We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay for Wyndham owners” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ortley Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for Wyndham owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were invited to stay at this resort by Wyndham as a result of being a Wyndham gold owner. So, yes, we did have to listen to their 2 hour sales pitch. However, the included luau, trip to the Parker ranch and the dinner boat cruise made it well worth it.
The accommodations are beautiful and spacious. The only surprise was a 2 BR unit with 2 king size beds. Fine for the two of us, but would be a problem for many families.
The grounds and the pool areas are beautiful. The condo had EVERYTHING we could ever need. My wife enjoyed the soaking tub after long days at the beach and on the spectacular Blue Hawaiian helicopter trip.
The lanai is huge and seats six comfortably if needed.

Room Tip: If you have kids be sure to ask about what beds are in the unit. Our unit with 2 king beds would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    232
    53
    23
    19
See reviews for
322
235
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The apartments themselves are absolutely top draw, the air conditioning and bedroom fans help maintain a very comfortable environment when relaxing indoors and when sleeping at night.
The Kitchen is very well stocked with equipment that is relatively new and is in good working order.
In fact, the apartments can not be faulted.
On this alone the apartments would rate this is 5 instead of the 3 that I have given it.

What lets it down is something that may be a little unfair considering the normal clientele that would frequent this complex, however, this was Hawai'i Ironman week, and as such, many of the people would have some quite specific and critical requirements when it comes to exercise.
The fitness room, to be fair is barely adequate, with a couple of cardiovascular machines and a very basic multi gym.
As someone that does do a lot of exercise, this was quite disappointing.
Also, the pools are nicely set up as splash pools with surroundings well designed for soaking up the Sunshine, however, for someone like myself who would do a lot of swimming, then it was inadequate for this purpose.
They have some cycles available for use for free, providing you get to the reception very early, but there is a very limited number and it does take a while for repairs to happen. (I myself got a puncture, but that's not the fault of the Hotel, that was just bad luck)
It was these aspects that brings the scoring down.
However, to add to the positives, the staff are really fantastic and friendly. The complex itself is very clean and well presented.
Would I stay here again? Ye sI would at the drop of a hat, it is a beautiful place, but I think that nest time I will bring my own bike and my own TRX, but to be fair, this is a very specific requirement that I have.

Room Tip: Nothing to add, from what I can see, they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ironmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just returned from an enjoyable week’s stay, at the Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, October 18th – October 25th ….we were in a 2 bedroom/2 bath unit, 69B (1st floor) with a great garden view. Our unit was clean, quiet and relaxing, with all the comforts of home and more. We enjoyed the well furnished lanai everyday and the pool and spa was great too. The grounds were very well maintained, beautiful flowers and trees through-out the complex. It’s a great location, but you need a car to fully enjoy the surrounding area. Wal-Mart and Sack n Save are nearby. Parking is plentiful, you may not be able to park in front of you unit if you are out late.
Only two slight issues, that may or may not be of concern to you; the water pressure in the shower left a bit to be desired and the cats. (I am not a person that loves cats)
All in all I defiantly recommend the Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a Lanai that does not over look the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dlclay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at the Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort on October 16 - 19, 2012. We got the Unit 11A, which has a very partial ocean view. To be honest, this place is a lot better than I thought. The unit is nicely furnished mostly with beautiful teak furnitures, complete with fully equipped kitchen, also a washer and a dryer in the unit. The bathrooms are spacious and very clean. The bedroom are also quite large, clean, with very comfortable beds. But, let me start with the front desk and concierge staff. At a time share place like this, I was expecting the staff to be pushy about attending a presentation. Quite the opposite! They were very warm, welcoming, and made us feel comfortable. They did bring up about the presentation, but just left it up to us whether we want to attend or not. Now, back to the unit. It exceeded our expectations. The unit was fantastically comfortable, the air-conditioning unit worked nicely. On one day, however, after we came back from sightseeing, the unit felt a bit warm. It turned out that the air-condition unit got frozen. We called the front desk, and within minutes the maintenance person came and solved the problem. He even replaced the filter. In about an hour or so, the air-condition unit was back to normal. We like the location of this resort. It's easy to find, and when you're there, parking spaces are plenty. Places to eat, drink and to see are within 15 - 20 minutes walking distance because this resort is located at Ali'i Drive. I highly recommend this place when you visit the Big Island. Million thanks to Kona Hawaiian Resort staff for making our stay very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Munky10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

My spouse and I, along with my parents, stayed at the Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort.

The grounds are quite lovely and well-maintained, and the resort has two swimming pools, along with a fantastic sand-bottom hot tub near the first pool. We enjoyed the second pool that is located at the back of the resort more, since it was less crowded and had a slight view of the ocean, due to its location on a hill.

The staff was really friendly at this resort. My parents enjoyed meeting the Activities' Director, Joy. She was quite friendly, and honestly, the rest of the staff was completely friendly and professional. It was a pleasure to interact with the staff at the resort.

The two-bedroom, two-bathroom unit that we had was laid out fairly well, and the kitchen was "a breeze" to use. The walls seemed a little thin, though it wasn't an issue on the trip, and the laundry was located in the restroom of the second bathroom, so it wasn't always convenient to use if someone was showering, etc. The water pressure wasn't fantastic in the second bathroom's shower.

Parking was not an issue for us at any time of day, since more than enough spaces existed.

We had a beautiful view of the gardens from our balcony/lanai on which the dining table was located. Breakfast on the porch, with a view of the flowers and beautiful grounds, was a daily pleasure. We were glad that we did not have a view of any parking lots. However, some of the units do overlook parking lots.

Costco and plenty of restaurants and bars are within easy driving distance, and Kailua-Kona is a great place to stay on the big island, since it is fairly close to Volcano National Park and very close to the coffee-growing country in the mountains and hills above Kailua-Kona.

We really enjoyed the experience that we had at this resort because of the staff and the beautiful grounds, including the lovely swimming pools and hot tubs.

It must be noted that this resort does not have access to a sandy beach or the ocean. The coast is actually quite rocky along almost all of Kailua-Kona, with the exception of three public parks that have sand beaches. Two of these beaches are a couple of miles away, so driving is required to go to the beach, unless one would like to walk in a bathing suit for a couple of miles.

Overall, we would stay here again, though we think others should be cognizant that this property is not the best for the sunbathers who want direct access to the beach. It's fine if you do a lot of sight-seeing and don't mind driving to the best beaches, which are quite a way to the north, near the Hilton Waikoloa Village.

Finally, no restaurant is located on-site, and there's not a bar either. It's fine if you want to buy some wine or beer to drink from the local grocery or liquor stores, though, again, there is no bar or restaurant on-site.

Room Tip: Request a view of the gardens or ocean. Make sure to not get units that face the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had a two bedroom ground floor unit. It was comfortable and well equipped. Grounds are well maintained. The pool is very nice. Did not have any problem with parking. However it wasn't very crowded. The complex is not on the beach or really not within a comfortable walking distance. Yes you can walk to town, but it is 15 to 20 minute walk and after awhile that walk gets old to just run to the store. Our unit had no view from lanai.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Letsgoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We just spent 2 weeks at this resort and everything about it was great. We read a few reviews that were not favorable but found them not to be true. We have been to Kona 4 times and this is by far the best we have stayed at. Beware of bad reviews, some people are seldom satisfied and can find something to complain about anywhere.

Room Tip: Pick an upstairs unit up the hill for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gringobill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
4.9 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
14.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
4.8 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort

Property: Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Address: 75-5961 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1333 (Formerly Kona Hawaiian Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 bedroom apartment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Hotel Kailua-Kona
Wyndham Kailua Kona
Kona Hawaiian Village
Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing