We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views”
Review of Sea Village Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea Village Resort
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is my all time favorite condo group to stay in. The view is great from both the condos that we've had there over the past 6 or 7 years. We stay usually 2 to 3 months. It's easy to get to and easy to find when you go away. We really love this area.

Room Tip: We have always stayed on the ground floor as I have a leg problem plus a breathing problem so can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Russell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 247 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful , awesome view . Every thing you could need in this unit . It lacked nothing except sleep. You will hear everything and I mean everything that is going on in the unit above you . We were miserable at any point during the day that we were in because of this but at night , it maddening. Kids running and yelling . The adults sound like they are coming through the floor . I am not sure I have ever written a review before but I am tired and NOT happy and I paid to relax

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tennvoldoll_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We booked this condo with our timeshare for the 3 days at the end of our vacation so we would be close to the airport for going home. Next time it will be for a lot longer. The 1 bedroom condo was really nice. Lanai looking out over the ocean. Sunsets were lovely. The unit had a full kitchen and a washer and dryer. We actually slept on the murphy bed so were could hear the ocean and it was very comfortable. We could walk to the touristy street in Kona where there are a lot of shops and restaurants which was nice. Costco, Walmart, Safeway and the airport are about 6 miles away. The pool and hot tub were not crowded when we went at about 4 in the afternoon. Loved it.

Room Tip: We couldn't request with our timeshare but I think Oceanside on the 2nd or 3rd floor would be th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kaalgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Hello folks! It's me again. I am still on the Big Island but I checked into Sea Village because I wanted to do some activities on the other side of the island. I must say that I took a chance on being here as I was here about five or six years ago and did not like it because the rooms were dated. However, I had read on tripadvisor that they had been renovating their rooms. I thought they may be finished or I might be luck and get a renovated room. I was wrong on both accounts. My advice to everyone is to STAY AWAY!!!!!

The only positive things I can say is that the unit is large, is centrally located in Kona near restaurants and shopping and the ocean view is nice. Other than that, this unit 2301 is a mess. First, the sink in the master bedroom had water in it because the stopper was broken. The other bathroom has mold in it, the toilet makes noises, the floor of the shower has a big stain, there were bugs crawling all over the sink and the kitchen area. The screen door does not close all the way so more bugs come in. This is critical because there is no air conditioning in these units and it is quite hot. The sofa has a huge tear in it. I complained to the front desk in the morning. She offered to give me another unit but it was not a renovated unit. Since I am leaving the next morning, I did not want to spend time moving.

When you check in to this resort, if you are not here by 5:00 p.m. There is no one physically present to check you in. You have to use a courtesy phone and a lock is on hand for you to access. They have a barbecue grill and a small pool for guests. If you are particular about resorts, this is NOT the place for you. There are people who hang out in front of the property, usually smoking. This property is owned by Vacation Internationale and is an affiliate resort to Diamond Resorts. I did not use a lot of points here, but I am sorry that I took a chance coming here. I hate being here and will NEVER stay here again under any circumstances room renovated or not. I cannot wait to leave in the morning. I would show pictures, but I don't know how to post them or see anywhere that I can post them.

Room Tip: Hello folks! It's me again. I am still on the Big Island but I checked into Sea Village because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Carlos1753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Very disappointing. Resort is very well maintained, unfortunately the owners of condo 3112 doesn't follow their lead. Used VRBO. Definitely not worth the money we spent. Unit has not been updated since 1970 & delayed maintenance very evident. Rusted fridge, mattresses need to be replaced, futon couch needs to be replaced as well as some of the kitchen utensils. View was very nice, everything else went down hill from there.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

The last time we stayed in the Big Island we chose the Hilton Waikoloa. This time we were looking for an inexpensive place to stay and chose the Sea Village. I found it a relaxing place to stay, so much so that I chose to sleep on the couch to take full advantage of the sounds of waves crashing on the rocks outside our third floor room. We made certain we were back for sunset each night. While more upscale accommodations are fine, those on a budget may wish to consider Sea Village and put the difference in price into sightseeing

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jadamek390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed here while in kona for our honeymoon. We had a 3rd floor Oceanside condo and it was perfect. Instead of using the headroom which was very nice we used the fold out couch in the living room and left the deck door open with the screen door closed and slept listening to the waves crash. One morning we even saw a pod of dolphins swimming not 200 ft from our deck! Rooms were very clean with lots of amenities and the place has a great pool that's secure and private for guests! As well as a beautiful courtyard with barbecues for use! We would definetly stay here again

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JABoughton, Director Inventory Management at Sea Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thank you for writing a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Sea Village. We are just starting the second phase of the refurbishment project on the Vacation Internationale units and hope you will come back soon to see all the progress we are making.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
258 reviews
1.2 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
520 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Village Resort

Address: 75-6000 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2310
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $135 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your refuge at Sea Village is located on the sunny, dry side of the island in Kona, where the tradewinds keep you comfortable year round. Float in the seaside pool, or sip estate-select Kona coffee from your private lanai with the Pacific close enough to taste as the surf breaks against the resorts sea wall. A true vacation paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Village Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sea Village Kailua Kona
Sea Village Kona
Sea Village Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing