We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Walk to Kailua-Kona” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
ISLAND
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Walk to Kailua-Kona”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at this Resort in December for the First Time. The Staff at the Front Desk and the Cleaning Staff were Fantastic!! The unit was Large and has a Good Working Kitchen. You can Walk to the small Village of Kailua-Kona But== Don't want to stay in Lower UNITS !!! Had to deal with Lots of noise from Very EARLY TILL LATE AT NIGHT!!! This Resort had a lot of VERY Young Children AND did not like the Timeshare Pitch!!

Room Tip: Upper Unit Only!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CanadianBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    221
    50
    21
    17
See reviews for
301
222
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jonesborough, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was a great place to stay on our honeymoon. It was close enough to the "strip" that we could go there with no trouble, but far enough away to be quiet. The staff was THE best we have experienced as Wyndham owners. The unit was beautiful and well-kept, and we loved having the little barbecue area just outside the door. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We arrived at the Wyndham Kona late on a Friday night. We had an expediate check in and found they had honored our request for our room very well. We had a traveller with us that had a hard time walking but we did not need a handycapped room yet ,and we had to be on the ground floor. I asked to be away from the road as I have exhaust issues and they honored every one of these requests.

The resort is beautifully maintained . Every thing we had a need for or asked, was answered pleasantly and was taken care of quickly. There was no pressure for the time share presentation at all. If I was prone to go to a time share presentation this would be the place as it certainly was not high pressure.

There are 2 pools an upper and a lower. We were close to the upper . In picking a unit I would definately choose on closer to the upper pool as they are quieter and you might get a view of the ocean especially on the top floor. There is a little noise on the bottom units which are the B units from upstairs but not too bad. A family up there might be harder to take. They say you used to be able to see more of the ocean but the trees have overgrown now.
The room is well equiped with full oven , fridge. micro and dishwasher and washer and dryer as well. Nice and clean when you get there. We had a cleaning after a week and admittedly it was hard to do as all our stuff was strewn around. They changed the sheets etc and the only comment I have is that it would have been nice if they would also have cleaned the shower door but that is very minor and probably just a slight oversight.

We stayed as 2 couples and there was plently of room with the 2 bathrooms. We actually liked the secondary bedroom as you can completely close off the bathroom. The master has a water closet(with a door) but the sink and tub are actually in the room and if your partner is a light sleeper you could risk waking them, whereas, with the second bedroom you can just close the door and do your thing.

All in all I would recommend this place. We had unit 68B and greatly enjoyed it. Happy travels to you.

Room Tip: Upper unit by upper pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happynesstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Camp Kaos hit this place HARD over Turkey day 2012 for a full week & all I can say is WHAT A BLAST. We walked to town each morning and had coffee - also sampled some local breakfast wraps/muffins, whatever they were selling - we found JAVA LAVA's staff very nice and helpful(plus there was usually someone playing ukelali outside) very relaxed atmosphere. Ate and walked back, loved it. We rented a Jeep at the airport, great for getting to those remote beaches...but be forewarned some are NOT for the faint of heart. You must have experience driving one if you venture off the beaten path. We had an upper unit and with 2 kids, we did get a complaint from residents in the lower unit...boys will be boys - we enjoyed the grounds/pools whole deal. Every beach is within driving distance, tons of fun being so close to town and big island snorkeling is amazing - don't miss this one peeps especially if you have kids that like to be out & about -- also, the beach closest to resort has HUGE WAVES and major undertow....older kids with plenty of strength, don't take your little ones...could end up shark bait, really no joke. have fun

Room Tip: Upper units have less noise, would recommend units in middle of property to avoid neighborhood noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CampKaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson Island, WA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We recently stayed for Christmas week. It was nice to finally be able to get our parking pass without signing up for the high pressure sales pitch. We will never change the flexible week that we have. Not much has changed over the years. Joy, Auntie Tutu & her brother are still great entertainers for group get-togethers. Hawaiian crafts are still available. There still is not enough chairs & lounges at the pools, and after 10+ years, we still don't see the restaurant/bar that was supposed to be opened at the lower pool. That would be so nice to finally have & make it a 5 star resort.

Room Tip: Unit 10A has a beautiful sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VillageTraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We are fortunate to have done a trade to come to this wonderful resort, the facilities are very good and the staff are always willing to help with lots of great information. We will be back hopefully sooner than later. Brad and Vicki

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bradnvicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Quiet, well maintained, comfortable, not right downtown. Close, by car to good restaurants. Spent the week with friends. Last time in Hawaii with these friends was 28 years ago. Good weather on the Kona side, but rainy on the Hilo side, raining sideways so could not walk to see active lava flows. All in all, a great week.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank GordonandVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
1.3 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
4.9 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
14.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
4.8 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort

Property: Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Address: 75-5961 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1333 (Formerly Kona Hawaiian Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 bedroom apartment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Vacatia, Odigeo, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Hotel Kailua-Kona
Wyndham Kailua Kona
Kona Hawaiian Village
Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing