by them so you can get to know some of the species. The gardens attract many beautiful birds.
There are many interesting activities and shows. Lei making was a favourite activity. Weekly entertainment was very enjoyable.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They truly lived the aloha culture.
The units were very comfortable and well-maintained. The only suggestion for our unit, 28B, is that the floor in the main bathroom should be replaced. The tiles were looking old and dirty, although they were cleaned. Cleaning service was great.
We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 week stay. Hated to leave. Would return anytime. Was a great home away from home.

  • Liked — The grounds, the flowers, trees, birds
  • Disliked — Not much to not like. I guess the bathroom and kitchen tiles could be replaced.
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 905terryc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    234
    53
    24
    19
See reviews for
328
240
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We just returned to Oahu after spending 7 nights at the Wyndham. Our unit had a slight ocean view, and a nice pool view which was hampered by the noise of the pool filters directly below us. We could hear doors banging below us, but I'm sure those people heard alot from us, too. The buildings seem to be older, and the kitchen (cabinets and appliances) were dated, as was some of the furniture. The negatives were small, in comparison to the positives. The unit was well stocked with every kitchen item needed, plus a cooler and towels for the beach and pool. We were 3 adults, and had plenty of room, and everything we needed to be comfortable for 7 nights. We did go to the sales presentation, which we found to be interesting, although longer than the promised 90 mins. The resort is not on a beach, but then, Kona has few nice beaches. This property is worth staying at, and even coming back to. It is a short drive to many shops, restaurants, waterfront parks, and a farmer market perfect for your fruits and vegetables. We were very pleased with this property.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms are quieter and have a better view than 1st floor rooms. The unit was very clean an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Condo-style luxurious rooms. We stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed the stay. This place has 2 pools each unit has a balcony and was very clean and well maintained grounds. The location is excellent close to beaches and stores, but off the main area a bit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeSmith43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I have now been on all 4 major islands and this is one of the most beautiful resorts I've seen or stayed at. I love that they are 2 bedroom/2 bathroom suites with full kitchens and A/C, so you can invite friends or family to spend some quality vacation time with. The resort is only a half mile away from all of the shops and restaurants on Ali'i Drive and if you're a runner, you can wake up early and run up and down Ali'i Drive, which is part of the Ironman Route. The street is never too busy, but with the resort tucked away from the main street, it's also pretty quiet through out the day. The most impressive thing about the resort was the beautiful grounds - a very well-kepted botanical garden. We had no complaints and can't wait to go again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darryl Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Took the family here in April '13 for 10 days and we loved it. We had a two bedroom unit and it was big enough for 6 of us, our 2 girls shared the other bedroom(one queen sized bed) and our 2 boys shared the pull-out sofa bed. The unit was clean and the full kitchen had everything we needed for the nights that we ate in. The grounds are very well maintained and the whole resort is clean and quiet. The resort is within walking distance(about 15-20 minutes) of the shops and restaurants of Ali'i drive.

Room Tip: from what we saw all the rooms/units were about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BartnLaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAPAA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

3 nights/4 days & manager NEVER called to resolve complaints. Paid for a 2 bedroom with whirlpool tub. Requested bench & handheld shower. NO tub because handicapped people don't need one? Shower flooded bathroom floor creating dangerous slipping situation. Shower curtain inadequate & plastic water barrier was flattened. Rooms are assigned a # of towels & need more? feel free to do your own laundry! No housekeeping until day 4 which meant NONE. Feel free to take out your trash to the barbeque area. Room was $259 per nt. Check in took over an hour standing at front desk due to lost reservation despite confirmation printout showing payment in full thru own website. Were checked in at unknown room price & never able to get a quote. Only bookkeeping knows. Nothing done to entertain complaints & problems. Coffee pot replaced 4 times. They could have dropped off a couple of leis or piece of pineapple. Manager didn't give a damn.

Room Tip: Ground floor does not mean no staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 249NICKY249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I have stayed here twice, once in 2005 and just now in May, 2013 and have been impressed both times. The rooms really do make you feel like you are staying in Hawaii and not a hotel. The resort is quiet, peaceful and friendly. The staff went above and beyond to help us book our activities and make sure we were getting the best deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaker_MF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
5.0 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
14.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
4.8 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort

Property: Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Address: 75-5961 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1333 (Formerly Kona Hawaiian Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 bedroom apartment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Vacatia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Hotel Kailua-Kona
Wyndham Kailua Kona
Kona Hawaiian Village
Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing