We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First impression not good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We prechecked in at 12:30 and told that our unit would be available at 4 but to check back. We finally got into our unit at 6 PM at night. Spent the afternoon at Walmart, Costcos, KTA (if bulk purchases are too much, shop at KTA...it is about 6 miles away but prices are good and this is where the locals shop) getting acclimated and to kill the time. We were not offered anything to drink of snacks as we waited. We were treated as if we were a problem. Since this was my home time share, I expected much better treatment. I did request that our checkout time be delayed since we were inconvenienced. We were given an hour more.

We were told there was a hospitality room for our use when we checked out until time to go to airport. In the other resorts I have stayed, there was an actual unit with a shower. Even though I called before reserving our vacation, I was told there was a room with a shower available. I inquired as to this hospitality room upon arrival and told there was a room. Well, this turned out to be a bathroom. No shower. We were told to use the outside shower by the pool. This changed our last day plans considerably. So, be aware that there IS NO hospitality room or shower.

Having stayed at many other properties, the staff here are the least friendly. The unit could have been decorated better and the utensils were minimum. There were plenty of towels however.

We were able to get two beach chairs that are hidden behind the welcome center that we kept with us for when we stopped at various beaches. One was brand new.

The fitness center was a pleasant surprise. Equipped with an eliptical machine, recumbant bike, two treadmills and some resistance equipment. The center was never crowded. We stayed at the lower pool which was very nice.

We were never bothered to attend a time share presentation. Having read all the previous reviews, we were prepared and kept the phone off the hook from 6 PM until we went out for the day. This may have accounted for not being bothered. Be aware that you will be asked to attend a Welcome Presentation to learn about the island....Do not attend. They will try to sell you tours that you can get cheaper by doing your research before you arrive. You are not charged for parking and internet is free in units.

If you are looking for a RC church, St Michael's is less than a mile away. The church was destroyed in a 2006 hurricane so mass is offered under a tent. Very spirtual and friendly congregation.

Not impressed with Kona...liked Kauia and Oahu much better. Just a side note, you do not receive a lei upon arrival at the airport. This is a service you need to order and pay for before hand. Having been to Hawaii many times, I was prepared for this. There were many people coming off the plane disappointed to not receiving one.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mountains94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

658 - 664 of 810 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2011

First I would like to state the positives of this resort. The place is really pretty, clean and the condo was so much nicer than we thought it would be. There are two nice pools and the resort lends out beach cruisers, chairs, umbrellas and the condo is fully equipped and leaves you wanting for nothing. There are cats everywhere and the must be fed and treated very well which was actually really nice to see. The resort is full of flowers, birds, geckos and even mongoose.

The negative would be the timeshare sales. They kept calling so we took our phone off the hook. The cleaning crew put it back on the hook and the phone kept ringing. We finally answered and a man said they wanted to do a QA survey and would bring a "gift bag and gift cert". I asked him straight up if they were going to talk about sales and he said "No". It was a total lie. A lady named laurel came to our room with a "gift bag" of 6 chocolates and a 25.00 restaurant gift card. She tried to guilt us into a presentation, tried calling to say "she had some news" and then called again. Phone stayed off the hook the rest of our stay. I went to get an ice chest from front desk and they said oh we want to give you an Amex gift card and it seems as though we have tried calling to get you to a presentation but your phone is off the hook. Don't you think they would have gotten the picture?

I would stay there again but I would for sure avoid concierge and unplug the phones and put them in a drawer until the day of departure.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank 2Ventura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

What a beautiful resort. Greeted by the most wonderful hawaiian lady with chilled beverage, concierge was quite helpful with wonderful information. Get there early and grab a matt and or chair for the beach area, as well as a ice cooler if available. Stayed for 8 days 7 nights and couldnt ask for a cleaner, well kept grounds resort. Pool and spa are wonderful day or evening. Rooms spacious we had five total guest and not a cramp at all. Indoor laundry in room made laundry needs easy to handle... Geckos all around with gorgeous flowers (great for pictures) Wonderful resort would diffently rate it a A+++

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank quenshoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We booked this resort with timeshare points, having never been to Hawaii I wasn't sure which island to visit. We chose the Big Island because of this resort and it delivered. Yes, I agree with many of the other comments about the pushy time share presentation, which I did attend. But, it did get us the Aloha card which saved me over $600 on a helicopter tour, zip line and bus tour, so thank you. We got to stay in the presidential suite which is simply the same as the other rooms but with updated furniture and it was lovely. The grounds are beautiful and so carefully manicured by very friendly staff, I have to thank the two "craft" people who shared their talents with us, do the daily crafts etc. around the lower pool during your stay, just for fun! Don't forget to borrow the beach cruiser bikes available at the front desk, it's just a short peddle to the heart of Kailua for dinner or the farmers market for fresh mangos and pineapple. If you like a healthy shave ice, go to Kalikii and try the lilikoi flavor. We will most definitely visit the Kona Hawaiian Resort again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank imykdzmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We stayed here for a week as a timeshare exchange. We arrived before the official check-in time, but our room was ready and check-in was quick. We had just a a peek-a-boo view of the ocean, but it's just a few minutes walk to the shore. Each building has just 2 units, an upper and lower, but the buildings are connected by a shared balcony. I think all of the rooms are the same: 2 bedrooms with a king size bed (the master opens onto the lanai), 2 full bathrooms, living room and full kitchen. The master bedroom/bath are basically one big room with a half-wall dividing the areas. It has a separate toilet, a large shower with a bench seat and the claw-foot tub is a jet tub. The second bedroom doesn't have a TV, connects to the 2nd bath which has a large shower, but no tub. There was plenty of room to store a week's worth of belongings, even if you had 6 people there. It's a small resort, but it has almost everything you could want. There's no restaurant or gift shop here, but the resort is located just a couple minutes from the busy Kona shopping district. The only thing we found lacking was that there wasn't a pool bar. The hot tub at the lower pool was the most unique spa we've ever seen! It's surrounded by rock formations, and there is a sandy shallow area. The pool also has some rock formations around it. It was never crowded when we were there. There's also a second pool, but we were closest to the lower pool and never used the upper one. We loved the large lanai, we sat out there quite a bit, especfially in the mornings, listening to the birds. Yes, we were bugged about doing the timeshare sales thing, but we just kept saying "no." Pretty typical of any of the timeshares, no big deal. We didn't participate in any of the onsite activities, so I can't really comment on them. If you see stray cats around, don't worry...if their ear is clipped, then they've been fixed and socialized, and the resort takes care of them. They tend to be friendly, may beg a bit, and keep the ferral cats away. The community room has a fitness center, a couple of computers (credit card needed), a printer and a seating area. There was also free wifi in the rooms.
All in all, it was one of the nicest resorts we've stayed at. Really nothing to complain about :)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank midnighter94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

A totally awesome timeshare trade! We're so happy we stayed here and thoroughly enjoyed our week. From the newly updated, spacious rooms to the fantastic pool and sand-bottom spa that looks like a volcanic grotto we had everything we needed. Between the location and the lush, tropical landscaping we felt that we were truly in old Hawaii. Do your research and know what kind of place makes you happy before you book! If you absolutely must have a oceanfront room, concierge, daily maid service, etc. then do not stay at a timeshare. If you're a stay-in-one-place person who just wants to sit on the beach everyday, then find another location. If you have a family and need a large place where you can cook meals in your kitchen, BBQ on shared grills while you meet other people and feel peaceful when you return from a long day of snorkeling or sightseeing, then this is it!!
You will not miss being directly on the water IF you have a rental car and enjoy exploring the island anyway. We loved spending each day at a different beach or two and exploring the varied areas of this diverse island. When we returned "home" we had a peaceful place to relax with a drink on our lanai, listen to the birds and prepare dinner while the kids played in the pool with their uncle.
We traveled with our twin 10-year olds and my brother-in-law and the units are so huge, we had plenty of room! The lanai is huge and has a table that seats 8 and the living room is so large we had tons of room even with the sofa pulled out. I'm a total clean freak and this place was spotless!! The front-desk staff, Albert, Anna? and Katrina, were extremely helpful and always greeted me by name! A nice touch is that they have free boogie boards, beach chairs, umbrellas and noodles to borrow during your stay. If you require internet access, it all depends on where you are on the property...we had it in our room most of the time. Fitness center is tiny but wasn't important to us...we swam and hiked all day instead.
My kids really enjoyed the pool even though it doesn't have a slide or anything...it's just got that tropical/volcanic, "I'm really in Hawaii" type of atmosphere. Make sure you request to be near the pool if you don't want to walk too far. There are two: an upper, newly renovated and not as lush pool with toddler wading pool and the lower, tropical and more shaded pool with the hot tub grotto. If you require complete silence, then request an upper floor room away from the pools. There's only 2 units per building; one upper (stairs) and one lower unit. The views are a non-issue for the most part since you're across the street and uphill from the ocean. The units farther uphill may have some ocean views, but they'll be distant ones.
We only had trouble a couple nights with the air conditioner as it had frozen up but as soon as we called, maintenance was on it right away! You can go for a morning walk/run along Alii Drive early in the morning but later it gets busier and you'll be sucking exhaust fumes. I wouldn't consider taking small children on a walk along the road (no sidewalks, just shoulders). You can however, explore the vast grounds of the resort and see protected, historic hawaiian village "ruins" and of course, explore both pools with the kids and maybe participate in some of their scheduled activities...we didn't have time to do that. The place is really very quiet and totally deserted after about 9pm....the kids have probably worn themselves out.
The best snorkeling spot is only a 5 minute drive down the road (Kahaluu) and be sure to explore the northern, Kohala coast for the scenic, white sand beaches too! We drove into town and always parked at Coconut Grove to grab a bite or do some shopping and walk along the seawall in downtown Kona.
If you plan to cook or grill, definitely stop at Costco on your way from the airport (far more convenient than heading back that way after checkin). The prices will more than make up for any excess food you may have to throw away at the end of the week. I also bought all of my macadamia nut gifts there and they have pretty good poke too! If you want kitschy souvenirs, head uphill from Kona and go to Walmart...better prices than K-Mart. If you forgot to buy yourself a new bathing suit, there's also a Macy's uphill from Kona and a new shopping center with Sports Authority and Target to the north.
We weren't bothered by any timeshare pitches other than a couple of voicemail messages and the initial push when you have to get your parking pass from the concierge. I was happy that they didn't kill the vacation vibe---sounds like an improvement over previous reviews. After all, if you're interested in buying a timeshare, you'll find that this would be a great one.
Our worst moment was leaving to go back home. :(

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank DoubleTroubleMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Me and my wife stayed there on are recently and we just fell in love with the place! The whole resort looks Beautiful. You can tell a lot of work goes into keeping it that way. A staff was so helpful; the Concierge desk really went above and beyond to help us have a great stay. If you stay there get that Wyndham discount card. It saved us a lot of money on activates. But we had to do a resort preview to get it. And I glad we did it was really informational. I and my wife have used RCI for about 5 years now, and we found out there is a lot of new stuff going on in the way we travel. So ya I’m glad we went the hour we spent was worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Donkey77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
22.1 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
253 reviews
13.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
4.8 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort

Address: 75-5961 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1333 (Formerly Kona Hawaiian Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $242 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 bedroom apartment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Hotel Kailua-Kona
Wyndham Kailua Kona
Kona Hawaiian Village
Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing