We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We just keep coming back...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“We just keep coming back...”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We're Wyndham owner at another property but keep coming back here...I think this is our third time. Of all the Wyndham properties we're stayed at on the islands, this just feels the most like Hawaii. All the units are at least two bedrooms with very large lanais. We actually had an ocean view from our lanai (unit 14A) which we're never had before. We were right next to the lower pool which was small but very nice. We were asked to do an "owner's update" at check in but refused and were never bothered again. Great location an Alii Drive within walking distance to town, depending on your family. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Justin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    241
    54
    25
    20
See reviews for
345
248
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richfield, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband & I landed a great deal for this 2 bedroom unit, and even though not RIGHT on the oceanfront (its across the street) I loved our 7 nights here WAY more than the last night which I booked a traditional hotel, full ocean view. Yes, it was just us 2, but having 2 bedrooms/closets/bathrooms was awesome & convenient! We chose the bedroom that that window opened wide to sleep in but he kept his "stuff" in one, and me the other! The full kitchen, washer/dryer & living room area where we relaxed after a long day exploring the island was more than one could ask for. The outdoor furniture on the covered patio was inviting & we spent lots of room time there drinking coffee, checking emails, etc. Wireless / parking / even being able to book snorkeling right at the resort (without any time share presentation) was nice. They said they didn't do housekeeping, but they did come and take out the trash & provide clean towels a couple times during the week. Beach towels, cooler.... what more could you ask for. I felt safe. I loved the flowers & landscaping. I'd return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RADick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at this resort via RCI timeshare in early March, 2913. Neither of us can think of a single negative comment to offer. Welcoming staff, beautiful grounds, superb resort layout and very well designed units all contribute to getting into the Big Island lifestyle. Many of the units have at least some distance view of the ocean. There is a helpful morning activity presentation to assist in arranging the rest of your stay. The usual time share arm twisting was really pretty acceptable. We declined and the subject was never raised again. The walk into Kona is about a half mile along a somewhat busy road with slow moving traffic and no sidewalk. However, there is plenty of space to walk in a multiuse lane on either side. The walk is enjoyable enough to not notice any effort expended. You will feel very safe at any time of day. The small beach park along the way offers some nice views. Kona bounds with places to eat and drink while watching the sun set. We would return without hesitation. There is a good reason this resort is booked most of the time.

Room Tip: second story higher on the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

It is like having your very own 2br 2 bath apartment only better! Staff is amazing will do whatever it takes to make your stay most enjoyable. If your coming to stay a couple days a hotel room might work. But if your staying a week or more you will appreciate all the room and amenities offered. With the washer dryer pack smart you can get away with only carry on luggage, at least for the guys...:-) the grounds and pools are more then well cared for. Easy to get around to visit other areas and go to great restaurants. This place delivers most bang for your buck. Highly recommended!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I spent the last week of January at this property with our 3 yo daughter and my husband's parents. My husband's parents planned the week here, and we took care of the 2nd week which we spent up along the Kohala Coast. Going into our vacation, I was really expecting to get a lot more enjoyment out of our 2nd week due to the location near so many great beaches and staying at a newer property. However, they were equally wonderful. The location of this Wyndham was very good. It was such a quiet, relaxing place that was conveniently close to downtown Kona. We were able to access shopping and dining very easily as well as the sites we wanted to see on the southern part of the island. The 2 bedroom unit was spotless and very comfortable. We really enjoyed the eating area out on the lanai. It was covered well, so could be used during the heat of the day or during a light rain. Both bedrooms were nice sized with king beds and attached bathrooms. My daughter especially enjoyed the stand alone tub in the master bath with the air bubbles. Both pools were nice, although we found the upper pool to be warmer. The large shallow area in the upper pool was also great for our young daughter. She could play in that pool area on her own with us just sitting along the edge if we didn't feel like getting in as well. Everyone we encountered was friendly and there is a feeling of community amongst many of the active senior visitors who probably stay for extended periods during the winter months. The grounds were also beautiful, and we enjoyed just walking along the paths looking at all of the native plants and birds.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lovetotravelChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Thie
Ovation is close to town and the pool is warm. The 2 bedroom suite we have has a nice king bed with full bathroom I. The master and another queen bed in the second bedroom. There is also a sleep sofa. The kitchen is well equipped and there is a nice lanai off the living room. The room has everything we need and grounds are well kept. There is a sandy bottom spa and activities you can enjoy on site. There are barbecues spread about the property and it is only a 15 minute walk into Kona's tourist area. We enjoyed this resort. There is lots of room for the kids to play qns we even had a birthday celebration for me 6 year old at the pool. There is always the Wyndham timeshare people to deal with but their sales pitch was soft and they did not call or bother us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kettleking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying here and love, love it. We did a timeshare exchange for our stay. The condos are situated so each lanai feels private. We have a banana plant at one end and from the table there is a view of the ocean from a distance. Condo is stocked with everything we need. The soaps smell wonderful. The air conditioning works well. The Internet works great! We have had geckos visit us on the lanai. We are a 30 minute walk into town.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank crisseast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
27.7 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
0.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,857 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort

Property: Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Address: 75-5961 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1333 (Formerly Kona Hawaiian Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 bedroom apartment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Hotel Kailua-Kona
Wyndham Kailua Kona
Kona Hawaiian Village
Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing