We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Vacation Resort for Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My spouse and I, along with my parents, stayed at the Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort.

The grounds are quite lovely and well-maintained, and the resort has two swimming pools, along with a fantastic sand-bottom hot tub near the first pool. We enjoyed the second pool that is located at the back of the resort more, since it was less crowded and had a slight view of the ocean, due to its location on a hill.

The staff was really friendly at this resort. My parents enjoyed meeting the Activities' Director, Joy. She was quite friendly, and honestly, the rest of the staff was completely friendly and professional. It was a pleasure to interact with the staff at the resort.

The two-bedroom, two-bathroom unit that we had was laid out fairly well, and the kitchen was "a breeze" to use. The walls seemed a little thin, though it wasn't an issue on the trip, and the laundry was located in the restroom of the second bathroom, so it wasn't always convenient to use if someone was showering, etc. The water pressure wasn't fantastic in the second bathroom's shower.

Parking was not an issue for us at any time of day, since more than enough spaces existed.

We had a beautiful view of the gardens from our balcony/lanai on which the dining table was located. Breakfast on the porch, with a view of the flowers and beautiful grounds, was a daily pleasure. We were glad that we did not have a view of any parking lots. However, some of the units do overlook parking lots.

Costco and plenty of restaurants and bars are within easy driving distance, and Kailua-Kona is a great place to stay on the big island, since it is fairly close to Volcano National Park and very close to the coffee-growing country in the mountains and hills above Kailua-Kona.

We really enjoyed the experience that we had at this resort because of the staff and the beautiful grounds, including the lovely swimming pools and hot tubs.

It must be noted that this resort does not have access to a sandy beach or the ocean. The coast is actually quite rocky along almost all of Kailua-Kona, with the exception of three public parks that have sand beaches. Two of these beaches are a couple of miles away, so driving is required to go to the beach, unless one would like to walk in a bathing suit for a couple of miles.

Overall, we would stay here again, though we think others should be cognizant that this property is not the best for the sunbathers who want direct access to the beach. It's fine if you do a lot of sight-seeing and don't mind driving to the best beaches, which are quite a way to the north, near the Hilton Waikoloa Village.

Finally, no restaurant is located on-site, and there's not a bar either. It's fine if you want to buy some wine or beer to drink from the local grocery or liquor stores, though, again, there is no bar or restaurant on-site.

Room Tip: Request a view of the gardens or ocean. Make sure to not get units that face the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

526 - 532 of 781 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had a two bedroom ground floor unit. It was comfortable and well equipped. Grounds are well maintained. The pool is very nice. Did not have any problem with parking. However it wasn't very crowded. The complex is not on the beach or really not within a comfortable walking distance. Yes you can walk to town, but it is 15 to 20 minute walk and after awhile that walk gets old to just run to the store. Our unit had no view from lanai.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Letsgoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We just spent 2 weeks at this resort and everything about it was great. We read a few reviews that were not favorable but found them not to be true. We have been to Kona 4 times and this is by far the best we have stayed at. Beware of bad reviews, some people are seldom satisfied and can find something to complain about anywhere.

Room Tip: Pick an upstairs unit up the hill for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gringobill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have just returned home after spending 2 fantastic weeks here.

We have owned timeshare for many years and have travelled all over the world by exchanging through RCI. This is one of the best resorts we have ever stayed at, the grounds are immaculate and the apartments are spacious and well maintained.

Due to a parade in Waikiki we found ourselves on the Big Island 4 hours earlier than planned, we went straight to the resort anyway (10am). Check in was friendly and easy, we were asked to come back in a couple of hours to see if our room was ready, we took the opportunity to get some groceries and have lunch at Huggos on the rocks (a must visit place for sunset). Returned at 1pm and were informed our room was ready (30A).
The 2 bed apartment was nicely laid out, clean and well equiped - we had a huge lanai that had a partial view of the ocean and was not overlooked by anybody, a real bonus!

Being an avid trip advisor user I had looked at previous reviews and would like to address some of the concerns raised.

1. Timeshare - when we checked in we asked to get a parking pass from the concierge, the lady there took time to show us all of the dining, surfing and other area highlights on a map, she also gave us some money off coupons for dining. She told us about the welcome breakfast and a timeshare presentation where we could get discounts for various activities. We thanked her but said we would not be interested as we already owned a timeshare - that was it, we were never called or bothered once during our stay.

2. Parking - a couple of people have mentioned issues with parking. All I can say is that we went back to the resort at all times of day and night and never had a problem, there are lots of spaces - ok sometimes we could not park right outside our apartment and had to walk 30 steps!!!

3. Bugs - you are in a tropical location, bugs live here! Just make sure you don't leave any foodstuff laying around and you will be fine.

4, Housekeeping - as with a lot of timeshare resorts you do not get daily housekeeping, we actually prefer this as we like to make the apartment our home and do not require a daily service. I needed some extra bathroom items and detergent - went to the front desk where they provided me with as much as I wanted.

This is a great resort, there are no bars or restaurants on site but it is only a short 15 min walk into Kaiula-Kona where you are spoilt for choice.
Staff are friendly and helpful and the place has a really tropical feel, grounds are beautiful and hey, you are in Hawaii.

Just hang loose and have fun!

Room Tip: An upstairs room is a must unless you want to hear people walking about, call 2 weeks ahead and requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garrytev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed in Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort for 30 wonderful , relaxing days. The staff was very friendly, from the front desk to the housekeepers and maintainance staff. The entertainment was fun , informative and enjoyable( Mahalo days) and they even fed us sandwiches, kona coffee, local tropical fruits etc... The grounds were well maintained; the jacuzzi & the pools 1 on the upper and 1 on the lower grounds were kept clean. The resort is surrounded by tropical flowering plants and trees, thus one can smell the fragrant flowers while swimming or just strolling on the grounds. There are also several barbecue areas on site. It is a walking distance to the farmer's market, church, abc stores, restaurants such as Bubba Gump and beach . Most traveler/visitor we saw looked very stressed when they first come but looked more relaxed and learned to slow down after few days. We really experienced the aloha spirit on this resort and we will definitely stay on this resort again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Goodlife9886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I read the reviews about this resort before coming to Kona, and thought, why not!!

Well, the front desk was great and very helpful. That's where the pleasantries end! When we had to get our parking pass from the concierge (shark)! The lady "Gloria" was very nice at first, until I refused her timeshare tour. When we left and went around the corner, I could hear her talking $hit to her co-workers about us! couldn't believe it!!! People like that will ruin time share for me. We were even considering the timeshare option because we travel so much. Not anymore! We will never be staying at a Wyndham in Kona again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
33  Thank micheal m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in the Wyndham Kona for a week in late August and had a great time. The best thing about the hotel was its location. It's just down the street from Kailua Villiage and we were able to walk into town on most nights.

Check-in was straightforward and the staff at the concierge desk was extremely helpful. The accommodations themselves were nice as well. Everything was clean and everything was well stocked. It was also nice to have a washer and dryer in the unit. And it was very easy to log into the free wireless internet provided.

The layout was a little odd as the dining table was out on the porch in what seemed to be an effort to save space. Therefore, we either had to eat outside or in the living room without tables. The beds were pretty comfortable. The showers didn't have solid doors so sometimes water would spray out onto the bathroom floor.

Parking was sometimes an issue as the spots in front of each block of units was insufficient, such that at times we had to park at the next block of spots. Not a major issue at all, but a little inconvenient.

But with all that considered, I would say that the facility was above average. Given the location, I would recommend this resort to others. Like I said, we had a great time!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C_and_L_Wu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
4.9 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
0.6 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,912 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort

Address: 75-5961 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1333 (Formerly Kona Hawaiian Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $229 - $558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 bedroom apartment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Hotel Kailua-Kona
Wyndham Kailua Kona
Kona Hawaiian Village
Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing